We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of my life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway's Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Castaway's Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castaway's Backpackers
207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Norwich
1 review
“Trip of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Hello there, that's Neil from Norwich ere. Ruddy lovely little hostel this is! Stayed ere for roughly 3 weeks! The staff were tremendous and them rooms were bloody bootiful! As for that shuttle, I avent seen nothing like it! If you like a chilled out hostel with a great vibe then I suggest you come see these! Let's be Avin ya!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    43
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
50
61
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Spent just over 2 weeks here.. Nice friendly little hostel where all the staff were fantastic and very welcoming. Free shuttle was a nice touch and they did their best to find us the cheapest rates with trips and rental cars. Hoping to come back again sometime later this year!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I spent almost a week at Castaways and had a great time there. Staff was very friendly and helpful (btw thank you Callum for throwing in my postcards - they all made it to Germany :-)), rooms, bathroom, kitchen etc. were always very clean. Plus: no bunkbeds!!! Unfortunately the location is a bit of a walk from downtown (20 min to Esplanade) but the frequent free shuttle rides makes it a non issue. All in all I had a wonderful time and would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfortville, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I spent nearly two weeks in this hostel and it was by far the best time I ever had in Australia. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the hostel is always clean, the rooms with real beds, a really nice atmosphere... Everything you need !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Had an excellent experience at Castaways in Cairns this past May! I traveled here with a group of students and found the accommodations to be extremely comfortable during our stay. We were able to book 2 spacious rooms. The location is a bit of a walk from downtown, but that allows for a better chance for exploring more of Cairns than what the noisy esplanade has to offer. My only chief complaint is a lack of outlets in the rooms. Even so, the staff were out of this world and extremely helpful, patient, and knowledgeable. They felt more like friends then folks working at a hostel. I would recommend Castaways to anyone visiting this special corner of Queensland!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Castaways backpackers is a great hostel to stay at weather your looking for a good time or for some peace and relaxation. The staff are welcoming and very friendly. They also have an abundance of knowledge about the trips they have on offer ranging from the dives on the reef to the rainforest tours, plus they will always try and get you the best price. The communal facilities and rooms where very clean and tidy. The hostel isn't bang in the middle of the city centre but the frequent free shuttle rides makes it a non issue. You ask for nothing more from a hostel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

What a great, small, friendly hostel! Our stay in cairns got extended due to the cyclone but castaways did everything possible to make our stay great, from poker nights to pool partys!
The staff are really friendly and make you welcome!
Would defo recomend this hostel to anyone traveling to cairns!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castaway's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway's Backpackers

Address: 207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Castaway's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway's Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.