We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel, better than average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns City Backpackers

Cairns City Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns City Backpackers to your Saves list
Cairns City Backpackers
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   274 Draper St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Gone Walkabout Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hostel, better than average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

For the price this backpackers is really good value. I paid just $96 for a week in a 6 person dorm, which included free internet. Rooms were clean enough and people were all very nice. Just a short walk to the esplanade, and even closer to the shopping centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    15
    13
    10
See reviews for
1
27
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I originaly booked just a couple of nights as wanted to see how the hostel was first. Ended up staying nearly 3weeks. It has a geat gardn'en area with hammocks nezxt to the pool. The cleaners cleaned our room every day and shock horror , the kitchens actually had lots of crockery and cutlery.would loved to have stayed longer but have the travel bug again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I originaly booked just a couple of nights as wanted to see how the hostel was first. Ended up staying nearly 3weeks. It has a geat gardn'en area with hammocks nezxt to the pool. The cleaners cleaned our room every day and shock horror , the kitchens actually had lots of crockery and cutlery.would loved to have stayed longer but have the travel bug again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My boyfriend and i looooved this backpackers. So authentic,so nice to get a real backpackers where you can get to know the other guests and where staff know your name. We were in a budget double, cheap at $40 a night. It was clean and bed was comfy. Wifi was free (necessity nowadays) and they give you good discount on tours. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

So the rooms could be a little bigger I guess but besides that you really can't complain for the price. Especially with free internet (compleetly free, no limit applied). Hostel cat was very popular and very cute. I liked the kitchen upstairs the most as it was the least used. Used their tour booking service to get a discounted reef trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Overall ok, though the room and toilet/shower needed cleaning! We also had stained sheets! Free Internet was appreciated! Nice receptionist. Would have preferred to have stayed closer to the centre. Overall you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Excellent place to stay as for youth, as for adults (as we are) which looking European style sleeping. Staff is very friendly, speak English. Free Wi-Fi in the room, Free Internet access at the common area. Well appointed rooms (I had a single), the staff are brilliant, friendly and ultra helpful. Had a free tour on my first day. Kitchen facilities are excellent, great common area. If it's raining, just borrow an umbrella. Really, you can't go wrong

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cairns City Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns City Backpackers

Address: 274 Draper St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Gone Walkabout Hostel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cairns City Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Cairns City Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns City Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.