We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient Location & Spacious Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments to your Saves list
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   267 Lake Street | cnr of Lake & Charles Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Washington, DC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Convenient Location & Spacious Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Just north of the downtown area, and a very short drive from the airport, this hotel location was a short walk from everything to see and do in Cairns. Very large room with lovely patio area, two pools and enjoyed the food at the restaurant onsite.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    66
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
39
40
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bribie Island, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I was part of a group of over 30 people who arrived here 29th October.
First impressions, reception was lovely, welcoming, clean and airy.
My room was spacious and clean, great pillows altho I personally found the bed uncomfortable, but that may be just me.
Reception was very helpful, which I appreciated.
Air conditioning worked well.
Restaurant food was more than adequate. Only wish there was a communal place to gather, outside of dining area, even at the bar, there was nowhere for friends to mingle, but I don't really see there is room for this.
Overall a lovely hotel, bit too far from the centre of town for me, but as a tour group with coaches picking us up each day, this did not really impact on my time too much, altho when I visit Cairns again independently, I will opt for a place nearer the centre as it really is too hot to be walking sans backpace.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

There are two parts to the Queenslander: First there is the hotel, the rooms, the facilities and there is the great service from the three wonderful girls at reception, Narelle, Stanni and Pamela.

The rooms are very spacious, no complaints. There is also a pool (or maybe 2) but seriously you didn't come to Cairns to sit in a pool, our days were chock full of the day trips. We missed breakfast both days because of our tours and flight so can't comment on that. For the price, I cannot say the rooms are outstanding or anything but they are definitely fine. The location is very good indeed with a grocery store within walking distance that stays open late and the cock and bull pub which has a wonderful environment and deserves its own review. So in terms of just hotel, I would give it 3 stars.

However, the reason I am giving the Queenslander 4 stars is because of the amazingly friendly and helpful people at reception. They have really redefined what I expect from any hotel reception, as they just blew me away. As great as Stani and Pamela was though, it would be very wrong if I didn't single out Narelle, who is a wonder woman, juggling 10 guests, while planning out our tours, marking out our maps, giving directions on where to go and where to eat and what not!

Negatives, not too many, but I definitely did not like the daily cleaning which I believe only fixes the bed and nothing else. Worst of all, our tea cups were not cleaned which is a first for me in any hotel.

Overall, definitely recommended in this price range and I hope you have as good a time as I did in Cairns, one of the best tourist destinations I have been to.

Room Tip: To go to the grocery store or the cock and bull pub, go directly through the hotel rather than go ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a pleasant hotel located about 15-20 minutes outside the centre of Perth. The room was comfortable and the Reception staff very friendly and helpful. The only slight negative was the hotel restaurant, which didn't cater for wheat intloerant people like me (apart from steak). Breakfast is another matter, though, and the lady in charge kindly provided me with gluten free bread for my toast each morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We arrived mid October to be greeted by a very friendly reception who were both informative and polite. We stayed for 8 nights in a room that was spaceous and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and the combination of both air conditioning and ceiling fan made sleeping on warm nights easy. The small resturant next to recption serves a good section of breakfast options from light to full Ausie. We dined in a couple of evenings and the ribs and steaks were first class. The centre of town is a good 10 to 15 minute walk along the esponade where there are a large selection of resturants and bars. There is also a great pub/eating house called the Cock & Bull just around the corner serving very good food and drink at very good prices, if you do not want to walk too far. Would strongly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights during october with our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 kids) in a two bedroomed apartment and it was brilliant. Quiet, clean and modern. The pool was great, nice little restaurant downstairs and helpful staff in reception at all times.

Room Tip: We booked a deluxe two bedroom apartment which as separately keyed, so effectively the kids had thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werribee, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We recently stayed here and on arrival was greeted by the receptionist(narrelle) who was very helpful and supplied us with all the information we neededie mps location of supermarket etc etc.When we got to room it was well presented clean and tidy.Had a meal in restaurant one evening and couldnt fault the food.The only downside of our stay was on first day reported spa not working in pool and this wasn't fixed for remainder of our stay(4 days).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CQ_ManagementTeam, Manager at Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Brendan a
Thank you for taking the time to review the Cairns Queenslander.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time here and found our staff most welcoming. Narelle was delighted to read she was able to assist you during your stay with us. The spa integrated within our main swimming pool near reception continues to be fully operational, however, our second swimming pool may appear to have an adjoining spa, however, this is actually a children's wading pool, we believe it was this small pool which your comment was related. I do apologise that we did not make you aware of this fact during your stay. Once again we thank you for staying with us and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the Cairns Queenslander in the not too distant future.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments

Address: 267 Lake Street | cnr of Lake & Charles Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cairns Queenslander is one of Cairns most popular accommodation & restaurant properties and is your ideal comfortable base from which to discover the surrounding natural beauty of the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Property location is ideally situated within easy walking distance to the Cairns Esplanade waterfront, numerous restaurants, convenience shopping and for our corporate clientele close to Cairns Central Business District. Conveniently divided into two separate buildings, you're offered a superb choice of accommodation options. The east wing provides AAA rated 4 Stars (DELUXE) modern contemporary designed hotel rooms, one & two bedroom serviced apartments. Separated by undercover walkway is our west wing AAA rated 3.5 Stars (STANDARD) traditional Queenslander style suites & family two bedroom serviced apartments. All guest rooms are styled for comfort and your convenience; include air-conditioning, ceiling fans, refrigerators, flat-panel TV, FREE Wi-Fi access and your very own private balcony where you can sit out and enjoy Cairns tropical climate. We also certainly take your health and wellbeing seriously; bedroom mattresses and pillows prior to your arrival have been naturally sanitized using the 'Sleep Easy' revolutionary cleaning system. Property features include two swimming pools, 24 hours manned reception, on-site car parking and Cairns favourite char-grill restaurant (Steak on Lake) open daily for breakfast & dinner. Excellent location: the Cairns Queenslander is ideally situated only a short stroll to the North Esplanade parklands, from there you can enjoy a pleasurable walk along the Esplanade walking track (enormous variety of native birdlife, including wild pelicans & lorikeets can be seen daily) towards the lagoon swimming pool and heart of the city. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you. Enjoy Your Stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Queenslander Apartments Hotel Cairns
Queenslander Hotel Cairns
Cairns Queenslander Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.