We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely and clean, just a dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dreamtime Travellers Rest to your Saves list
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
189 Bunda Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Backpackers)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Budget Double room upgrade
Ranked #4 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hassloch, Germany
1 review
“Homely and clean, just a dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very friendly an helpfull staff, all is made with much passion. Nice as well the events each evening like BBQ with fire show (you should not miss), film nights. Still a quiet place a fare meter outside the probably loud center, but very good lokation, as center is 500m away, railway station for start to Kuranda rail and shoping center is just across the streeet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks Wolfgang glad you enjoyed your stay with us ,its been our passion for 21 years its all about creating a comfortable meeting place for like minded travellers .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    131
    30
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
152
171
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Enjoyed five nights of clean, basic accomodations. Staff were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the BBQ night and movie nights. I would stay here again. There are many activities and and near Cairns. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 21, by the pool is at twin share and stands alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi Irine , thanks for the review glad you had a wonderful time , i like room 21 too its quite and by the pool , we call it the cabin, enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Walking into Dreamtime you're made to feel at home straight away as the staff are lovely.
The rooms are quite quirky and clean, but the air con didn't work and we had cockroaches in our room. It was hot so you've got to expect it I guess but it was a bit off putting.
Wifi is available at a reasonable price (although signal is a little hit and miss depending on where you're staying) and there were activities on during the night.
A friendly hostel in a great location just on the outside of the main centre, just a shame about the bugs.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi Amy ,
Thanks for your review glad you thought we were homely and clean, sorry about the bugs we do get our fare share up here in the tropics especially now that its starting to heat up for summer. cheers for the heads up on the Air con we are on to it , you will be pleased to know that all rooms with a/c have been serviced and are now working properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Easily one of the best hostels that I have ever stayed in! Dreamtime is everything you could want in a hostel, big clean rooms, plenty of bathrooms, lots of activites each evening to keep you entertained I was very impressed.

The staff are also friendly and more than willing to help you out with anything you need. For me if your looking for a Hostel in Cairns, dreamtime is the one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks Robert glad you where impressed we do our best to please we enjoy it safe travels .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Really enjoyed our time at Dreamtime, good location close to Cains Central and a 10 min walk to the Lagoon. All staff were helpful Erin on reception was excellent, really helpful and always made time to advise on things to do!! Would recommend to anyone visiting to stay at Dreamtime.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hi Judith, thanks for your review and recommendation i agree Erin is a real star glad you enjoyed your stay .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hostel has an amazing atmosphere and a very nice helpful staff. The hostel is tidy, there is a free pool table and the rooms are spacious. You feel at home here. The hammocks and palm trees make it a tropical place

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hi Kevin glad you enjoyed the tropical atmosphere and the free pool table thanks for your feed back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a very cool little hostel- great vibe. It's very quiet, which is lovely if you're not into lots of partying. The beds are surprisingly comfortable, and there's lots of doubles/3 bed rooms, not massive dorms with 20 people, which is really nice. There's 3 kitchens which the staff clean regularly; the whole hostel is actually very clean. Overall, a great place to stay. Really enjoyed it and would be back if I could!!

Room Tip: I liked the rooms above the reception; they were really cute!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamtimehostel, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi thanks for your very cool review it important to us to get positive feed back glad you enjoyed the vibe . safe travels from the Dreamteam .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreamtime Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Address: 189 Bunda Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamtime hostel is 3 beautiful, bright Queenslander homes located just minutes walk from the centre of Cairns. Free wifi 24 hours plus You will find a tropical oasis perfect for relaxing and meeting like minded travellers. Our service is supreme local staff advising and helping you book the best trips and tours. We are here to help you have an unforgettable travel experience.Join us on one of our BBQ nights, fire shows or movies under the stars. Come see why Dreametime is voted #1 best hostel Australia 2012 by hostelworld customer reviews. Do yourself a favour and join in the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Dreamtime Travellers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreamtime Travellers Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.