We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns City Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Cairns City Backpackers to your Saves list
Cairns City Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cairns City Backpackers
274 Draper St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Gone Walkabout Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I was here in late January with my girlfriend. We stayed in one of the 6 share dorms It was only $16 a night and it included air conditioning ( a must for this time of year). At that time Cairns had a lot of rain so it perhaps wasn't the best time to visit but even so thoroughly enjoyed our time at the hostel. Laid back atmosphere, all other guests were genuine travellers and the internet was free (one of the reasons we booked). Just a short walk to town, but when it rains here it really pours so you need an umbrella.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    14
    10
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
23
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed in the "three butterflies" room around Christmas. I lay in the bed for a few hours reading and noticed that I was very itchy with large welts on my legs. Inspection revealed a number of bedbugs crawling over the mattress.

Tried to contact reception to change the room, but there is absolutely no after hours support -- not even a number to call!

Thought about sleeping on the communal outside couch instead, but after sitting there for a few mins felt something crawling on my arm - another bedbug! I ended up just dropping my keys into the box and going to a proper hotel. Still have inflamed skin where the welts were a month later.

It's a bit annoying that that they have a prominent "No bedbugs" claim on the website, when a 5 minute inspection of my room found 4 bugs before the lights even went out. Avoid this place until they've called pest control.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Quite far from the centre of town, especially seeing as there are so many more central hostels. Not a ridiculous amount to walk, but enough to make it inconvenient to go back during the day.

The accommodation itself was ok, though there was a cockroach in our room (didn't really bother me though). The aircon was a must.

The free meal at the woolshed was good, but I think most hostels offer that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Look.... It is very difficult to give a backpackers a 5* rating. We came 3 of us in a triple room. We paid $64 per night between us including air conditioning. The place was relatively clean albeit a bit more attention could have been paid to the bathroom cleanliness.

The backpackers also gives you a free meal at the Woolshed pub in town. Once again, basic but did the job. The hostel also operates a strict 10.30 alcohol and rowdiness curfew which meant everyone could sleep.

We slept well, didn't struggle to get a shower, got fed and didn't spend much money. For the price, this place exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Triple room is good value. Frog room is next to a storeroom and has no throughfare outside receptio...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Well, just got here yesterday from Germany. Wasn't too sure of the standard of backpackers in Australia, but if this place is anything to go by should be in for a great trip. Staff were very friendly as was the hostel cat. They told me his name was Sam. Room was clean, if not a bit small. Spent the first day reading a novel in the garden hammock and cooling off in the pool. Now that's what a holiday is all about. Hope the other places I visit will be as nice!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed one night at this hostel in a standard double room. The room was fine, but appeared very dark because of the colour of the walls. Also, the ceiling fan didn't seem to have a setting between "barely spinning" and "there's a helicopter in the room". The shared bathrooms were dirty and didn't look like they'd been cleaned in a long time. There was nowhere to put your clothes while you had a shower.

One thing that impressed me was the customer service of the lady at the front desk. I wish I'd caught her name. We asked her about sights in Atherton and she chatted to us for at least 15 minutes about all the different places to go and things to see. She was so apologetic she didn't have any leaflets to give us.

The hostel is quiet and small, which I appreciated. We didn't use the kitchen facilities so cannot comment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed there for about two weeks in June/July in in three different rooms. The hostel is located outside the city center but still everything is in walking distance.The rooms are quite small and rather basic but also one of the cheapest you can get in Cairns. Some got their own shower which does not necessarily work properly, but shared bathroom facilities are okay. There are in total three small kitchens equipped with the basic cooking stuff, washing machines, TV area, pool table, benches, pool and hammocks. Since the hostel is rather small it's a very familiy-like atmosphere, most people I met there were really nice which is why I stayed there for all my time in Cairns. It's definitely not a party hostel...it's rather quiet after ~11 pm, the owner himself sees to it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cairns City Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns City Backpackers

Address: 274 Draper St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Gone Walkabout Hostel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Cairns City Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns City Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.