We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Infested by bedbugs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns City Backpackers

Cairns City Backpackers
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns City Backpackers to your Saves list
Cairns City Backpackers
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   274 Draper St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Gone Walkabout Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Infested by bedbugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed in the "three butterflies" room around Christmas. I lay in the bed for a few hours reading and noticed that I was very itchy with large welts on my legs. Inspection revealed a number of bedbugs crawling over the mattress.

Tried to contact reception to change the room, but there is absolutely no after hours support -- not even a number to call!

Thought about sleeping on the communal outside couch instead, but after sitting there for a few mins felt something crawling on my arm - another bedbug! I ended up just dropping my keys into the box and going to a proper hotel. Still have inflamed skin where the welts were a month later.

It's a bit annoying that that they have a prominent "No bedbugs" claim on the website, when a 5 minute inspection of my room found 4 bugs before the lights even went out. Avoid this place until they've called pest control.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    15
    13
    10
See reviews for
1
27
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Quite far from the centre of town, especially seeing as there are so many more central hostels. Not a ridiculous amount to walk, but enough to make it inconvenient to go back during the day.

The accommodation itself was ok, though there was a cockroach in our room (didn't really bother me though). The aircon was a must.

The free meal at the woolshed was good, but I think most hostels offer that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Look.... It is very difficult to give a backpackers a 5* rating. We came 3 of us in a triple room. We paid $64 per night between us including air conditioning. The place was relatively clean albeit a bit more attention could have been paid to the bathroom cleanliness.

The backpackers also gives you a free meal at the Woolshed pub in town. Once again, basic but did the job. The hostel also operates a strict 10.30 alcohol and rowdiness curfew which meant everyone could sleep.

We slept well, didn't struggle to get a shower, got fed and didn't spend much money. For the price, this place exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Triple room is good value. Frog room is next to a storeroom and has no throughfare outside receptio...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Well, just got here yesterday from Germany. Wasn't too sure of the standard of backpackers in Australia, but if this place is anything to go by should be in for a great trip. Staff were very friendly as was the hostel cat. They told me his name was Sam. Room was clean, if not a bit small. Spent the first day reading a novel in the garden hammock and cooling off in the pool. Now that's what a holiday is all about. Hope the other places I visit will be as nice!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed one night at this hostel in a standard double room. The room was fine, but appeared very dark because of the colour of the walls. Also, the ceiling fan didn't seem to have a setting between "barely spinning" and "there's a helicopter in the room". The shared bathrooms were dirty and didn't look like they'd been cleaned in a long time. There was nowhere to put your clothes while you had a shower.

One thing that impressed me was the customer service of the lady at the front desk. I wish I'd caught her name. We asked her about sights in Atherton and she chatted to us for at least 15 minutes about all the different places to go and things to see. She was so apologetic she didn't have any leaflets to give us.

The hostel is quiet and small, which I appreciated. We didn't use the kitchen facilities so cannot comment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed there for about two weeks in June/July in in three different rooms. The hostel is located outside the city center but still everything is in walking distance.The rooms are quite small and rather basic but also one of the cheapest you can get in Cairns. Some got their own shower which does not necessarily work properly, but shared bathroom facilities are okay. There are in total three small kitchens equipped with the basic cooking stuff, washing machines, TV area, pool table, benches, pool and hammocks. Since the hostel is rather small it's a very familiy-like atmosphere, most people I met there were really nice which is why I stayed there for all my time in Cairns. It's definitely not a party hostel...it's rather quiet after ~11 pm, the owner himself sees to it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

While the price of this hostel is very attractive beware of what you're going to get. The place is so dirty that you have to where your shoes at all times. A girl that I met there stayed at the hostel for a week and didn't see them cleaning the room even once (only took out the garbage). The shower was full of dirt and hair. I saw there more insects that at the Daintree National Park (but thank God no cockroaches). Kitchen is very unattractive and dirty. I can keep on going but the main idea it's DIRTY and OLD! The toilets have no hooks or shelves, so basically whatever you have you have to hang on your neck as you can't put it on the floor (too dirty). One thing is good about the hostel it wasn't loud.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairns City Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns City Backpackers

Address: 274 Draper St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Gone Walkabout Hostel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cairns City Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Cairns City Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns City Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.