We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hostel on the East Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travellers Oasis Backpackers to your Saves list
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
8 - 10 Scott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My favourite hostel on the East Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed here for 6 nights which were split between a 3 bed room and a 6 bed room. In each of these I was in a single bed (no bunks!) which is such a luxury. The rooms and hostel were kept very clean. The kitchens were large enough and stocked well enough for the number of guests staying there. What really sets this hostel apart from the rest is the quality of service you receive here. The staff knew my name from the moment I arrived and it really felt like they wanted to make my stay as enjoyable as possible.
The only (very minor) complaints that I have is the charging for the use of the A/C, I would rather the use be unlimited and the cost of the stay slightly more than having to feed coins into the meter. Also, the reception hours are kind of unusual.
Overall, I loved this place and it is definitely my favourite hostel on the East Coast. Stay here if you get the chance!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    89
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
168
219
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My bf and I had a great time at the Travellers Oasis. Our room was comfortable and the deck with a hammock was a wonderful way to relax and take it all in. Helen and the staff were helpful and friendly. While we were only in cairns for 3 days, the staff gave us wonderful recommendations that made our trip a wonderful one. I would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: The deluxe double is a bit more but well worth it for own private oasis. Great for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was my first time in a "hostel" and I think its fair to say it spoiled my future hostel experiences. Like every other review says, this is like staying in someones cozy guest house. The hostel is in a nice quiet area but walking distance to town, the rooms are clean and come with a safe for every bed, and the prices are great. There's also a nice pool, clean, well-equipped kitchens and plenty of space to lounge around. The place has a fun vibe and all the staff members were pleasant and ready to help plan any activities. Every hostel I went to after this place cost WAY more and felt like I was sleeping in the crew quarters of a cargo ship. Traveller's Oasis is truly a budget traveller's dream.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

There isn't a single bad word to say about this hostel.

The staff are very friendly and welcoming. We stayed for a few nights and they helped us and recommended possibly the best trip we did during our stay in Australia.

The rooms are nice and they provide you with towels which is a luxury in hostels! They also give you beach towels to take on your trips! Wifi is excellent and FREE!

We were very sad to leave the place and people, especially pepper (the dog). If ever back in Cairns this would be the only place I would stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I booked in for one night and had a lovely stay. The rooms were bright, clean and very attentive staff. The pool is lovely and there is a large kitchen to cook in. I would recommend this place but there is a fair walk from town so I moved to a hotel closer to town.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borås, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you want a hostel with a homey-atmosphere, Travellers Oasis is the place to stay! We've been staying here for several weeks and already when checking in we felt like we were home, it's like a gigant family where everybody helps each other. The staff will help you with anything you might need or want to do, just ask them and you'll get all information you need! All facilities (there's lots of them!!!) are clean and tidy, the staff really does everything in their power to make it comfy and homey! The one thing you should watch out for tho is Mickey, he's the awesome and cute guy behind the reception desk that sings Carolas song Mickey to the pet fish (we all reckon he has a crush for the fish since he always smiles like a moron and flirts with it while singing……). And by the by, if you sing the Mickey-song to Mickey he just might take you out on a date (c'mon girls give it a go, you won't be disappointed just as long as you respect his love for the beloved fishey)!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was undoubtedly the best hostel I have ever stayed in! Wonderful atmosphere with the most helpful staff - especially Helen! Very clean and well maintained - you can tell that the owners take great pride in the hostel. They run a fantastic Aussie barbecue with crocodile, kangaroo and emu at the sister hostel on a Monday which is not to be missed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travellers Oasis Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Address: 8 - 10 Scott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hostel in Cairns.Travellers Oasis is a charming little guest house offering cosy and clean facilities to the budget conscious traveller, in a friendly and relaxed environment.Centrally located in a quiet area, our guests can relax in our sparkling pool, or lie back in our hammocks and chill out to the music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Travellers Oasis Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travellers Oasis Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.