We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made my holiday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bellview

Save Saved
You added The Bellview to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bellview
85 - 87 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Made my holiday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The Bellview was recommended to me by the Airport shuttle driver and it was a great choice! Craig, one of the staff working the desk, was brilliant! He helped me book daytrips to the Daintree and to the Great Barrier Reef very easily and with short notice. The room was pretty basic, but I really only used it to sleep and keep my stuff. Located centrally on the Esplanade made it very convenient and a super enjoyable trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    46
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
35
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra (capital of) Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

All the communications I had with The Bellview were fast, helpful and polite, from the emails to all all the people on the desk. I asked for a quiet room with bathroom and no aircon (not needed in winter), which was $59 or maybe $69, I forget for a queen bed and bathroom. It was fine for one day after my week in Port Douglas.

It would not do for me for more than 1 day though as I prefer a better kept place. It had tea and coffee and a TV in the room. I was there fro about 14 hours.

ITts 10 steps from the 'night market' which is small where there's a $15 massage which is not professional, but relaxing enough, The Esplanade is right opposite and they had Zumba in the Park on the evening I was there with about 1000 people all joining in and that was great fun and a bit of a highlight actually.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a quiet room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooktown, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I was looking for a quit hostel in town, have been almost everythere. Finally I found this one and I was really surprised and happy to find a good and quite hostel. It is pretty clean, all staff is very friendly and helpful. They just have a small kitchen but enough for cooking. The rooms are a bit old, but clean and comfortable. Every room has their own bathroom, a fridge, chairs and one cupboard. I always coming back when I am in Cairns again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

It has been nice to stay at Bellview. The people are friendly and helpful, and they have tours available at the counter for us. It is centrally located right at the middle of The Esplanade. Surrounded by restaurants and just at the waterfront area too. The only down part of it, is they don't have parking area. We had to park at the side of the road, overnight is free but during the day is pay parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Lovely place, seems like a backpackers place, nice price, nice rooms, can walk anywhere in town. Many restaurants around, very convenient for airport shuttle, can remember what else to say, but i enjoyed there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoal Bay, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Well me and my girlfriend haven't stayed at the Bellview since August 2013 but after reading your review we will be back.You failed to mention the excellent security I remember the long haired gentleman and all the excellent staff you were so busy winging that you failed to mention all the wonderful points like old world charm about this classic older time-peace, best location,best value,best service etc(ie they know how save other patrons from wingers).You come to the Bellview looking peace you'll get it,come looking for trouble you will feel like your in an ejection seat.Well done everyone well be back!

Room Tip: En suits are great for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Reasonable, & very clean room. It was ideal for what we were looking for. The staff was very, very friendly. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for the price. I would definitely stay again :-)

Room Tip: As a family of mom and 2 grown children the motel room with private bathroom was the right choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bellview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellview

Address: 85 - 87 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Bellview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellview Hotel Cairns
Bellview Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bellview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.