We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments to your Saves list
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   267 Lake Street | cnr of Lake & Charles Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Midlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the CQ for 4 nights and was our first trip to australia and it was an enjoyable stay.

When we arrived we were met by David on reception who was really welcoming and helpful showing that nothing was too much trouble and was happy to point out local amenities to locations and also call tour operators for us which was very beneficial as we felt a little list when we arrived.

Location is about a 20 minute walk to town via the esplanade which leads you to the town centre and the lagoon.

David suggested a pub a block away to eat as was cheap because we are travelling called the cock and bull and it did not disappoint - the portions were gigantic and we had a kangaroo and croc combo so was great.

There is a supermarket 5 minutes away along with some take aways so was perfect for us as australia is much more expensive compared to the uk.

From the airport it is 5 minutes in a cab and costs about £13.

Rooms are big and have a tv on the wall with lots of channels, there is an iron and kettle etc and the bed is huge.

A big thanks to David again who made our stay enjoyable.

Thanks CQ

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    66
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
39
40
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We arrived in Cairns the night after the solar eclipse, accommodation was scarce, we had been booked into a property which was totally unsuitable.
A phone call to Dave at Cairns Queenslander resulted in us changing our accommodation for our 3 night stay in Cairns. Our studio unit was large, had a very comfortable super king bed, excellent ensuite facilities, refurbished unit, complimentary light breakfast, easy walk into the centre of Cairns and very helpful staff.
A terrific, great value stay, we highly recommend Cairns Queenslander to you for your next stay in Cairns

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A group of us stayed in a connected 2 bedroom self contained apartment. It was 2 rooms with 2 sofa beds. The rooms were clean (cleaned every day with fresh towels), the AC was good, we had unlimited use of the washer in our unit and the bathrooms were nice. It was also very quiet once the doors were closed.

We ate dinner at the restaurant downstairs and the food was decent. Room service was also fast and efficient. We all had a good 4 night stay and had no problems with the hotel. Front desk was also very helpful during check in and check out. Our only minor discomfort was that the beds in the rooms were actually not 2 people beds but 2 1-person beds squeezed together and maybe glued together or something? There's a somewhat uncomfortable bump in the middle of both beds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in november 2012 for seven nights in jasmin room. Very clean recently renovated. Ok size for our family with two small kids. Was a little noisy as it was near restaraunt and recrption but got quieter after about ten pm. Location was ok as far from centre of cairns as i would stay without car about 25 minute walk. Front section is newer than back section so check first. Only issue we had was our little boy cut himself in shower as it had sharp edge around tiles hopefully situation gets fixed for future holidayers. Right next to hospital though he needed staples and ambulance ride he thought it was bus tour . Would recommend if you are on budget . Staff were freindly especially restaurant lady manager as we had breakfast each morning so all round good value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Excellent sized room with most comfortable bed of any hotel used on tour of Australia. Laundry facilities available which were needed after 3 weeks away from home. staff extremely friendly and very helpful.

Located a good walk from city center, but only a couple of minutes away from the esplanade.

Ideal touring location for a visit to the Great Barrier Reef and Atherton Table mountains.

Did not sample food in hotel, however good selection of take aways close by and a good pub selling "large" portion meals within 10 minutes walking distance.

Would have liked a longer stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Enjoyed a lovely 3 night stay in a hibiscus 1 bedroom apartment. The complex benefits from 24 hour reception desk, useful because our flight meant we arrived just before midnight. In a great location, walking distance from the esplanade and harbour. The apartment was a great size, clean and well appointed. The pool was a welcome respite from the Cairns heat. We had a great stay, felt the apartment was great value for money, and would stay there again, if we go back to Cairns.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments

Address: 267 Lake Street | cnr of Lake & Charles Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cairns Queenslander is one of Cairns most popular accommodation & restaurant properties and is your ideal comfortable base from which to discover the surrounding natural beauty of the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Property location is ideally situated within easy walking distance to the Cairns Esplanade waterfront, numerous restaurants, convenience shopping and for our corporate clientele close to Cairns Central Business District. Conveniently divided into two separate buildings, you're offered a superb choice of accommodation options. The east wing provides AAA rated 4 Stars (DELUXE) modern contemporary designed hotel rooms, one & two bedroom serviced apartments. Separated by undercover walkway is our west wing AAA rated 3.5 Stars (STANDARD) traditional Queenslander style suites & family two bedroom serviced apartments. All guest rooms are styled for comfort and your convenience; include air-conditioning, ceiling fans, refrigerators, flat-panel TV, FREE Wi-Fi access and your very own private balcony where you can sit out and enjoy Cairns tropical climate. We also certainly take your health and wellbeing seriously; bedroom mattresses and pillows prior to your arrival have been naturally sanitized using the 'Sleep Easy' revolutionary cleaning system. Property features include two swimming pools, 24 hours manned reception, on-site car parking and Cairns favourite char-grill restaurant (Steak on Lake) open daily for breakfast & dinner. Excellent location: the Cairns Queenslander is ideally situated only a short stroll to the North Esplanade parklands, from there you can enjoy a pleasurable walk along the Esplanade walking track (enormous variety of native birdlife, including wild pelicans & lorikeets can be seen daily) towards the lagoon swimming pool and heart of the city. Our friendly staff look forward to welcoming you. Enjoy Your Stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Queenslander Apartments Hotel Cairns
Queenslander Hotel Cairns
Cairns Queenslander Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.