We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had known about here earlier!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gecko's Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gecko's Backpackers to your Saves list
Gecko's Backpackers
187 Bunda St., Cairns, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wish I had known about here earlier!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Checked in for wo days as the hostel I was staying at next door had no more availability. The owner Peter instantly made me think the hostel stood out with his generous offer of supplying me with his wifi code so I could use even the day before I had checked in. Free wifi is a rarity in hostels and having spent a small fortune next door on wifi I was very happy to see this was offered at Geckos, a instant great start. I had no time for tours but had I been able to there was a wealth of information available at the hostel. The common areas were extremely clean, the bathroom has recently been renovated and again was of a very high standard for a hostel. The bathroom was kept clean all day too as the manager seemed to take care of this often. The twin room I had was perfect for a nights rest, clean and practice with rubber bungs in all furniture to keep the noise down against the wooden floors. With the no alcohol after 10pm rule you can get a good nights sleep and I for one loved the queenslander house style and layout, full of character. The manager never seemed to stop working and been in the hospitality industry myself I understand how much effort has to go into running a business and this guy exceeds himself from what I seen in my short stay, I'd of bought him a beer if there was a bar there. Will defo return, great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Howdy Andrew. Thankyou very much for your fantastic review. Generosity and kindness takes us a long way. As you discovered we have all aspects of this place well and truely covered in order for our guests to have a pleasant time. We find our guests really appreciate the free wifi 24 hours and the clean and quiet surroundings. Take care and look forward to seeing you again someday. A big cheers from Peter& crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    56
    6
    5
    16
See reviews for
8
53
109
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay at geckos. The manager, Peter, was helpful and accommodating. Free wifi, cereal, tea and coffee too. We stayed in a twin room, it was clean, nicely decorated and comfy beds. Would definitely recommend and would come back if staying in cairns again!!
Hayley & Lizzy - England

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Good day Hayley and Lizzy. It was really nice that you lovely girls had a grand stay here. Our refurbished rooms are looking great and very comfortable. It would be nice to see yous again someday.With many thanks Peter & crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We arrived late at night and only expected to stay one night, but thanks to Peter for talking us into staying, we were there a week and loved it. We got a nice quiet room to ourselves, stocked the refrigerator with food from the shopping center across the street and ended up getting great deals on tours and the room. Wi-fi worked well. Guests were polite and friendly, location was off the drunken path but still close to town and a stone's throw from the Green Ant, which became a favorite of ours to have a beer. Peter was so accommodating, we had many chats during our stay. The room we got was renovated and very clean, airy and cozy. Renovations to the showers upstairs while we were there, but there were enough available that it wasn't an inconvenience. Peter and his family have done a great job to make this into a welcome guesthouse. I would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the southeast side and had a window, which was great. Our very first night we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello John and Mark. It was really nice to meet you guys. I reallly appreciate that you stayed longer. We try our best to make the place as comfortable as possible. Glad you enjoyed the tours and discounts. Yes the rooms are great now with the very comfortable hotel beds.Thankyou very much for the great photos. All the best from Peter&family&crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

On a whole, Gecko's is a very quiet hostel which allow you a good rest at night. The whole hostel had a lovely communal and homey feel to it. Everyone we met there was really nice. The owner Peter is a very friendly man who helped us book some of our activities. We discovered there really wasn't any need to pre-book your tours/activities beforehand because Peter can do that easily for you.

Location wise, it's fantastic because it's right opposite the mall and only a 15 minute walk to the heart of the city area where there's plenty of food options!

However I feel that the bathrooms could be cleaner. To be fair, I've used the bathrooms in the morning when it was freshly cleaned and that was a good experience. However, whenever I came back at night after a long day of activities, I always found the toilets filthy and unpleasant. That and the wifi could be a tad faster too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi Catherine. Thankyou for your valued feed back. It always helps us a lot. Unfortunitely sometimes the bathrooms may apppear a little out of the usual which is very clean as some guests may leave a mess than usual but rest assured the bathrooms are serviced 3 to 4 times every day. All the best Peter & crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat Victoria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I've Travelled to Cairns a number of times and visited most of the hostels around the area,
I find Geckos to be one of the best,being a nice & quiet hostel giving me a good nights sleep,
so i had no problem getting up early for tours in the morning.
I see the owner always making an effort to ensure the place is clean & tidy and just finished renovating the upstairs bathroom.

great location at a good price 5min walk to cairns city centre :)

Steve.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello Steve. I must say you are one of the record holders for staying here for such a long time. I really appreciate your support and comments on how we constantly keep the place in order. The new bathroom upstairs looks great. With many thanks and take care. Also all the very best with your new job and you are wecome back any day. Peter & crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorzow Wielkopolski, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very nice and quiet place. in the recepcion is a nice man, how is helpful and can bookt every trip in this town and will provide you with all the information. In the garden is a big swimmingpool with a lounge chairs. Rooms is clean and new, like a bathrooms. Its a very nice place with a great people. And wifi is great, you can talk on the skype on every time on the day.Everywhere is near, but is a nice, quiet place not like downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi Aleksandra. We are always improving our property to higher standards every day. The objective is to provide the best we can so our guests get maximum value for there expense. Yes the wifi 24 hours for free is a real bonus. Take care and with many thanks. Peter & crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay if you want to relax.
Its not a party place the gests had a few quite drinks a night and were very friendly.
Nice for a bbq or great gas stove cooking facilities
Peter the manager was great and a wealth of information about the best tour options in cairns
He also did all the bookings from the hostel which was great.
Had a great stay and would highly recommend it.
Very clean and locate right in the city

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Gecko's Backpackers, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi Usee. What a fantastic review. Your absalutely right we are definitely not a party hostel infact we are a perfect place for a relaxing time and a very quiet nights sleep with very comfortable hotel mattresses. Take care and see you again soon. Peter & crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gecko's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Backpackers

Address: 187 Bunda St., Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gecko’s backpackers is under new management and it's also a Cairns City Council historical building, located in the heart of Cairns; with big rooms and high ceilings. Gecko’s is a very quiet and relaxing resort for backpackers. We have spacious indoor and outdoor areas, crystal clear water pool, gardens and mango trees around. Great resting place for planning tours; no bunk beds, all city attractions within walking distance - 1km to Cairns city center- Coles supermarket and Cairns Central Shopping Centre next door. Discounted tours for all customers, free airport or bus pickup, free internet, free tea & coffee all day. Free cereals and milk for a healthy breakfast and also a free meal from 5pm at the new Tequila Bar!! Large kitchen, laundry facilities available! and of course excellent backpackers' atmosphere. By the way this is not a party hostel so you’ll be able to have a good and safe rest that’s why we are proudly a quiet hostel, thanks for your support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Gecko's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gecko's Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.