We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most comfy and homey hostel you'll ever visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Travellers Oasis Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
8 - 10 Scott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 84 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Borås, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The most comfy and homey hostel you'll ever visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you want a hostel with a homey-atmosphere, Travellers Oasis is the place to stay! We've been staying here for several weeks and already when checking in we felt like we were home, it's like a gigant family where everybody helps each other. The staff will help you with anything you might need or want to do, just ask them and you'll get all information you need! All facilities (there's lots of them!!!) are clean and tidy, the staff really does everything in their power to make it comfy and homey! The one thing you should watch out for tho is Mickey, he's the awesome and cute guy behind the reception desk that sings Carolas song Mickey to the pet fish (we all reckon he has a crush for the fish since he always smiles like a moron and flirts with it while singing……). And by the by, if you sing the Mickey-song to Mickey he just might take you out on a date (c'mon girls give it a go, you won't be disappointed just as long as you respect his love for the beloved fishey)!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    453
    78
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
146
196
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was undoubtedly the best hostel I have ever stayed in! Wonderful atmosphere with the most helpful staff - especially Helen! Very clean and well maintained - you can tell that the owners take great pride in the hostel. They run a fantastic Aussie barbecue with crocodile, kangaroo and emu at the sister hostel on a Monday which is not to be missed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We are a couple that stayed for 9 nights in a private double in this hostel. The hostel is located right behind the Cairns Shopping Centre which makes it very convenient for shopping and getting supplies from Coles. The location of this hostel is makes it a quieter place as it's away from all the pubs which we appreciated. We didn't stay in much during the day but found that when we did the staff were always cleaning the place so you can be sure that it's clean. We stayed in room 13 which is one of the more private rooms with its own small basin and small clothes line and a small fridge. There are plenty of toilets and separate showers and also 2 a kitchens. The kitchens both have lots of utensils and cookery and large fridges in both. There are also 2 washing machines and 2 tumble driers. We would probably stay here again if it Cairns.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

we stayed here 2 nights before heading off into the wilds with our camper van. Helen was really helpful and friendly, the place is nice, clean and reasonable, the whole place is really well appointed and comfortable, they are really knowledgeable about the area too. definitely well worth a stop

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

This was the best hostel stay in cairns! Everything you need is here, with a well equipped clean kitchen, cosy (already made) beds with a nice furry towel; nice lounge with books and tv! Mickey & Helen are very welcoming and so knowledgeable on the tours that would fit your needs and budget :) When I had to leave very early for hot air ballooning, I could check out the night before, get my deposit back and come back the next day to collect my luggage. Mickey helped to store my bag the next day, pack my bed up and took care of the rest! :) that's amazing service! The shopping mall and coles is also just 5mins away. Truly an oasis in the tropics :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I have stayed in this hostel for 3 nights and would have loved to extend but they were fully booked and that is no wonder. From the first moment in I had the feeling that somebody put a lot of effort in every detail and I really felt like home. The hostel is also perfect if you start your travelles down the East Coast from Cairns the stuff is just great and will help you planning everything!!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

By far the best hostel I stayed in on the east coast. The staff were so friendly, really accommodating and genuinely want you to get the most out of your stay. Rooms were great and surprisingly comfortable. It only takes 10 minutes to walk into the middle of Cairns & it's nice not to be trying to sleep in the middle of the mayhem. They run a shuttle from the greyhound stop and let you store your bags if you a have a late departure.
All in all, well worth a stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travellers Oasis Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Address: 8 - 10 Scott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 84 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hostel in Cairns.Travellers Oasis is a charming little guest house offering cosy and clean facilities to the budget conscious traveller, in a friendly and relaxed environment.Centrally located in a quiet area, our guests can relax in our sparkling pool, or lie back in our hammocks and chill out to the music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Travellers Oasis Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travellers Oasis Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.