We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, standard Italian fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Porchetta

La Porchetta
108 Grafton Street, Cairns, Queensland QLD 4870,, Australia
07 4031 6661
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #194 of 383 Restaurants in Cairns
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good value, standard Italian fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I shared a large gourmet vegetarian pizza and were pleased that the waiter allowed us to request half with no cheese (as I am vegan). The service was good and whilst the seating area is casual and attached to a cinema complex, it is still an enjoyable place to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    7
    2
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food.....excellent value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I went here one evening before seeing a film at the cinema which is in the same complex. Went early so it was quiet. Didn't have to wait long for anything.
I had fried calamari with chips. I wasn't expecting much, but I was surprised how good it was. My husband had veal schnitzel with chips and he thought his meal was good too. Drinks are very cheap, so we ordered a 500ml carafe of white wine to share.
All in all, it was a good value meal which we really enjoyed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We had gnocchi with pesto sauce and it was the best gnocchi I have had in ages. Staff all very friendly and got colouring books for kids while we waited. Wish they had a chain in Brisbane. The meals are a little pricey for the setting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Overpriced poor quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We went to this restaurant recently. Extremely disappointing. We ordered two main meals, one calamari and the other chicken parmiagana. $25.50 for each main. The price came with ONE choice of either chips, vegies or salad. I couldn't believe it when the meals came out - mostly chips, 9 calamari rings and a very small chicken schnitzel - for over $50! We will never go back again. No value for money whatsoever. Would it really cost that must to include some salad or vegetables with the meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pizza Movie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great for the girls night out at the movies, have a feed see a flick all in one place. food great selection, friendly staff

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Porchetta also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to La Porchetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Porchetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.