We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Terraces Holiday Apartments

Save Saved
You added City Terraces Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Terraces Holiday Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   63-65 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Cairns Region, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have spent the last week here walking distance to the esplanade for the restaurants easy access to cairns Central shops .What a great quiet location out off the main drag.Great clean modern rooms with balconies lots of natural light .Booked our tours with the managers Phil and Cheryl who were very helpful and liked a chat .Will recommend to our friends to stay here .Very satisfied Peter & Gail Victoria

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
13
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We came up to Cairns for the Ironman had never been to Cairns before and it was just lovely, rooms big, neat and tidy, had all utilities that we would have at home. Cant wait to return in September :) Thank you for having us, and see you soon

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent 4 nights there.
The Owners, Phil and Cheryl were very friendly and helpful.
The accommodations were excellent and very spacious. We had a separate bedroom, bathroom and a kitchen / living room area as well as a great balcony overlooking the pool. The parking garage was under the hotel and very secure.
The location was fabulous. Various activities in the area provided shuttle service from the hotel to their facility. And we were just a few blocks away from downtown and oodles of great restaurants and stores.
Phil and Cheryl have walls of brochures of activities to do in the area and are able to help arrange them for you.
We had a wonderful time there.
I would, however, want to give advance warning to Americans . . .
In Hotels in America the front lobby is open 24/7 and there is a hotel employee manning the front desk for your convenience 24/7. Apparently it is somewhat common for hotels in Australia to close at 6:00 pm. You need to arrive before that, as the front desk will be closed. We, unfortunately had met with 3 such situations. You may want to get a copy of their policies. Phil and Cheryl were most understanding, but . . . be prepared.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony over the pool - It is so relaxing to sit out there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I spent two weeks in Cairns on business, and the one bedroom self contained unit is perfect for me.

City Terraces is 5 minutes from Cairns Central Shopping Centre, and also within walking distance to the Esplanade. It's surprisingly quiet and the rooms are recently done up. The bedroom, bathroom and the living area is quite spacious. The unit I stayed in has balcony that overlooking a pretty decent sized swimming pool. I particularly enjoyed the natural light in the living room, so I didn't need to switch on light during daytime.

The manager Phil and his wife Cheryl are wonderful hosts, they are always cheerful and ready for a chat. Each morning on my way to work I always get a big smile and cheerful greetings from Cheryl. They made my stay so much more enjoyable!

Will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Cairns.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

From initial check in to departure, the piece of mind not to mention the service was outstanding . On a very short list the location, the service and the facility get a sincere " would definitely stay again" rating

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Our stay here was wonderful, we were greeted fantastically and everything surpassed our expectations. Being able to walk past lizards, and toads and watch the flying foxes overhead come dusk was absolutely divine! Phil & Cheryl were an absolutely wonderful couple to deal with and their first hand experience of tours and trips was perfect when it came to going out and about was perfect! Couldn't have asked for anything more. Our stay here was amazing and we will definitely be coming back again. :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Lovely spotlessly clean spacious apartments in a nice quiet area but still within walking distance of all the bars and restaurants.
Phil and Cheryel the managers were lovely,extremely helpful with any information and booking trips to the local attractions
They are very careful to match your needs to the correct company and do not just try and sell you anything,nothing was too much trouble for them and they ensured our stay was very comfortable.
If ever I was to return to Cairns in the future I would definitely stay here again.
I would recommend the City Terraces without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Terraces Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Terraces Holiday Apartments

Address: 63-65 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 83 Specialty lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — City Terraces Holiday Apartments 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your City Terraces Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Terraces Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.