We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget, Backpacker, Clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bohemia Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bohemia Resort to your Saves list
Bohemia Resort
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   231 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Budget, Backpacker, Clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were looking for a no frills hotel and found it as part of an airline package. Keep in mind we were not looking to do anything but sleep, shower, and use the facilities while we stayed in Cairns. This hotel fit the bill, cheaper than our rental car, and cleaner too. It was our first time staying in a dorm style (shared bathroom) hotel. This wasn't a bad experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    45
    40
    34
    32
See reviews for
22
65
22
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My sister and I stayed in a twin room with an en suite for 3 nights. The room and bathroom were a nice size and very clean and comfortable. The only thing which puts me off staying here again is despite the many signs and statement on the website, the 'on-site restaurant' was not open on any of the days or nights that we stayed. Other than that, was a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alveston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel was selected because our son and his family stayed there 9 years ago.
It has changed hands over the last 4 years or so and many trees have grown to hide the buildings.
our room was sufficient for our needs, serviced on a daily basis and well stocked with tea and coffee. Cairns is a hot and humid place even in late autumn early winter, but we were able to keep fairly cool by using the ceiling fan and opening the inner glass door. breakfast was supplied and was adequate, toast and jam, choice of cereal tea, coffee, juice and cold fresh water, all eaten by the swimming pool.
The hotel is 2 blocks from the Esplanade and just over 1.5 k from the harbour and many eating places, and a shortish walk to car and camper van hire depots.
We enjoyed our stay here

Room Tip: upper floors have enclosed balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here on our last night of a very amazing holiday and just wanted somewhere cheap and not far from the airport. We got a lovely spacious room with a king size bed lovely decor and modern feel. The pool etc looked great but we didn't get time to check it out. Light Breaky was included which was nice and easy before we headed off to the airport in the morning. Staff were lovely and everything was easy! Great place!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice place, pleasant staff. Could use some updating, and I agree the pictures on the website are not what the rooms look like, but a good place non the less.
I stayed in a double room on the bottom floor, my room was clean and tidy, however, the TV was absolutely tiny, literally the smallest I have ever seen in my entire life. When I went they had no wifi so I had to pay for internet which was too expensive.
The bathroom was clean but I used some domestos spray on it anyway, just to be sure!
The bedding was ok, clean and I couldn't see any stains. I sprayed the bed down too before I got in and I didn't experience any bites.
There were a few break ins whilst I was there, but people were sleeping with their doors open, so you've got to expect that if your not going to lock up!

Room Tip: Choose one with an ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Bohemia Resort is a bit of a walk north of the cbd, but well within walking distance. There are buses along Sheridan St frequently if you have heavy bags of fruit you got at Rustys Market. Most of the tours leaving Cairns will pick you up. Best thing about it is that it is quiet, so I had a good night's sleep every night I was here. It's not flash or upmarket, but good value and my room had everything I needed. Staff are friendly and helpful.

I didn't have any meals here, and breakfast was minimal. Don't like my tea out of a polystyrene beaker. Didn't waste my time after the first morning. You can get very good organic Musli and fresh tropical fruits on corner of James and McLeod streets. There are shared kitchen facilities. There are lots of takeaway places within easy walking distance for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peregian Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Very helpful staff accommodating our group, even willing to help with organising meals for their stay.
Good value for money & useful facilities.
Would recommend for large groups or people traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.8 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#45 of 67 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#47 of 67 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspect Central Motel
Aspect Central Motel
#43 of 67 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#16 of 84 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
1.4 mi away
Cairns Sunland Leisure Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohemia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohemia Resort

Address: 231 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bohemia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bohemia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohemia Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bohemia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.