We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Im not a backpacker .... but it was a good place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caravella Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Caravella Backpackers to your Saves list
Caravella Backpackers
149 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Im not a backpacker .... but it was a good place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed here for 5 days in total in December - travelling alone, I have never stayed in a backpacker hostel before so I cant really compare to anything else.

The room hadn't been cleaned when I arrived, but reception were extremely quick on sorting this out. Infact reception staff 'Amy' and others were absolutely brilliant! Always remembered my name everytime I walked through reception, and were very helpful with any of my queries around Cairns or trips. The room itself was very basic. I had my own double room with bathroom. Downside there was nowhere to hang any clothes up in the room, so I lived out of suitcase. No windows, so you are a bit encased in. The hostel itself feels very safe and once reception is locked up for the night, there is a code to get in at the side gate. Its a good spot for noise aswell as your just a ten minute stroll down the road and I didnt hear a squeak out of anyone all night !! So .... its basic, slightly boring rooms ... with excellent friendly staff in a location just on the edge of the main road.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    113
    45
    11
    5
See reviews for
3
84
56
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Very happy with our stay here, the superior room was very spacious but moved to a budget room (less spacious as to be expected) as we extended our day and that was all that was available.

The place was very clean and well maintained but what impressed me most was the helpfulness of the desk staff and the owner always asking if everything was ok from the strength of the wifi to the quality of the dinner in the meal deal. He even drove some guys to the airport last minute when there away a problem with the shuttle. Everyone was friendly and keen to help.

Good sized washing machines, 2 kitchens, swimming pool and pool table all with plenty of space. Wifi turns off at 6pm which is an issue of you're back late and have tasks to do but otherwise travelling is about seeing places not surfing the net the whole time.

It's only a few minutes walk to town along the esplanade to help keep prices low and meal deal with pub in town was great value and big portions with specials on nightly.

Would stay again and recommend to others.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

It's great to read that Caravellas is still going and that Ralph is still around. I stayed in the bicentennial year, 1988, and am obviously ancient now. But, Ralph runs a good establishment. He had two very able assistants, Pete and Kerrie, hope they are still there too. Cairns remains a high point in my life, In Sydney you'll think things are great but wait until you get to Cairns. Although I had every intention of travelling around I spent May to October at Caravellas and Ralph was like a brother to me. We stayed in Osaka, probably changed its name now, but it was on the South side of the pool, and the only rule was enjoy yourself, which everyone did. If you are thinking of going to Cairns, and you won't find a friendlier place on the surface of the planet, make sure you go and say hello to Ralph, he's brilliant, and so is the hostel.

Room Tip: The whole place is brilliant but my happiest memories were in FLR, funny little room, which is a dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This was the first hostel I stayed in being a solo traveller in Australia. I was picked up with the free shuttle bus from airport which was great. The backpackers is in a good location, on the waterfront and about 10 minutes walk to the shops, cafes, bars, lagoon swimming pool and supermarket. The reception staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful and booked the trips I was interested in. The room was clean, with a fridge in the room which is great for a nice cold drink without having to go to the kitchen. Communal areas like kitchen and bathroom were also clean most of the time. A nice little pool for chilling out by too! Overall, a really good hostel that I would recommend to anyone staying in Cairns!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

The location was good, 5 mins walk from bars and restaurants etc, kitchens were good how ever other guests were very messy and didnt wash their plates etc so this was really annoying. The free wifi is good but it's not very good signal. Local staff were lovely but the backpackers who were working there weren't very nice. We booked our barrier reef tour though the hostel and it was good, think it was called 'compass cruise'? Free meal at the woolshed was very basic pasta dishes but you could pay extra for a menu meal. We preferred to use the kitchen and bought our food from Woolworth's which is a 10 min walk. The lagoon is 5 mins away and is very nice. Greyhound stop 5-10 walk away so no need for taxi. Would probably stay here again, cairns is great!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We found the hostel to be really welcoming, the staff and owner were very friendly and went out of the way to help with any little issues we had.

We stayed in a double room, it was basic but the air-con was good (if a little noisy) and had the great addition of a personal fridge in our room, meaning we could stock up on food and drinks easily. The room and bathrooms were very clean and the pool was great too. They also have a good deal for half price food at PJ O'briens pub, which we made use of more than one night.

The only negative might be the kitchen facilities, plenty of plates, cups saucepans etc but the tea-towels were very dirty by evening and the dish washing sponge had seen better days and should really have been changed daily!

All in all a great place and we had a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a double room here for three nights. nice clean hostel , room had nice clean bathroom and comfortable double bed and fridge and single bed. Only minor issue was noise of aircon. Kitchens well kept. Generally had a nice atmosphere. Another couple had a twin room and shared bathroom again very clean neat. Less than 10minutes from main area and lagoon. We walked everywhere. Owner was lovely and very interested in our impression of the place. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caravella Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravella Backpackers

Address: 149 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Caravella Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravella Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravella Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.