We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saw a cockroach...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caravella Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Caravella Backpackers to your Saves list
Caravella Backpackers
149 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Saw a cockroach...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

For the price its what you would expect. Clean beds, clean showers and friendly staff. Its not to far a walk from town but far enough that its not got the noise of the town and drunkards. The only down side was that there was only one toilet and shower between 1 six bed dorm and 3 double rooms. That would get awkward. And if you had been to the loo you could not always wash your hands due to the sink being in the shower room. I did also spot one cockroach. Otherwise an ok stay.

Room Tip: Talk to the people at the desk for amazing deals, where to go and what to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    113
    45
    11
    5
See reviews for
3
84
56
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Great stay. 10 minute walk from downtown, but right on the water makes up for it. Incredibly helpful staff and truly a great setup. It has a large kitchen and pool and outdoor relaxation area. Would strongly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My friend (2 girls) and I stayed here as it was recommended. We checked in and were given our keys so off we went….

Room 1 – small, full of trip hazards due to the males currently staying in the room, a smell I can only describe as disgusting, en suite which did not lock as my friend found out when she walked in on someone!

Back to reception to ask for a different room…

Room 2 – 8 or 10 bed, can’t remember exactly… large room upstairs. Walls 50% stone and 50% glass with no blinds, therefore it is named aquarium, also known to us as the ‘fish bowl’ as that’s what it felt like! Tiny bunk beds, I’m 5ft2 and I could no sit up in bed… There was a couple in this room already who were nice enough and then us, possibly another guy but didn’t see him. We didn’t have any choice at this point but to stay here, it was either this or the smelly dangerous room downstairs.

Room 3 - Next morning we managed to book an apartment with 3 beds as our friend was arriving, this was fine. Quiet and clean so no complaints.
Room 4 – My friend was leaving so I decided to see if I could get a girls dorm to save the hassle of moving, which I did. Again tiny beds but only a 4 bed dorm and reasonably quiet and clean… The bathrooms were downstairs, 2 showers and 2 toilets. There was no cubicle to leave you stuff in while in the shower or get changed in private.

The staff were a little strange I thought and made me feel a little uncomfortable. Oh and the bathrooms beside reception also only had 2 showers and 2 toilets too, however only 1 shower had a shower head, useful…

This hostel could be nice if it was given some tlc, they got rid of the awful ‘fish bowl room’ and invested in some blinds to keep the sun and peering eyes out and they sorted out the bathrooms…

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Pleasant stay overall.
Took a single room for 40$. The room had a double bed and was basic but nice. No place to store clothes/towels etc though.
Everything was really clean in the guesthouse (bathroom, kitchen etc.)
Two huge kitchens available where everyone seems respectful to clean stuff after usage.
Swimming pool and sociable area with pool table are satisfying. Nice people to socialize with.

Cons:
Check out is the earliest I had during my trip (9.30am)
You need to leave sociable areas at 11pm.
Internet is really expensive (1$ per 15 min or their computer, wifi on your own laptop is 7$ per day)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

After a long, tiring bus journey, the last thing I was expecting was not to have a room for the night. You can imagine my despair when, after dragging my luggage the 15 mins down the street from the bus depot, I arrived to a closed and locked reception area. The area to the patio/pool could only be accessed by a pin code on the gate. Another traveler was nice enough to let me in but a staff member was nowhere to be found. By sheer luck, I happened to run into a traveler who had been working at the hostel for a few weeks and had the manager's number. After about 20 mins, I found out my key had been left in a safe deposit box in the reception area- standard for guests who were arriving after hours (8PM I think). It would have been nice to have known that BEFORE I arrived. It all ended up working out but could have been much worse if not for my chance encounter.

My first room was a 4 bed share with AC and a fridge for $14 which is quite reasonable. And when I did get to reception the next day they were quite helpful and friendly. But the location was about a 15 min walk to the center of town and I found myself walking back and forth a lot and the time started adding up. So between the mishap upon arrival and the location, I would suggest elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

We booked a 6 mix and got bumped up to a 4 girls room- fab! Our room was nice and had space and an ensuite. The hostel has 2 kitchens which is great, outdoor seating and an outdoor movie area which was fine as it's so hot there. There is also a lovely swimming pool plus you get a free meal Each night in the woodshed pub! I would def stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This was the perfect choice for us to stay in Cairns. The private rooms are well air conditioned and clean, the pool area and kitchen were ok and the staff were really friendly and helpful.
Its about 5 minutes walk along the seafront to the centre which makes it a nice quiet area and theres a great little cafe out front. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caravella Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravella Backpackers

Address: 149 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Caravella Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravella Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravella Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.