We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel, loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bohemia Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Bohemia Resort to your Saves list
Bohemia Resort
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   231 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel, loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed 2 nights with the first night arriving at 5am. Was worried about check in at that time of morning but no problems, there is a phone on the wall which you call the caretaker and he gives you a pin number for the key box and tells you where your room is. Our room was massive - 3 bedrooms, 2 showers and toilets, lounge, kitchen, dining with all facilities needed to be self contained. There were only 3 of us and we loved the space! Was clean and comfortable. Could not find any faults and the price we paid on wotif.com was so cheap! We did walk into the Cairns Esplanade one night easy 15 minute walk but got a taxi back later. Taxis are everywhere and easy to hail. Would stay again. Breakfast was the only thing we had a winge about as no eggs or cooked foods.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    39
    29
    24
    23
See reviews for
15
50
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ullastrell, Catalonia, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for three nights, the hotel was according to the price, clean, comfortable bed, medium bedroom with a little garden, interesting swimmingpool and the breakfast was acceptable. The only disadvantage is that the hotel is far from the city center, 20 minutes walking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

If you are thinking of this hotel - don't. A backpacker holiday would be better value. Rooms were spartan and lacked amenities. No more than 2 star. Staff were surly and uncooperative. Advert was deceptive and when booking made the rooms were called "suites". A small room is not a suite. Gave a weeks holiday to a staff member as a bonus and was so embarrassed that had to move them to another hotel. Far better and $300 cheaper. The hotel then refused to give even a partial refund. Wrong attitude guys. You give Australian tourism a bad name.

Room Tip: Tip - rooms in other hotels are better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

After seeing the web site and booking a "family suite", we were shown a tiny dark hole of a room where the beds had been squished together and there was barely room for our small suitcases as well as us. It was dirty too. We complained, and were shown a slightly larger room, which again was not practical with a 5 year old, or suitable for us, and a VERY far cry from the photos on their web site. We complained again and were offered a 8 bed dorm which we didn't want, and were refused a refund, despite the fact that the "family suite" that we had seen and booked didn't seem to exist. Truly an upsetting experience coming here and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, especially when there are some fantastic places to stay in Cairns for the same cost as here.

Room Tip: Didn't see one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Rivers nsw
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

After checking in was told to lock door at all times and close curtains.Was confronted by signs in the room NO FOOD,NO ALCOHOL,NO SMOKING,NO SLEEPINGBAGS.If I want to have a pizza and a couple of beers in the room that I have paid for..I WILL.The linen was shabby,t.v tiny,room was dark,but clean,and the toilet leaked.Was worried that something would happen to my rental car,so checked out 25 minutes after I checked in.If you stay here I would say to check your room,BEFORE paying any money.I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Anywhere away from here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I will not be staying at this place again. What you saw on the internet is definitely NOT what you got!!! Looking online we booked a family suite, published rate $199... what we got was a room which was meant for NO MORE THAN 2 PEOPLE, yet they had pushed 2single beds together to form a king and then squeezed in a bunk bed and a table with 2 chairs. The ends of the bunk where not flush with the wall and you kept tripping over them. There was no room for luggage and they had signs everywhere to look your doors yet our window couldn't shut as the TV antenna cord was running through it to the outside and the screen security door didn't even have screens... to top this off the UHT milk in the fridge was off and curdled and the so called continental breakfast was nothing more than rice bubbles, cornflakes, weetbix, toast, black and gold juice concentrate and cheap nestle coffee!!! The room was dirty, the bathroom was mouldy and the was "massage oil" from the previous guests still under the bed... It was Rated online as a 4star and the pictures online would seem to reiterate that but when you actually get there it was at best a 2 star. Oh and then you had to take your own linen off the bed and return it to reception when you left!!!
WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN NOR WOULD I RECOMMEND IT

Room Tip: Just look elsewhere.... unless your a backpacker and you don't care just so long as you have a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Dorm beds are cheap, $12, there's plenty of places where you'd pay the same price and get worse. So decent value for your money.

Depending on who you get at reception, you may be greeted by a lovely lady or a very stressed out lady. Best to get on their good side and they will work with you when you need something. If you get on the bad side of the stress-head, look out. Night manager guy is pretty relaxed, helps to bring him a beer :).

The location is somewhat far from most things including downtown Cairns. Downtown is reachable by public bus though but you have to walk a few hundred metres to get to the bus stop. $17 by taxi to get there from the airport. If you want to walk to actual downtown, it will take at least 25 minutes, don't listen to those people who say downtown is only 5 minutes walk away, they don't know where downtown Cairns is if they say that.

The rooms are decent, the dorm beds comfy, not too squeaky. The double beds in the private rooms are ok, although the shared shower and toilet isn't the greatest. These two room types are 3.5-star at best. It's not so nice when you have to lug a suitcase up 3 flights of stairs because there is no elevator. So find out what floor you are on. The family suite is actually very well equipped and quite nice to stay in. The kitchen facilities in the family suite are nicely equipped, the couches are very comfortable.

Breakfast, well it's free, so don't expect too much. Toast (only 2 slices of bread per person), a small bowl of cereal, juice water and milk. You can get an extra slice of bread if you ask for the crust. The dining area is outdoor but somewhat covered. The bar is nothing special, not much in the way of music, basic drinks available. The evening meals are not great value. The shared kitchen facilities are decent (microwave, stove, toaster) but if you want plates, bowls or cutlery, you must pay a deposit to get a set of two. Pool tables outside are fine, TV room is sparse and bare without much seating but it does have A/C. The pool is decent, but quite small. Jacuzzi has good jets in it, but not an actual hot tub (not really needed in Cairns). The barbeque is a good size and you can have a proper Aussie Barbie on there if you want.

Internet is a bit annoying because you must buy this top up card that bills you in 15 minute increments, but on the bright side, people don't spend too much time on the 4 available computers. The computer room has A/C as well.

You can book tours with them and get a 5% discount, but check the prices because even with that 5% discount the might still be more expensive that if you book direct.

Overall, decent value for your money, certainly not a 5-start place, but nice enough. 3.5 stars from me.

Room Tip: Try not to be on the 3rd floor if you have lots of luggage, there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bohemia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohemia Resort

Address: 231 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bohemia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bohemia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohemia Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bohemia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.