We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In The Asylum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel

Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel to your Saves list
Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel
149 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Newcastleton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“In The Asylum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here for only 2 night as I was flying to Darwin afterwards. It was a pretty nice place, but much more suited to people who are into partying all week. I arrived on Tuesday, which is like the big Asylum night out. The room was pretty cluttered, with people leaving their stuff all over the place. But on the plus side, there was free breakfast, free internet, and the staff were great, and really easy to talk too. But best of all, the dorm I stayed in was only $13 per night :)

Room Tip: Bigger dorms are cheaper but very cluttered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    10
    8
    20
See reviews for
1
15
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I booked in for 3 nights here (our first 3 nights in upon entering Australia). We booked here as it was easily the cheapest place we could find after searching on Hostel World and Hostel Bookers. It said it was a party hostel and it certainly lived up to its word. Although we’re not exactly looking for that kind of thing, and as it happens, I was ill at the time of our stay, it wasn’t so crazy that it was a problem for us. Everyone is very friendly there, and, as in a lot of east coast Oz hostels there were a few live-in people who were working in and around the area. Free breakfast every morning (which is actually just cornflakes – but that’s fine) and free tea and coffee all day. The wifi and internet use Is a bit pricey but in line with many of the Queensland hostels. It has a good sized kitchen in which to cook meals and there is a decent sized Coles supermarket just a short walk away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I spent more than 3 months at the asylum! And I loved it!
The atmosphere is just amazing, great people, great staff, amazing nights out, nice bbqs!
It's definitely not the cleanest place, but everything else totally makes up for that! It just makes you feel like home :)
I MISS YOU ASYLUM!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

staying this place prompted me to start using trip advisor. i wish id read the reveiews here before booking but happened to come across a flyer for the place before we landed... saw the location was central and took it from there.
bed bugs. bad attitude. super drunk roomies. dirty dirty dirty. i've heard crazy stories from people since leaving this dump and can't say it loud enough - dont stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

i have been travelling and backpacking through south east asia and australia for 13 months and this place is by far the most disgusting place i have ever stayed!! The only positive is that the staff we pretty friendly, and it is quite a good place to meet people if you are travelling alone but apart from that its the most awful place i have ever stayed. It may be cheap, but there are plenty of other hostels just as cheap as this one in Cairns and they are a lot closer to the cbd and aren't disgusting and dirty! My bedroom was gross, people has there crap everywhere, there were really small lockers that were infested with mould and rust so i didnt even touch them not that they would've been much use anyway, the room stank, it smelt so bad and didnt go away the whole time i was there, the air con didnt work properly and the one time we actually tried to make it work and put it on the owner came round and told us to turn it off during the day because she obviously wants to save money, the cheek, what does she think we are paying for? because it certainly wasnt a great room at great value. My mattress was covered is dirt and mould, and the beds are SO squeaky, you actually feel like they are about to collapse, also one night when i stayed in on my laptop, rain was hitting the roof hard, and there was mould falling from the celling right above me (i was on top bunk) onto the keys of my laptop! Peole were constantly having sex in the rooms and there was always a lot of noise (which i actually wouldnt usually complain about but it just made a bad experience a whole lot worse). The bathrooms were flooded when i got there so i could only use the outdoor bathrooms, which were disgusting, i would actually save going to the toilet in a public place because it was bound to be far more pleasant than going at assylum. The kitchen was quite well equipped i give it that, but was dirty, washing up was never done properly, and the kettle, toaster and fridges didnt work!

I like drinking and going out and socialising, but doing it every single night just isnt my thing, it doesnt really appeal to me, but after being invitied out a couple of times i felt rude declining and thought i may aswell try it, so i joined in on the 'mad monday' night they do, (the only good thing that came of this was the free internet) we went to woolshed and had a meal, pretty basic but pasta and sauce and then we did get some free drinks after, which is good, but everyone was wearing the same assylum t-shirt, and jumping on tables doing stupid things and chating and stuff and i was just embarassed, everyone else in the bar was constantly staring, i felt like an idiot being with them, i felt like i was 16 years old again and part of like a summer camp or a school trip after my GCSE's, and i wasnt the only one who felt like that, so i decided to bail on the night after about an hour and returned back to the hostel. I left the next day after staying there for 4 nights, i must admit that i did start to get used to the place a bit more after a couple of nights but once i left i realised i shouldn't have had to put up with such bad conditions, especially after i moved to another hostel right in the center of the cty, which was $13 a night and so clean and spacious with a lot more facilities!

I know this is a pretty harsh review, and i really am not some snobby stuck up girl who cant rough it or handle a bit of dirt, but asslyum was just a new level of dirty and unhygenic and i just cant beieve that they expect people to pay to stay in such poor conditions. I wouldn't reccommend this place to anyone unless they change, there are plenty of other cheap places you can stay in Cairns.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Asylum was a blast! It was so much fun, do not go here if you want quiet. The staff are amazing, so much fun. This is a very social hostel, great hostel for first time travelers too. The best thing is the price, you cant beat it. Overall, fantastic! www.asylumhostelcairns.com

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012 via mobile

Great Place! Great People!
Recommend to all Backpackers great price for $12 including breakfast and dinner!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel

Address: 149 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asylum Cairns Backpacker Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.