We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and simplistic at half the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments

Save Saved
You added Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   267 Lake Street | cnr of Lake & Charles Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Modern and simplistic at half the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Arrived very early (4am), friendly greeting and they were ready and waiting for us. Room was perfect for our needs as a place to crash after a flight and before our journey to port Douglas. Beds were clean, comfy and big. Room was spacious and bathroom was spotless. Highly recommend for people who are active and just need a base. Not for romantic getaways or laying by the pool. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    46
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
26
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A service apartment with good location and helpful reception. It is located on the main street of Cairns and near airport. Easy parking if you drive yourself. The reception is very friendly. Our booking was through agent and only showed 2 adults in his record. When he saw we're a family with 10-year old child, he changed a family room (with a seperate bed for child) to us. Also he gave us a lot of travel information/ advices. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We are a family of 4adults. We had booked here for 5 nights, the room we were given 'mimosa' was outdated and very small there were bunk beds in the second hotel for my 2 adult children!, we upgraded to the new block of apartments and they were amazing. Had 2 rooms with own connecting lobby. Very spacious, would recommend theses. The hotel was a little way out if the busy part but a nice 10min walk. There is a supermarket round the corner which was very handy

Room Tip: Upgrade to the new block of the hotel well worth 20 dollars a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Firstly the customer service was excellent especially the lady at reception she was very friendly and had guided well for places to see around. and her recommendation to do reef magic was spot on

Accomodation was decent quiet spacious for 4 people..highly recommend this if staying longer. Glad we stayed here...quiet good walk to city as well

Only if they keep their rooms more cleaner it would have been much better

Room Tip: for four people we stayed in 2 bedroom frangipani...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

1.5km to the central walk about 30 mins for us acceptable, helpful staff.
All room fasilities was extremely old and looks not clean, the air con were nosie and dusty, for this price I was disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It's obvious that this is an older hotel, but my fiance and I still really enjoyed our stay. The room was huge! It had a queen bed, a twin bed, kitchen area with sink and mini fridge, and a kitchen table. It was the most spacious of any room we had during our visit to Australia. It was clean but nothing fancy. The staff was courteous and helpful. Washer and dryer units are also available on site. It's location isn't ideal, but Cairns is not a big city so nothing is too far away. It's a little out of the way from the downtown area with the bars and restaurants but if you're ok with this, I'd recommend checking it out. Overall, for the price, this place was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the CQ for 4 nights and was our first trip to australia and it was an enjoyable stay.

When we arrived we were met by David on reception who was really welcoming and helpful showing that nothing was too much trouble and was happy to point out local amenities to locations and also call tour operators for us which was very beneficial as we felt a little list when we arrived.

Location is about a 20 minute walk to town via the esplanade which leads you to the town centre and the lagoon.

David suggested a pub a block away to eat as was cheap because we are travelling called the cock and bull and it did not disappoint - the portions were gigantic and we had a kangaroo and croc combo so was great.

There is a supermarket 5 minutes away along with some take aways so was perfect for us as australia is much more expensive compared to the uk.

From the airport it is 5 minutes in a cab and costs about £13.

Rooms are big and have a tv on the wall with lots of channels, there is an iron and kettle etc and the bed is huge.

A big thanks to David again who made our stay enjoyable.

Thanks CQ

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments

Address: 267 Lake Street | cnr of Lake & Charles Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cairns Queenslander is one of Cairns most popular accommodation & restaurant properties and is your ideal comfortable base from which to discover the surrounding natural beauty of the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Property location is ideally situated within easy walking distance to the Cairns Esplanade waterfront, numerous restaurants, convenience shopping and for our corporate clientele close to Cairns Central Business District. Conveniently divided into two separate buildings, you’re offered a superb choice of accommodation options. The east wing provides AAA rated 4 Stars (DELUXE) modern contemporary designed hotel rooms, one & two bedroom serviced apartments. Separated by undercover walkway is our west wing AAA rated 3.5 stars (STANDARD) traditional Queenslander style suites & family two bedroom serviced apartments. All guest rooms are styled for comfort and your convenience; include air-conditioning, ceiling fans, refrigerators, flat-panel TV, Wi-Fi access and your very own private balcony where you can sit out and enjoy Cairns tropical climate. We also certainly take your health and wellbeing seriously; bedroom mattresses and pillows prior to your arrival have been naturally sanitized using the 'Sleep Easy' revolutionary cleaning system. Property features include two swimming pools, 24 hours manned reception, on-site car parking and Cairns favourite char-grill restaurant (Steak on Lake) open daily for breakfast & dinner. Excellent location: the Cairns Queenslander is ideally situated only a short stroll to the North Esplanade parklands, from there you can enjoy a pleasurable walk along the Esplanade walking track (enormous variety of native birdlife, including wild pelicans & lorikeets can be seen daily) towards the lagoon swimming pool and heart of the city. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you. Enjoy Your Stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Queenslander Apartments Hotel Cairns
Queenslander Hotel Cairns
Cairns Queenslander Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.