We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good situation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bellview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Bellview to your Saves list
The Bellview
85 - 87 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Paris
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good situation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

The Bellview has a very good situation right in the centre of Cairns, with basics but clean rooms. Staff is very useful and the booking centre is one of the best in Cairns. They had the best prices in nearly everything we booked through them, from trips around to diving courses.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    48
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
36
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

My fiance and I (26,22) stayed at the Bellview for 6 nights in October. We booked in after reading reviews on this site and weren't disappointed - it is great for the price and the main bonus is the people are so friendly and helpful. We booked white water rafting and a liveaboard scuba diving trip with them and they recommended great tour operators. We had a motel style room for $65 per night, which had a double bed and a single and was really big, clean and comfortable. The en-suite was also clean and fully functional, if a little dated. The shower was really powerful and the air con worked fine.
It's just across from the lagoon on the sea front where you can use the amazing public pool (the one in the Bellview is fine for a quick cool down but not particularly big). We would definitely recommend the bellview to anyone who wants to experience Cairns on a bit of a budget but wants somehwere clean, friendly, safe and central!
It's also near some great bars and restaurants but really quiet at night. Recommend the Rattle and Hum for some reasonable food and good atmosphere, the Woolshed for a proper backpackers night out. All the other restaurants we tried were great too. While you're in Queensland, we would recommend going up to Port Douglas for a couple of nights if you can, we stayed there for 4 and it's a gorgeous tiny town with a brilliant beach and closer to the Daintree rainforest for day trips.
Enjoy Queensland!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

WONDERFUL HOTEL!

We originally booked to stay in a hostel, but checked out after one night because it was bad and we found this hotel.

This hotel is conveniently located, right across from the water, AND PRICED BETTER THAN HOSTELS!

Rooms are clean and quite large.
The Reception area arranged for tours and attractions, CHEAPER than all of the local travel agencies and centers...WE checked!

Will definitely stay here again!

Jesse

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — all was great
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

My spouse and I stayed here for a week in Cairns while exploring Queensland. Like the other reviewers said, the location could not get any more central! The amenities were great - kitchen facilities, fridge, free coffee and tea, tv and en suite bathroom. We had a suite near the stairs and the acoustics, however, are bad. I believe that all the en suite rooms are located near the front. The window shutters, although secure, were thin and we therefore heard all the activities of the bathroom next door (gross!), and of all the comings and goings of other residents. The rules are strict - no visitors after 10:30pm - no exceptions, which helps with the noise. I'm not a fussy traveller or a light sleeper but did find it annoying at times. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper!

For the most part we found the staff friendly and very helpful. They did not seem to like that we had one of our tours arranged previously and not through them upon arrival. Not sure why. The common facilities are well maintained so no complaints there. The place is in need of a reno & technological update compared to other hostels in Australia but for the value, we felt that it was worth it for all the things that we got to do and see from here!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not for business travellers (no internet)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

Wow! What can I say...it's a small hostel/hotel property in the PERFECT location! The rooms are simple, but comfortable. They include a private bathroom, a queen & twin bed (great for spreading your luggage!), a little closet, fridge, A/C, ceiling fans and cable tv. We only paid around $45 US per night, so we didn't expect much, but they over exceeded our expectations! The staff was wonderful...all of them! They helped us book discount trips and recommended places to eat and go. There is a small kitchen that you can use too; we ended our 3 wk tour of Aussie there, so it was great to finally cook for ourselves! The hotel itself is literally across the street from the Esplanade, right next door to the night markets and a 2 minute walk to "town". You are in the middle of EVERYTHING! I think it's probably the best location in Cairns. We did a couple of tours on the water and we were able to walk to the boat in less than 5 minutes. The Esplanade pool is beautiful and very well kept and there are tons of little gas stove/grills at the park for anyone to enjoy! There was always some kind of free entertainment going on there, which was really fun! There are plenty of places to go out at night too...just depends on your style. If you're a beer drinker, try the Carlton Mid, it's great! Another tip, if you want to try Kangaroo meat (like us) don't bother spending $30 for a meal at one of the local restaurants, buy some at the grocer and cook it yourself at the park. We spent $4 US and got 3 steaks! Oh, you have to go to the night markets and try one of the Chinese full body massages! They end up being like $12 US and are TOTALLY worth every penny! We went twice and wish we could have gone more! Bottom line, if you're looking for luxury, go elsewhere. If you want a great hotel/hostel in a fantastic location for an awesome value, this is your place! Well I hope this helps!

  • Liked — The location, the staff, the price....
  • Disliked — The only thing we didn't like was leaving!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2007

We stayed here for 6 nights whilst in Cairns. The rooms are clean, if very basic, but in the motel room you get a ceiling fan and aircon, plus tea coffee, sugar and milk replenished every day and a kettle and cups. There is also a fridge for you to keep anything cool in, and we had a double and a single bed. If you book a trip via the hotel then they will let you leave your bags there for free if you want to shoot off somewhere for a few days and not lug everything with you, otherwise it only costs a few AUS per day. The place is right on the Esplanade almost opposite the lagon swimming pool (open and free to everyone), just minutes walk from shops, internet cafes, food places and the train station. The hotel itself has a small pool out the back and a video room as well as cooking and laundry facilities and a general get together area. It is quiet at night so you can get a good sleep if you want, but not too far from "where its all at" if you want to go out and party. The staff are very friendly and couldnt do enough to help us out. Rodney is a Gem and We'd like to thank him again for all his help and advise, especially the great deal with the hire car.
All in all it is great value for money with a friendly personal style.

  • Liked — personal service
  • Disliked — no internet
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sec39
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

This has to be the best hostel ever...as the title suggests. I stayed at the Bellview in Cairns for the whole of August this year and it was the best experience of my life. The staff on the front desk are soooooo helpful, and really friendly! They made my trip! I was travelling on my own and was a little nervous about it, but they made sure I was ok - they suggested great places to eat out, visit, and most importantly....shop :o) I can't speak for the dorms, but the room I stayed in was just right for me, and even though it is on the esplanade - the busiest part of Cairns, it was so quiet at night - lovely. It is also on the same strip as the night markets, which, if you stay in Cairns at some point...you have got to visit - they're awesome. Also, on the next street up are internet cafes and every saturday there is a little market on the lagoon area, right outside the hostel. I would also recommend The Bellview if you are looking to do a lot of ocean-going (its across from the harbour)....however, I would just generally recommend the bellview! It really was that good!

p.s. there is also the best gelatto (ice cream) place down the road - ask at reception!!! Happy travelling...

  • Liked — The staff, site, price...I could go on and on
  • Disliked — Nothing!!!!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bellview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellview

Address: 85 - 87 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Bellview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellview Hotel Cairns
Bellview Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bellview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.