We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments

Save Saved
You added Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   267 Lake Street | cnr of Lake & Charles Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here back in July 2013 for 10 nights, reception staff were very helpful and went out of there way to book us many activities. We ate dinner in the restaurant every night and were looked after extremely well with excellent food. The room was clean and well kept but I do advise to keep your doors locked at night as the people above us were broken into one night. We did have a couple of noisy nights with people running around and banging doors but I reported this to reception and it soon ceased. I did want to stay there for our next trip but unfortunately they were not able to accommodate us this year. All in all it is a great hotel and would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Cairns.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms facing Digger street, nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    48
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
28
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week and found to be clean and comfortable. Our room is obviously one of the last to be renovated. Location is not too far from cdb and is quiet. Access to hotel so good and staff are quite friendly and helpful.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have just returned from a 9 day trip and had a great time staying at the Cairns Queenslander. It was afordable, i block from beach esplanade and we had the lovely clean pool to ourselves on many occasions. Our room was serviced daily ( we did not expect this for the price) with a washing machine and dryer. Sitting on the balcony was perfect and only a $10.00 taxi into city. Car parking for hire car and friendly service always.

Room Tip: pay a little extra for refurbished rooms over looking the pool. Top floor for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here for four nights, we had a large room including a settee and dresser. Large shower room. Shame that there was no free Wifi.
Had breakfast at the hotel on four mornings, good selection of food and the hot food was cooked to order which was a welcome change. Very well run kitchen by a very hard working team.
Hotel very close to the seafront and a pleasant 20 minute stroll into the vibrant city of Cairns.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place. If you want five star, go somewhere else and pay for it. This was immaculately clean, adequately furnished and quite comfortable. It is a good 20 minute walk into town but you can clearly see this on any map. If you choose not to walk, you can hire a car, walk about three minutes to the bus stop ($3.90 one way) or jump in a cab for about $10.

The air conditioning and ceiling fans worked well, the shower was hot and the bed was comfy. I was able to arrange tours and was picked up and dropped off at the front door. There was a grocery store, bottle shop and various take away outlets within an easy 3-4 minute walk and the apartments are located one street from the Esplanade. I swam in one of the two pools and it was sparkling clean.

I enjoyed dinner in the restaurant on three occasions and found the food to be more than acceptable, if a little expensive. The convenience was worth the price. The waitress was friendly and after the first night she remembered my drink order.

There were a couple of tiny, little issues. The apartment is under the flight path, but this didn't bother me at all. I had no intentions of cooking meals, but there was no stove/oven- only a small microwave. If you're travelling with your family and want to be able to cook, check this prior to booking.

Other than that, go for it! If I ever return to Cairns I would be more than happy to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This place was just fine as a place to stay after arriving late at Cairns airport and setting off the next day for Port Douglas. Good price. Close to the airport. Block from the beach and nice walk to downtown Cairns for cafes. Friendly front office.

We were in the back building and there were a few issues -- old and moldy air conditioner in the second bedroom. Second bedroom had a large window onto a walkway with a very bright light that was on all night. Made it difficult to sleep in that room. Mattresses were comfy and seemed new, but the lack of mattress pads made me wonder about how clean the mattresses were.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Definitely not a 4 star somewhere between 2 and 3. Front desk staff very nice but 1 restaurant worker for breakfast quite rude. Breakfast available was fine , don't recommend eating there for dinner. There was mold on the grout in bathroom , didn't look like had been really cleaned in a while.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Bruski23

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. I’m sorry to read that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations.

We have been recognised by the majority of TripAdvisor reviewers, as one of the hotels in Cairns with the friendliest and most helpful staff, we are very proud to receive this recognition. With regard to your issues mentioned we certainly would have really appreciated a reasonable opportunity to correct any issue during your stay.

Cairns as you would no doubt agree is a truly wonderful holiday experience with so much to do and see, we do hope you will return to far north Queensland again in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments

Address: 267 Lake Street | cnr of Lake & Charles Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cairns Queenslander is one of Cairns most popular accommodation & restaurant properties and is your ideal comfortable base from which to discover the surrounding natural beauty of the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Property location is ideally situated within easy walking distance to the Cairns Esplanade waterfront, numerous restaurants, convenience shopping and for our corporate clientele close to Cairns Central Business District. Conveniently divided into two separate buildings, you’re offered a superb choice of accommodation options. The east wing provides AAA rated 4 Stars (DELUXE) modern contemporary designed hotel rooms, one & two bedroom serviced apartments. Separated by undercover walkway is our west wing AAA rated 3.5 stars (STANDARD) traditional Queenslander style suites & family two bedroom serviced apartments. All guest rooms are styled for comfort and your convenience; include air-conditioning, ceiling fans, refrigerators, flat-panel TV, Wi-Fi access and your very own private balcony where you can sit out and enjoy Cairns tropical climate. We also certainly take your health and wellbeing seriously; bedroom mattresses and pillows prior to your arrival have been naturally sanitized using the 'Sleep Easy' revolutionary cleaning system. Property features include two swimming pools, 24 hours manned reception, on-site car parking and Cairns favourite char-grill restaurant (Steak on Lake) open daily for breakfast & dinner. Excellent location: the Cairns Queenslander is ideally situated only a short stroll to the North Esplanade parklands, from there you can enjoy a pleasurable walk along the Esplanade walking track (enormous variety of native birdlife, including wild pelicans & lorikeets can be seen daily) towards the lagoon swimming pool and heart of the city. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you. Enjoy Your Stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Queenslander Apartments Hotel Cairns
Queenslander Hotel Cairns
Cairns Queenslander Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.