We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good if your on a tight budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel

Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel to your Saves list
Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel
149 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good if your on a tight budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

all in all an average hostel.
the staff are very up and down kinda didnt know who was or wasnt staff tbh.
rooms are very average and not very secure ,always found my door unlocked when going to my room.
the pants down party was good fun lots of free pizza and the sunday bbq is all worth it
theres some free internet but on in reception .
the one BIG problem for me was the old homeless drunk people staying in the hostel for all hours of the day disturbing backpackers with there drunken antics .
you get what you pay for and i did meet some great people.
also out the way abit ,did see after there are alot closer hostels for the same price

Room Tip: away from the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    11
    9
    19
See reviews for
1
16
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I'll get this out of the way- this is not a fancy 5 star hotel. No luxury to be found here. The room was a little dingy, the bed not ideal, but for crying out loud, it's a backpackers, at an unreasonable price. What sets Asylum apart from all of the other backpackers I've stayed in is the incredibly friendly atmosphere. The staff actively work to get people to meet each other and make friends, party with the guests, and are genuinely concerned with making sure you enjoy your stay.

For me, the highlights were the party night Asylum hosts on Thursday nights. For a mere $10, the staff takes you to three fun bars and clubs, each of which provides you with a free drink. But if that doesn't already sound like your money's worth, you also get unlimited free wifi for a week, AND free access to the all-you-can-eat BBQ on sunday night, WHICH WAS DELICIOUS. Seriously, SO GOOD! I also thought the hammocks available for guests was an awesome touch, and had a great time playing with the cat (who was very sweet and approachable, but i forget her name), and dog, Scamp (who is a VERY good boy!), so pet lovers, take note.

I would not recommend Asylum for families or older folks looking for something a little quieter and more luxurious, but if you're looking to party, meet other travelers, and generally have a great stay in Cairns on a budget, definitely head to Asylum.

Room Tip: They're probably all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leads UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

I wish I had read these reviews before staying here. 1 week we were booked in for, but left after 1 night (and I feel like I should receive an achievement award just for this). I don't understand how they can call themselves a 'hostel' when they can only just provide the most basic of facilities.

It starts with reception, well a reception 'area', that's not actually indoors, in fact it's just on a concrete slab underneath an old house. They don't even have a computer for bookings, they just use a novelty sized book and physically pencil in each reservation. To close at night they just rope an old tarp around the base of the house and toe it off at the pool fence.

The whole place screams South American favela, though sadly without all the pretty colours. There isn't enough time in the world to list everything that is appalling about this hostel, so bullet points will have to suffice;

- The mattresses were plastic, we had to baby wipe them down
- The windows were jammed open and the curtain/old sarong didn't cover them
-there was a hole in our roof, and tiles missing on the floor
- room mate below me was having incredibly loud drunken sex
- the bathroom sink was actually set onto of 6 cinder building blocks
- the pool was full of a mixture of dirt, cans and general pool slime
- bunch of me. Drinking below our room, literally all night. I had to pass them and their 100s of empty beer bottles, and 7am on my way to the kitchen.

$21 per night was far too much to pay for this place, how has fair trading not shut them down already?

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My friends and I stayed here while doing our PADI course and I would definitely not recommend it. The people running it seemed really out of it. The facilities were dirty and run down. We found cockroaches in our room and they made us put deposits down for every item used at the hostel. Including cookware, dishes and utensils. Our food was stolen from the fridges in the kitchen and the staff would go into our rooms without our knowledge. The event staff would make it really inconvenient for non partiers by closing down all the facilities including reception and the kitchen when throwing their weekly parties.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Me and my friend stayed for 5 nights while I had family visiting in the area. It is by far the worst hostel we have stayed in in 7 months of travelling! The place is a dump, its unclean and the rooms are like cells. We asked to move rooms, as one of the workers, who stayed in our room smelled so bad I couldn't sleep. To which the owner seemed annoyed by despite this meaning we would be paying more money as they could only fit us in to a smaller room. After this the staff were rude and unwelcoming to us. The kitchen did seem clean however, far cleanwr than either of the rooms we slept in, but as mentioned below was closed early on the hostels organised night out (which we didn't take part in). All in all for not much more money there are much better, cleaner places to stay. AVOID THIS PLACE!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

On arrival the hostel looked ok but when we got shown to are rooms it was a different story. This room was like a prison cell and smelled so bad that we only ever went in to sleep and even then the smell was that bad it was impossible to sleep. Most of the staff was very rude and the locals that are always sat outside drinking are just weird and creepy with the girls.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Very rude stuff ever, not the backpackers who work there. Who are the owners asian couple and their son just so rude and all their think is about money. There are too many backpacker hostels around just try to avoid this one ! Too many old guys who lives there and if you are couple or coming the places with someone you meet. they just start sexual jokes about ur girl friend and you. Owners dont care as long as they are getting paid. Too many bedbugs and rooms are so dirty, if you want to change to sheets you have to paid for it. Pool is full of dirt, wash machines and dryers doesnt work properly but at least they dont wash the sheets in their washer. Only one just good thing about there which is people i meet there

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel

Address: 149 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.