We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright, friendly hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travellers Oasis Backpackers to your Saves list
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
8 - 10 Scott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bright, friendly hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Really loved this hostel - it's clean, friendly and fun. We (2 female travellers) stayed in a 4-bed mixed dorm with a couple. The rooms were simple and clean and there was plenty of space to cook, eat and chill out in the communal areas.

Lots of evening activities and other friendly travellers - so good if you're on your own or looking to meet others. At the same time though it was very quiet at night - lights in communal areas go out late at night and people are quiet so everyone can sleep.

The staff are excellent - friendly and knowledgeable. They gave us really honest and helpful reviews of various trips we could go on and then booked the ones we wanted for us. They were also excellent when our flight was cancelled last minute. One member of staff lent us her own mobile, so we wouldn't have to pay for expensive calls to sort it out. You feel really well looked after.

The hostel is located about 10 mins walk from centre of Cairns (15 mins at night as you can't cut through the train station). The benefits are that it's quieter and the hostel is well worth the short walk, but could be a worry if you're planning on walking home on your own late at night. It's a pretty safe place - we never worried, but the streets were very quiet at night on the walk back.

Room Tip: Room behind reception - if you're a light sleeper you might get woken in the morning when they o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    85
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
157
216
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in a shared 2 person room. The room had a refrigerator and an air conditioner included in it. The air conditioner was only $1 for 3 hours of use. At first we thought it was expensive, but the 3 hours seemed to be a long time and was well worth it after spending all day in the scorching heat outside!

From the moment I walked in John was unbelievably helpful and friendly and gave us a great tour of the place. Over the next 3 nights I always felt as if I could asked him questions if I needed anything. He booked the airport shuttle for me to get back to the airport in time for my very early flight.

There is also a pool that is easily accessible and good to have a quick relaxing dip in after a long day out know the reef or out walking around town.

The hostel is very close to town and directly across from a huge indoor shopping center.

They have a special BBQ night where you can try kangaroo,emu, and crocodile meat once a week and another day for a pizza buffet for $10.

I highly recommend anyone travelling to cairns to stay here. Thanks for all the help John!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely, quiet wonderful Place in the heart of cairns with great possibilities for Shopping and close to all Transport. Staff is soooo nice and friendly and very very helpful.
The big brother is tropic days and if you stay in either of the 2 go for the Aussie BBQ. The kitchens are clean and have all you need. All is very clean and well maintained. good selection of DVDs to borrow. Only downside is no free wifi. So overall, anyone looking for a relaxed, not too expensive retreat after a day of activity is at the right place here

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

spent 2 nights at this wonderful hostel. staff was extremely friendly and helpful, picked us up from the airport and helped us book skydiving and scuba-diving. highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I love this place. And the people who work there. John, Kerri, Helen and the rest of the team go more than that extra mile to ensure that all guests have an amazing experience when visiting far North Queensland.

From the second you arrive there and check in you'll know you've made the best choice. Not only is the place beautiful, but the staff will give you a guided tour of the hostel grounds and facilities. I have been to no other hostel that goes so far to ensure that guests get the best from the time they have during their stay. They will also go out of their way to find you the best deals on trips and tours.

I stayed there for almost 3 months this time from November 2011 to late January 2012 and really miss the place and people. I often see guests who are upset that they haven't booked to stay there longer because it is so relaxing and comfortable there.

The BBQ at their sister hostel Tropic Days is a must on a Monday. The owner Gabe will keep you entertained for the evening with his antics. The food is also fantastic. It's your chance to try kangaroo, croc, emu and lots more. They even have lovely veggie burgers if you're not a meat eater.

The entire hostel is kept spotless by the great team of cleaners who are well trained thanks to the hostels cleaning academy video.

The location is perfect too if you want peace and quiet but want to be close to the action also. Just around the corner you have the excellent Green Ant Cantina serving delicious Mexican food and a wide range of beers and spirits. Cairns central with more than 160 shops is just a 3 minute walk across the road. And the esplanade, lagoon and city centre is just 10 minutes from the hostel.

I was travelling alone and found this a great place to meet people also. The atmosphere is so relaxed and the communal areas outside help everyone to mingle.

If you're looking for a top notch place to stay at a great price you don't need to look anywhere else. I am counting down the days until I get back to Australia and can stay here again.

Room Tip: If you stay more than two nights and book directly with the hostel you get a free airport pickup. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012 via mobile

Just spent two nights here. It's a brilliant hostel. The guys in reception are so friendly and helpful with everything even any of your forwarding travelling plans. The hostel has a real homely feel and this is because of their brilliant staff.
The Aussie BBQ on Monday night is a definate. The food was excellent and the didgeridoo competition was hilarious.
The rooms were spacious with single beds which were great and really clean. The bathrooms were always clean an tidy which is great. The pool and hammocks in the common area allow for you to relax on a evening after a hard day snorkeling at the great barrier reef.
This has been one of the best hostels I have stayed in in the two years I have been in Australia. Can't wait to come back later this year!!
Thanks guys for a great few days in cairns!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012 via mobile

Have been to 11 different hostels so far and by far this is the winner. Staff are amazing, bedrooms are nice and airy, love the quirkiness of it all. The BBQ night at sister company Tropic days was amazing, brilliant food and the owner Gabrielle was such good entertainment.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travellers Oasis Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Oasis Backpackers

Address: 8 - 10 Scott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hostel in Cairns.Travellers Oasis is a charming little guest house offering cosy and clean facilities to the budget conscious traveller, in a friendly and relaxed environment.Centrally located in a quiet area, our guests can relax in our sparkling pool, or lie back in our hammocks and chill out to the music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Travellers Oasis Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Oasis Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travellers Oasis Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.