We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gecko's Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Gecko's Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gecko's Backpackers
187 Bunda St., Cairns, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 84 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed in a private room for 7 nights and really loved it! The Gecko's is homely and friendly, has a lovely atmosphere and everything you need. Kitchen, AirCon, Fans, TV, Pool and Laundry and very clean facilities! The shopping Centre is just next door and you can easily walk into the city for a beer at night.
We definitely recommend to stay here if you're not after a party hostel but just want a lovely time and good night sleeps!

Room Tip: In the private rooms in the back, you can sometimes hear the hostel next door which didn't reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hi Julie and Nils. We are very happy that you had a lovely time here. Thankyou very much for your review, we really appreciate it. As you mention all you need is here. Have a nice holiday. The caretakers and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    55
    4
    5
    16
See reviews for
8
51
100
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I originally stayed here after reading wikicamps when first arriving in Cairns. I first stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was really nice. Wifi worked in the rooms, they were spacious, clean and the beds very comfy. The manager is very friendly and let me sleep in my car at the rear of the hostel. If you want a nice relaxing stay in cairns this is the hostel to choose, it has a no drinking policy on the premises so it keeps the hostel clean and quiet, but there is no problem if you want to go into town (less than 5 minutes away) and drink then come back for a good night sleep! I recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Good day Marc. Thanks a lot for your brilliant description of Geckos. As usual you are one of the many guests that just keeps staying longer. Recent renovations has made the place more comfortable. We wish you all the best from the caretakers and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I was having great time of staying in Gecko's. I stayed there 1 month. I had lots of things going on while I was staying in there, but manager were flexible and helpful. Room where I was staying for 2 ppl, had aircon and fan, wifi was working in the rooms in main building just fine. Also switching rooms were easy and had no problem with it. Quiet and cozy hostel! We miss good old George!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hi Petteri. It was just great that you just kept staying longer. Goerge says good day. Thanks very much for your very nice review. All the best and happy travelling. The caretakers and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Very pleased with this hostel. The owner can not do more to help people. Always offers advice. He runs it basically on his own with the help of a backpacker to clean. He's always working everyday making it clean and tidy. Kitchen is always clean and so is the bathroom and our room. It is no drinking and I can see why as there are families who pass through. Although people drink in their rooms once he has gone and on the tables outside aslong as you clean up after yourself it's not a problem and he gives vouchers for giligans where you can drink. Really can't get over how much the man does for this hostel a nice chilled out laid back place close to shops and a short walk to lagoon. Very happy and would stay here again :-)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hi Cha. Thank you so much for your brilliant review. I am here constantly keeping the place in order and also renovating. The night manager has not reported anyone breaking the no alcohol rule. There might be the odd person getting away with it quietly in their room. We try to keep this rule as strict as possible. Yes it is very chilled here and we are very happy to read your words of appreciation. Take care and all the best from the caretakers and crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

It is a nice, quiet and super clean hostel! In a very good location, you can go walking everywhere. The staff is very kind and helpful. They have rooms and also you can stay with your van. Nice environment!! Feeling like at home and is always clean!! Strongly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Hi Aida and friends. Thankyou very much for your excellent review. Safe tavelling and all the best. Thankyou for your reccommendation of Geckos. The caretakers and crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The Geckos Hostel is highly recommendable!

+ staff is very helpful and easygoing
+ quiet place to relax
+ very clean rooms and facilities
+ swimmingpool and tanning area
+ laundry access $
+ TV
+ geckos
+ clean and big kitchen
+ low prices
+ parking spaces

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Good day Julian. No worries mate. Thanks a lot for your very clear description of Geckos.Oh and the free high speed wifi 24 hours. Take care from the caretakers & crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zemst, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks and it was definitely a good choice. Nice kitchen always clean. Also a nice pool which was cleaned daily. It's a very quiet hostel without bunk beds. Highly recommended for backpackers traveling to Cairns!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same. Max 4 person room without bunk beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Hello Andries. Good on you mate. Most of our guests end up staying longer as they really enjoy it here. Thankyou very much from the caretakers & crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gecko's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Backpackers

Address: 187 Bunda St., Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 84 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gecko’s backpackers is under new management and it's also a Cairns City Council historical building, located in the heart of Cairns; with big rooms and high ceilings. Gecko’s is a very quiet and relaxing resort for backpackers. We have spacious indoor and outdoor areas, crystal clear water pool, gardens and mango trees around. Great resting place for planning tours; no bunk beds, all city attractions within walking distance - 1km to Cairns city center- Coles supermarket and Cairns Central Shopping Centre next door. Discounted tours for all customers, free airport or bus pickup, free internet, free tea & coffee all day. Free cereals and milk for a healthy breakfast and also a free meal from 5pm at the new Tequila Bar!! Large kitchen, laundry facilities available! and of course excellent backpackers' atmosphere. By the way this is not a party hostel so you’ll be able to have a good and safe rest that’s why we are proudly a quiet hostel, thanks for your support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Gecko's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gecko's Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.