We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staff, Don't Expect to Sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort to your Saves list
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   5 - 9 Digger St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Staff, Don't Expect to Sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed here for three nights while on a scuba course. Staff are very helpful with questions, restaurants, transportation, travel, etc. Was one of the dirtier hostels I've stayed in throughout Asia Pacific. Booked a shoebox sized private room and barely got any sleep each night due to 'frisky' neighbors on all sides, thin walls and very creaky floorboards above us. They must put something in the drinks because there were A LOT of people getting lucky. If you're looking for a place with atmosphere and to meet other young backpackers (18-25) this is probably a good option. If you're looking for a few drinks and a good night's rest, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    54
    25
    9
    8
See reviews for
2
45
36
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Had an awesome stay. Staff were really friendly and welcoming and the room was clean. The staff helped me book some tours I wanted to do. The shuttle bus to town was convenient and went regularly. The bar was loads of fun, there was a snake show where I got to hold a big snake! I met lots of people and would definately go back!

Room Tip: Double rooms at the back are quiet and cheap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I just wrote a book-The World As I Know It. and in it I highly advised to stay here. I backpacked throughout Australia and thought that Calypso was the only place where the staff wanted you there. We had a double room with a little porch. We could see the main area(restaurant/pool table), being so close, I didn't hear anything. It seemed to me that people left the area around 10pm. The location was great. 30 min walk to beach and mall one way and 30 min walk to the botanical gardens/forest, the other way. The meals were cheap and they have a travel/tourist spot. They will organize your trips to the Daintree Rainforest, Snorkelling/diving the Great Barrier Reef... They have a place where you can store your luggage when you're not staying and doing these excursions, which was nice. You can just take a smaller bag. We all know that those big backpacks get to be a bit annoying after a while. The buffet meals were good and I enjoyed the social games they organized at night. Hope you like it as much as I did.

Room Tip: I travelled with my husband and we paid $5 each extra a night and got a double bed with a little por...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Calypso staff are super friendly and the facilties here are good but overall the hostel is run down. I guess this adds to the charm of it all and I enjoyed staying here. If you are wanting to meet other travellers I would definitely recommend it. The kitchen area opens up to the bar area so its an extremely sociable hostel. Location is a little bit further out but the free shuttle bus into the centre of Cairns is an awesome amenity. At night the bar has really really loud music so if you want somewhere to relax at night and you prefer peace and quiet sometimes I wouldn't recommend Calypso to you. Also, the showers are right next to the bar so you have to walk past everyone in just your towel! If you're okay with that then I guess it's a cool hostel for backpackers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the bar to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Great location and atmosphere with evening activities/entertainment which can go on till late. Shared bathroom/washrooms are clean but rooms not the best we've stayed in (rather small and no facilities inside). For price we paid we can't really complain and felt very safe.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011 via mobile

This hostel was ideal for one night. We stayed in a double room and it had a comfy bed with clean sheets, a few hooks to hang ur stuff off, bedside tables and aircon..... The shower/ toilet facilities were clean. I didn't venture into the kitchen but it seamed fairly small the hostel bar sold decent food and was reasonably priced.... the communal areas were comfy and the overall atmosphere of the hostel was great. Definitely more of a party hostel tho, the music was played till late and people were a bit loud once the beer started flowing but all in all a good hostel! Great location just a short-ish walk into the town centre.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

This was the first hostel I have ever stayed in and I loved it! I ended up staying in cleaner hostels with more amenities but Calypso holds some of the best memories! The staff are unbelieveably helpful. Buddha is incredible! We hadn't even introduced ourselves and had been checked in for about 4 hours but he already knew our names, what room we were staying in and was the best when it came to recommending tours.
We arrived in cairns at 5am but they let us have our room straight away for free (think check in is meant to be at 11am). The evenings are also great with a friendly atmosphere and competitions in the evening to keep you entertained. The rooms are so basic and not the cleanliest but I just had the most amazing stay in Cairns. Thanks Calypso! (At £13 a night for a private room I am not complaining!)

Room Tip: private rooms are cheap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort

Address: 5 - 9 Digger St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s a tropical paradise mon! Come soak up the chilled global vibe at Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort, Cairns’ coolest crashpad. Any more relaxed we’d be horizontal! Swaying palms, smooth tunes and swinging hammocks, that’s the Calypso way. Chill poolside with new friends in the Queensland sunshine by day then check out free nightly entertainment at Zanzibar Bar & Grill, our friendly hostel pub. When the taste buds bite, enjoy a pool-side breakfast or Aussie BBQ dinner at Zanzibar, or whip up your own masterpiece in our great communal kitchen. The Calypso crew are here for you and we know our stuff. Between us all there’s over 65 years of hostel and travel know-how so you’re in expert hands from the moment you arrive. We go the extra mile to make you smile, with a free tour booking service, free return transfers to the airport, bus station and central Cairns and WiFi now available in all rooms. Come catch some Calypso chill vibe when you pass through Cairns! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Inn Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.