We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for centrally located accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bellview

Save Saved
You added The Bellview to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bellview
85 - 87 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good price for centrally located accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

It has been nice to stay at Bellview. The people are friendly and helpful, and they have tours available at the counter for us. It is centrally located right at the middle of The Esplanade. Surrounded by restaurants and just at the waterfront area too. The only down part of it, is they don't have parking area. We had to park at the side of the road, overnight is free but during the day is pay parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    45
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
35
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Lovely place, seems like a backpackers place, nice price, nice rooms, can walk anywhere in town. Many restaurants around, very convenient for airport shuttle, can remember what else to say, but i enjoyed there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoal Bay, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Well me and my girlfriend haven't stayed at the Bellview since August 2013 but after reading your review we will be back.You failed to mention the excellent security I remember the long haired gentleman and all the excellent staff you were so busy winging that you failed to mention all the wonderful points like old world charm about this classic older time-peace, best location,best value,best service etc(ie they know how save other patrons from wingers).You come to the Bellview looking peace you'll get it,come looking for trouble you will feel like your in an ejection seat.Well done everyone well be back!

Room Tip: En suits are great for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Reasonable, & very clean room. It was ideal for what we were looking for. The staff was very, very friendly. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for the price. I would definitely stay again :-)

Room Tip: As a family of mom and 2 grown children the motel room with private bathroom was the right choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed for three days here and were very happy. The locations is great, right across from the lagoon. The place is clean and tidy with laundry, kitchen etc.
The room we choose had a fan and that was fine without air con and the pool is nice too. Beds are comfy and the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Region, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Long hair male receptionist service attitude is very poor! Yesterday, 27/1/14, 8:30 am I check out, I want keep luggage in the hotel, the staff told me after 6:30 pm keepbag need to receive three dollars fee, no problem, I gave the fee! 5:30 p.m. I went to the hotel want to keep one more bag of luggage, this long-haired male staff asked me luggage receipt, I said to him, I am sorry, your cstaff in the morning did not give me a receipt, I dont have receipt, and then He was not satisfied with me, you do not give me a receipt, I need receive luggage fee again! I talk him again !is your staff did not give me a receipt! Then he opened the luggage room, talk to me, you do not understand what I say! If you understand that, you are immediately taken away all your luggage!!! But after he finished off the door immediately! ! ! I was already very angry! He was very rude! Very unfriendly! I do not charge fees for the issue and angry! It is his attitude problem! After dinner I get back to the hostel take all my luggage! I told him I want to pick up the luggage! He did not bother me, I told him more than once, he asked me, poor attitude, do I need him to help me open the door, I said yes! ! ! Then I waited a minute or two with friends before he opened the door to me! ! ! This hotel is the right way to treat guests? I will never patronize! ! ! Horrible! ! !

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellviewCairns, Manager at The Bellview, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
As manager of The Bellview, I take very seriously complaints concerning the conduct of my staff.

I have spoken to the staff member concerned and wish to apologise on his behalf.

I hope the rest of your holidays spent in Australia are enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My boyfriend and i recently stayed in the bellview for 3 days, whilst exploring the great barrier reef. This is budget accomadation for those who still want to see these amzaing places, but dont have the budget to pay that much. My boyfriend and i were on holiday and this suited us well and for the price we could not complain at all. If you were staying longer than 3/4 days, like 2 weeks, perhaps you would not choose this place as it does have a shared bathroom. But if you are staying for longer you can upgrade for another 10 dollars to a motel room and have you own bathroom. The rooms are clean and in such a good location opposite the lagoon and right near the pick up for the great barrier reef tours.
The reception staff are excellent offering advice/trips/transport and arranging everything for you. Super helpful and very organised.

Room Tip: no resturant or room service at this accomadation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bellview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bellview

Address: 85 - 87 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Bellview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bellview Hotel Cairns
Bellview Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bellview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.