We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel, cheap, very clean, nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway's Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Castaway's Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castaway's Backpackers
207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hostel, cheap, very clean, nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed here for 3nights, arriving late on first night, staff had left key in a easy to find place with clear instructions to rooms and a map of town. Very clean hostel and nice kitchen facilities. Friendly staff. mini-bus service to town, however its only a 15-20min walk so walked most times. Nice quiet hostel, away from the party hostels in town, just what i needed after 2months on east coast circuit. FREE WIFI was the best thing. Would definately recommend, especially for the price per night, great value.

Only downside, rooms can be warm if you don't pay the $1 per 3hr for aircon. Free aircon would be better.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    43
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
49
61
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I ve been to australia now 2 years, and this backpacker was my last stay in australia.
Been to many different hostesls and payed up to 30 dollars for a night but nothing came close to this hostel ONLY 15 AUD per night!!! no bunk beds, beds were very comfy to sleep ... although my room was constantly fully booked, it did not have this crammed feeling about it. Hostel itself was really clean, the staff very friendly and cool, hostel has connections to various things going around in town - i got free beer and pizza and table reservations and a very nice night all thanks to the staff and hostel itself.
free internet... although i managed to break my computer few weeks ago, they have 2 desktop computers FREE to use.

the whole time being in australia this hostel has definately being the cheapest and best yet.

heaps thanks to you guys

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed at Castaways and booked very last minute however I clearly landed on my feet. I was going to stay for one night and ended up staying for two and if I hadn't had to be somewhere may have also stayed another night. The staff are friendly and run you into town, all are helpful and helped me to organise my trips. I would certainly stay here again if I was heading back to Cairns. Great experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012 via mobile

Very clean and refreshing hostel which makes you feel at home straight away! We stayed here for 4 weeks (only meant to stay for 2)

The staff are very nice and always willing to help and leslie the owner is very accomodating to your needs.

However the location is around 20min into the cbd but they do offer various free shuttle buses through out the day. One suggestion maybe there could be a 9oclock shuttle or 8 oclock as if you dont want to stay out after the free meal its a long walk back.

All in all a very nice Place to stay and would be happy to stay again. Thanks guys for making us feel at home.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

stayed in castaways for 5 nights in the doulbe room with en suite. The rooms are standard but have what u need comfy beds and even have your own tv. showers are great as u dont have to kneel down to wash your hair as i have had to do in others. The staff are very friendly and they will help you as much as they can with booking trips. They also run a free bus into town a few times durning the day which is great. You also get a free meal voucher for a pub down town now u have to buy a drink first but its not bad but you prob are better off going to p.j's across the road. over all this was a very enjoyable stay and would and have recommanded this hostel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed at the hostel 2 nights and booked this as it was one of the hostels that have free wi-fi and airport transfers. This is not the case as they no longer provide the transfers (even though this is clearly showed on all their websites). This costs $12 almost the same as a nights accommodation. I could not get access to the wi-fi in my room so had to use the communal areas.
On the whole the hostel is clean and large, I also managed to get a 4 bed dorm on my own as they were not busy and the staff were friendly. There is no aircon unless you pay for this in 3 hour blocks and it is very necessary as it is extremely hot and humid at this time of year.
The free meal in the evening is not the case as they provide shuttles to the town which is about a 15 minute walk but the last shuttle is at 7pm. In order to get your meal you have to buy a drink that starts at $5.5 and then because of the torrential rain a cab home for $9 so dinner actually cost $13 which you could either go and get at a restaurant at the hostel or go to the supermarket.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Castaway's is a very friendly hostel. The staff are awesome, they went out of their way many times to help us plan our trip. Very informative and always gave great advise. The whole hostel is very clean. Stay here when you come to Cairns! Great value for your money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castaway's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway's Backpackers

Address: 207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Castaway's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway's Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.