We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to airport, friendly staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar to your Saves list
Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   341 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“close to airport, friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very close to airport, picked up very quickly, although we were waiting at the wrong place. Very clean rooms, air-conditioned. Friendly helpful staff. Restaurant and bar with very cheap good food, ate here everynight, nice pool and beach volleyball all in same area! Will be staying again :)

Room Tip: private doubles are great if theres 2 and want a bit of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hiya and thanks for your great review - happy travels and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Cairns!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    52
    34
    23
    22
See reviews for
7
36
54
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I had a great stay here and wished I could have stayed longer. Some really great staff members both on the bar and reception. Make sure that you eat in the restaurant on site as its cheap and yummy. Cant wait to come back here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hiya and thanks for your great review - we can't wait to see you again too! Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Friendly staff, clean place.
Just arrived at 6.30am to a free breakfast.
Looking forward to taking the free shuttle into town later... And to the airport tomorrow.
Nice-looking pool and dining area. Clean kitchen.
Thanks guys!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks so much for your review - we hope you have some great travels ahead and that you come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Hubert
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

May be this has been said, but service lacks a lot. Had to call a few times to get our free airport pickup, waiting more than an hour!! Driver got lost somewhere even if it is 3 km off the airport!! Our room had a nice A/C which never worked!! :(
They had changed the room for another that did not work either! Thank you for all the moving chores for anything better!
The manager is very business oriented, not customer service oriented! We ask for a refund or discount because A/C was not working and we pay for a room with one. The only thing she had to say is she cannot make a discount or refund because it was already paid for...haha! Yes, but we ve paid for a room which they could not deliver!


The free shuttle to the center is always full: they have a 12 seaters shuttle van for a 200+ hostels capacity. People are almost fighting to get a seat!

The following has nothing to do with the hostel, but I hope a few backpackers will read it.

Come on guys, we share kitchen and toilets. One night, 2-3 guys had an haircut in the toilets. An hour later, I could not beleive they left
Other than this, the

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi and thanks for the review - we do remember your family and did try to help you as much as we could and give you an enjoyable stay - my apologies that we did not acheive this. I am sorry that you had the inconvenience of being moved but this was originally in part due to the fact that you had booked and paid for a four share dorm despite there being six of you. Due to fire regulations we are not allowed to put 6 people in a four share (despite you saying that you were happy to share beds with the kids). This is why we did offer you a larger six share dorm as a free upgrade and did not charge you for the extra beds - we also offered this to you on your return visit - as we are very customer orientated and wanted your stay to be as comfortable as possible. It is disappointing that you did not feel this way despite our best efforts. We hope that you and your family enjoy the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We really enjoyed staying in this hostel. Whilst it wasn’t the cleanest of places, the rooms were a good size, the facilities were great and there was plenty to keep us entertained (swimming pool, pool table, darts, table tennis, book shelves etc). When buying a $5 drink you could get a free evening meal, not gourmet cuisine but certainly tasty and filling. The distance to the town centre may put some off but we walked the twenty minutes down the magnificent esplanade every day and it’s a great walk. The hostel does offer a free shuttle bus into town if needed. They also run events such as pub crawls and football tournaments but they aren’t greatly advertised so look out for them. Our only issues were the cost of the wireless internet, the stingy breakfast and the shortage of plug sockets in the rooms. However we enjoyed our stay so much, we stayed an extra two nights. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hiya and thanks for the review - we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. You will also be happy to hear that we have listened to your feedback about the internet and have now reduced our prices - it is now only $4 for 24hour unlimited use or $12 for the whole week! We hope that you come back to Cairns to take advantage of the offer! All the best for your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Staff were very unhelpful and didn't seem to know anything about the hostel itself facilities etc.. we're extremely laid back and didn't seem to want to help. Also very noisy at night an seem to put up with violent drunk people in the hostel trashing their rooms. And kept the whole hostel awake for the night. we also got a shuttle bus to the airport which the hostel " provided" which was 20 dollars per person which u gave 10 dollars to reception an 10 to the driver of the bus we were filled in later by the driver that the 10 given to the hostel is in fact a booking fee and if we rang the bus company direct ourselves we wud only have to pay the driver 10 dollars a complete scam!! Overall very poor an the worst hostel I ever stayed in Australia.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hello and thanks for your review - we are sorry to hear that you are not happy. We do offer front office traineeships to overseas students so we do have quite a few staff on the front desk in training. I am sorry if they appeared ignorant or not to care - I can assure you that this was not their intention. We offer a free of charge pickup service from the airport and bus station so we are certainly not out to scam anybody. We are not able to drop off at the airport so we use an external company - we are not involved in their price structure. We wish you all the best for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Don't get me wrong. It's a huge hostel with clean rooms but for the price you're paying you would expect something more. Good things like backpackers meals from 5.00 till 7.30 for 3$, free trips or activities every day, friendly staff. I'm not saying it's awful but I think you can find better. Our maybe I'm spoiled after so many amazing hostels in SE Asia.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryonySumner, General Manager at Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hiya and thanks for the review - we do strive to be amazing so we will work harder! Have fun on the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar

Address: 341 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Cairns backpackers resort is a 4 ½ star AAA rated budget accommodation with resort style facilities and onsite Serpent Bar, and has been designed to provide you with a great night's sleep. Located only minutes away from the Cairns Esplanade, gateway to the Great Barrier Reef, it includes everything you need to enjoy Tropical North Queensland in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Serpent Cairns Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Cairns Backpackers and Serpent Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.