We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments to your Saves list
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   267 Lake Street | cnr of Lake & Charles Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Darwin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spacious and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were really happy with this 1 night of accommodation. The room was extremely spacious and had the added benefit of a verandah with a 2 seat outdoor setting which we enjoyed for our morning coffee. The hotel is quite old and has certainly not been updated for some years however it was clean and bright and provided everything we needed. Not luxurious but pleasant, comfortable and good value for $120 per night.

Room Tip: We loved the ground floor verandah onto the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    73
    20
    17
    6
See reviews for
46
44
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Couldn't ask for a better hotel. Rooms are a very good size to suit the needs of all guests. There are many facilities which come in handy especially washing and kettle facilities. The pool and sunbathing area is nice and clean and there is plenty of room. We didn't eat in the hotel as there is a nice pub (the cock and Bull) just down the road where you can get reasonably priced meals that are massive in size. All the staff in the hotel are polite too which is very important as its always nice to be greated with and smile and a hello. I would defiantly stay here again and fully recommend it to anyone thinking of booking this hotel. (And it takes a lot to impress me normally so this hotel has excelled itself).

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Tex1995

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Cairns Queenslander and we look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Kind Regards,

Stani Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

The room was cool, clean and handy to everything you needed. It had it's own restaurant for Brekkie and Dinner. Recommended for all. Has 2 swimming pools and a BBQ as well. No time for BBQ.To much sight seeing to swim and cook. We ate as we looked around.

Room Tip: We were located on the ground floor hardly any noise, at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Vettegirls2

Thank you for your review. On behalf of all the team at the Cairns Queenslander & Steak on Lake Restaurant we are happy you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Stani T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

I had a suite. This gave me lots more room and a view out to digger street and the mountains. By far this is the preferable location. If you look on to Lake Street, it's a busy street for traffic but nothing else. A few blocks for shops.

Given Cairns is hot and not well-shaded, then then this is just a bit too far from the main cbd to walk, unless early in the morning or in the evening.. It took me 4 days to realise I could catch buses from across the road at the hospital. I wish I'd known earlier.

The counter staff are friendly and helpful, if only to answer what you ask.

So why a poor rating? Primarily because I was there in low season. Lots of spare rooms. But also the time the hotel decided to renovate rooms with heavy drills, hammers and sanders. In the rooms adjacent and above me. Unbelievable that they could do so. I complained and was told I could be moved to a smaller room. Either way I get to miss out.

Secondly, my room had a small kitchenette. I obviously washed up but the cleaning staff who appeared daily only changed towels and soaps. Absolutely no cleaning. And for people like me (and half the Asian population) who takes shoes off when you come into a tiled room, forget it. The staff don't take their shoes off. And I was here for 5 days. I think a quick mop up could have been the least they did.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Gypsy Christina

Thank you for your review. Most certainly I'm surprised that you would have chosen accommodation that you had no idea of its location, as you now know we are located in the close proximity of Cairns Esplanade parklands away from the hustle and bustle of the inner city nightlife. In regard to taking self-catering accommodation and your floor cleaning issue, you would have discovered within your room we provide a dustpan & brush to use at your convenience. In regard to room move, I can assure you no room on the property is small and in hindsight it would have been good if you had taken the time to view that room, I apologise our staff member had inappropriately described that alternative room incorrectly. Thank you so much for mentioning our staff are friendly and helpful, this is something we pride ourselves on.

Overall I trust you enjoyed your visit to Cairns and will return again soon.

Kind regards

Stani T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Check In was a breeze and the Staff were very Friendly. Parking was close and the room was just a stone throws away.

The room was spacious, had fans and a balcony. The fittings were average but in fairly good condition. The bead was nice and firm, so I got a great nights sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for the back of the Hotel away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi Daniel B

Thanks for the review. Most certainly that’s what the Cairns Queenslander is all about, friendly staff, comfortable, affordable accommodation. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Stani T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

we enjoyed our stay was in a great place nice and close to shops bars resturants staff were helpful freash towels everyday was great having aircon and fans in the room just one minor problem with the cleaner leaving our door open after serviceing the room and the pool furniture a bit shabby but we enjoyed our time there nice clean rooms

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear 709charliebrown

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your honeymoon stay at the Cairns Queenslander. We look forward to welcoming you back on your many wedding anniversaries.

Kind regards
Stani T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Just stayed four nights. We had two recently refurbished rooms, spacious and well equipped. Clean hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, stunning steaks and a good breakfast in the restaurant. A few local shops and eateries, 100 metres from the sea front. Around 20 mins walk to town centre. We had a great time. Piper family, Devon England and Sidney NSW, Aus.

Room Tip: We had the back building of the two, second (top) floor. It was titled a 'budget' room but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, March 15, 2015
Thank you very much Ced P for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Cairns Queenslander. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and providing guests with affordable accommodation and excellent cuisine at our restaurant 'Steak on Lake' . We do hope you will find the time to visit us again.

Kind regards

Stani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments

Address: 267 Lake Street | cnr of Lake & Charles Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cairns Queenslander is one of Cairns most popular accommodation & restaurant properties and is your ideal comfortable base from which to discover the surrounding natural beauty of the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Property location is ideally situated within easy walking distance to the Cairns Esplanade waterfront, numerous restaurants, convenience shopping and for our corporate clientele close to Cairns Central Business District. Conveniently divided into two separate buildings, you're offered a superb choice of accommodation options. The east wing provides AAA rated 4 Stars (DELUXE) modern contemporary designed hotel rooms, one & two bedroom serviced apartments. Separated by undercover walkway is our west wing AAA rated 3.5 Stars (STANDARD) traditional Queenslander style suites & family two bedroom serviced apartments. All guest rooms are styled for comfort and your convenience; include air-conditioning, ceiling fans, refrigerators, flat-panel TV, FREE Wi-Fi access and your very own private balcony where you can sit out and enjoy Cairns tropical climate. We also certainly take your health and wellbeing seriously; bedroom mattresses and pillows prior to your arrival have been naturally sanitized using the 'Sleep Easy' revolutionary cleaning system. Property features include two swimming pools, 24 hours manned reception, on-site car parking and Cairns favourite char-grill restaurant (Steak on Lake) open daily for breakfast & dinner. Excellent location: the Cairns Queenslander is ideally situated only a short stroll to the North Esplanade parklands, from there you can enjoy a pleasurable walk along the Esplanade walking track (enormous variety of native birdlife, including wild pelicans & lorikeets can be seen daily) towards the lagoon swimming pool and heart of the city. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you. Enjoy Your Stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Queenslander Apartments Hotel Cairns
Queenslander Hotel Cairns
Cairns Queenslander Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.