We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travellers Oasis Backpackers to your Saves list
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
8 - 10 Scott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Travellers oasis is brilliant. Helen and Steve are the most helpful people we have come across in any hostel or hotel. They were friendly & enthusiastic. We found the room & shared spaces clean and tidy & felt that the hostel had a nice atmosphere. It is really close to town which is great. A lovely peaceful place with very helpful staff who amazingly give a 5* service at a budget price!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    91
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
176
229
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Travellers Oasis was recommended to us by a fellow traveller and friend and it did not disappoint.
When arriving at the hostel Helen on the desk could not be more helpful and informative about every question or query we had for her.
The hostel had a lovely family feel to it and was kept thoroughly clean at all times. They never seemed to stop working. Everything from the bedrooms, bathrooms and kitchens were spotless. Not only were the rooms spacious they were equipped with a fridge, personal safe and free wifi throughout. A private room here was around $20 cheaper than every other hostel and I would strongly recommend anyone wanting a dorm or private room in Cairns to go here.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great staff, awesome and friendly atmosphere. Rooms were very clean and tidy, with good facilities. Good recommendations on tours and things to do. Travellers Oasis definitely made our trip one to remember. Thank you :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almelo, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

By far the best hostel I have seen and stayed in Australia. Not to big, friendly and clean

I stayed here for 1 night in a private room. The next day I left to Travellers Paradise.

The staff is helpful, friendly and shows you around. They emailed me a couple days before arrival to to tell me that the reception would be closed around the time when I arrive. They explained to me how to get the key for my room. Attentive!

I had a single room, with made up bed, fridge, locker, ceiling fan and AC (paid). The room was clean, spacious and the bed was good, incl. mattress.

The shower and toilets were also clean. I did not went into the kitchen.

Outside is a nice area to sit and meet. There is a small, but clean pool and they have a store luggage.

The hostel is quiet, but the walls and the floors are thin. It didn't bother me. The wifi works perfect and it is free!

The hostel is next to the shopping centre and bus/train station and a 10 - 15 min walk from the sea. I chose this location, because the plan was to leave the next day with the bus to Tully, but a small hurricane southwards thwarted this plan.

Would definitely recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The staff are all super friendly and very helpful throughout the week long stay. It's great if you want a quiet and relaxing place to stay after having ventured out throughout the day and want a good nights rest. It is slightly out of the city so a bit of a walk to the esplanade but it is across the road from the train station and shops. Loved my stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We chose Traveller's Oasis because of its glowing review on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. The staff is very friendly, the place very clean (we actually saw them cleaning the entire place everyday), and the BBQ was great. We stayed in a double room on the second floor and enjoyed a nice breeze at night, which means no need for air conditioner. As many people have mentioned, the location is not central. During the day you can just walk through the mall and it takes less than 20 minutes to get to the Lagoon and the main beach walk. At night, it will take longer because you have to walk around the mall. It was safe, however, and I would come back for the good service and value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I travel a lot, and customer service is something I tend to notice early on. Travelers Oasis did not disappoint! I spent 3 nights there, and everyone at reception (and on the phone when I called to book) was superlative. Welcoming, kind, informative, helpful, enthusiastic...Thank you, Michael, Steven, and Helen. Enjoyed my stay, and the terrific tours you suggested.
Cheers!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travellers Oasis Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Address: 8 - 10 Scott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hostel in Cairns.Travellers Oasis is a charming little guest house offering cosy and clean facilities to the budget conscious traveller, in a friendly and relaxed environment.Centrally located in a quiet area, our guests can relax in our sparkling pool, or lie back in our hammocks and chill out to the music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Travellers Oasis Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travellers Oasis Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.