We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Our Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments to your Saves list
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   267 Lake Street | cnr of Lake & Charles Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My friend and I booked in to these apartments on 16 March 2013 for 6 nights. The location was about 3 minutes walk form the waterfront and about 15 minutes form the marina. The rooms was more than adequate for our needs. It was spacious and clean, with a kitchen area which allowed us to prepare meals if we wanted. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant on two evenings and enjoyed the food.... try the ribs, they are great. The prices were reasonable and much better value that many of the Esplanade restaurants. Previous reviews have described this hotel as tired. I would say that it could benefit from a bit of painting in some areas, in particular around the laundry areas, but the rest of the amenities more than made up for this. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    59
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
36
35
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have arrived at 8 am,the check in was from 2pm,but the room was waiting for us already.We have stayed at Hibiscus room,the room was very spacious,full of light,clean,very comfortable bed.Restaurant was amasing,especially the little lady cheff(sorry,but forgot her name),her hamburgers were to die for.Great location,just 15min stroll to the city on the most amazing esplanade,supermarket just around the corner and bus stop.There is no words to compliment the staff,especially Rebeca& Narrele,there was no job to big or small,or request those two were more than happy to do.Great place,we definatelly will be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Arrived very early (4am), friendly greeting and they were ready and waiting for us. Room was perfect for our needs as a place to crash after a flight and before our journey to port Douglas. Beds were clean, comfy and big. Room was spacious and bathroom was spotless. Highly recommend for people who are active and just need a base. Not for romantic getaways or laying by the pool. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A service apartment with good location and helpful reception. It is located on the main street of Cairns and near airport. Easy parking if you drive yourself. The reception is very friendly. Our booking was through agent and only showed 2 adults in his record. When he saw we're a family with 10-year old child, he changed a family room (with a seperate bed for child) to us. Also he gave us a lot of travel information/ advices. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We are a family of 4adults. We had booked here for 5 nights, the room we were given 'mimosa' was outdated and very small there were bunk beds in the second hotel for my 2 adult children!, we upgraded to the new block of apartments and they were amazing. Had 2 rooms with own connecting lobby. Very spacious, would recommend theses. The hotel was a little way out if the busy part but a nice 10min walk. There is a supermarket round the corner which was very handy

Room Tip: Upgrade to the new block of the hotel well worth 20 dollars a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Firstly the customer service was excellent especially the lady at reception she was very friendly and had guided well for places to see around. and her recommendation to do reef magic was spot on

Accomodation was decent quiet spacious for 4 people..highly recommend this if staying longer. Glad we stayed here...quiet good walk to city as well

Only if they keep their rooms more cleaner it would have been much better

Room Tip: for four people we stayed in 2 bedroom frangipani...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

1.5km to the central walk about 30 mins for us acceptable, helpful staff.
All room fasilities was extremely old and looks not clean, the air con were nosie and dusty, for this price I was disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments

Address: 267 Lake Street | cnr of Lake & Charles Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cairns Queenslander is one of Cairns most popular accommodation & restaurant properties and is your ideal comfortable base from which to discover the surrounding natural beauty of the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Property location is ideally situated within easy walking distance to the Cairns Esplanade waterfront, numerous restaurants, convenience shopping and for our corporate clientele close to Cairns Central Business District. Conveniently divided into two separate buildings, you’re offered a superb choice of accommodation options. The east wing provides AAA rated 4 Stars (DELUXE) modern contemporary designed hotel rooms, one & two bedroom serviced apartments. Separated by undercover walkway is our west wing AAA rated 3.5 stars (STANDARD) traditional Queenslander style suites & family two bedroom serviced apartments. All guest rooms are styled for comfort and your convenience; include air-conditioning, ceiling fans, refrigerators, flat-panel TV, Wi-Fi access and your very own private balcony where you can sit out and enjoy Cairns tropical climate. We also certainly take your health and wellbeing seriously; bedroom mattresses and pillows prior to your arrival have been naturally sanitized using the 'Sleep Easy' revolutionary cleaning system. Property features include two swimming pools, 24 hours manned reception, on-site car parking and Cairns favourite char-grill restaurant (Steak on Lake) open daily for breakfast & dinner. Excellent location: the Cairns Queenslander is ideally situated only a short stroll to the North Esplanade parklands, from there you can enjoy a pleasurable walk along the Esplanade walking track (enormous variety of native birdlife, including wild pelicans & lorikeets can be seen daily) towards the lagoon swimming pool and heart of the city. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you. Enjoy Your Stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Queenslander Apartments Hotel Cairns
Queenslander Hotel Cairns
Cairns Queenslander Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.