We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Porchetta in Domestic Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Porchetta

La Porchetta
108 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland QLD 4870,, Australia
07 4031 6661
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #264 of 429 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“La Porchetta in Domestic Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Lovely pizza, we asked for extra garlic & they really piled it on, The large Pizza was only $20 which in an air port was a great deal.
Well worth the money when your flight is delayed hours. :)

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    17
    5
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“When are they going to get it right?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

A friend and self were part of the captive audience set following a movie at La Porchetta. Truly, we have never been to this food outlet without some kind of minor disaster. This time the Bruschetta (on Pizza) was remarkably non-existent. The dough was just that.. pizza dough and virtually uncooked.. with a microscopic sprinkling of tomato... and very little else. It was fortunate that the "coffee catchup" was the main reason for the visit. Past experience should have prepared us for the latest offering of foodie nonsense. Just get it sorted please.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pickup took longer than 45 minutes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We are new in Cairns & after my 8 year old som begged to have La Porchetta tonight. I was skeptical & rung in advance to order. Was told it would take 15-20 minutes. 45 minutes later, I am still waiting & wondering if 15-20 minutes actually means 45-1 hour wait time.

Hopefully they are making it from scratch! It's not even a full house but can only see 2 chefs behind the counter. I guess it's another thing to adf to our list of "Welcome to Cairns!"

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Simple place next to cinema – good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We were a party of 3. Had a mix of Pizza and pasta. We were all quite happy with the meal and would go there again.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Staff Made Fun of International Visitor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stay away people, the service is poor at the best of times, it is difficult to get drinks - one thirsty foreign visitor approached the bar section of the restaurant next to where we were seated to order another drink and was rudely ushered to the register - I believe he attempted to excuse/explain himself and explain that in the country he is from it was not unusual to request a drink in this manner.

He was confronted with "Well, we don't do that here, this is Australia" with a sarcastic 'woo hoo' and a little dance in his face.

I'm Australian, I live here and I was embarrassed.

The customer walked off and spent the next 5 minutes trying to secure his drink.

I'm not sure if he managed to get his drink or gave up, but once he walked off - the lady behind the bar gathered a few of the wait staff around while she proceeded to swear, mock and belittle him in his absence like school girls in a cat fest - I'm sure the other tables in close proximity were as disgusted as we were.

The venue was not overly busy or full, the staff were not overloaded; in any case, being busy is no excuse for catty surly behaviour.

Don't bother spending money here - this venue deserves to close.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorchettaCairns, Owner at La Porchetta, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Brad,
I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to review our restaurant especially that I see this is your first time using the platform. We truly value the opinions and feedback of our customers and we do take it seriously. Firstly I would like to express our huge disappointed and equally surprised to hear about your experience within our establishment. I would like to assure you that our restaurant management and policies will strongly not tolerate such behavior at any level what so ever!
We actually do recall that incident clearly and I am sorry you have misread the situation and you felt you had to give us a bad review. That customer was actually from a tour group from America and he was already unhappy with us for asking him to produce a proof of age before consuming any alcohol. Like many places, we have procedures we have to go by, like for one, yes.. he did had to wait for a few minutes as we had to clarify with his tour guide that he was actual allowed to drink on the tour, and that we do not take payment behind the bar and that the front of house cashier is the only place you can make a payment in the restaurant which also as well he was vocally unhappy about it. However, I would like to apologize for the inconvenient that incident has caused you, but the staff were just simply following procedure of the liquor license commission and the tour company policies and there was not much we can do about it.
La Porchetta Cairns is a dining destination of thousands of international visitors, we even have a strong long term business relation with tour groups companies from all around the world, from Asia, Europe and America, we even employ a multi nationality staff to accommodate for our international dinners and visitors and to give them warm welcome to make them feel like home
La Porchetta Cairns Restaurant has huge amount of followers locally and internationally and more than 1500 diners a week! That only comes after long years of hard work in providing high level of customer service along with good quality food.
However, thank you once again for your feedback and hope you will get the chance to live the great experience of La Porchetta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Porchetta also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to La Porchetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Porchetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.