We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average and over priced. Not a real Cajun restaurant but a generic food service establishment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Voodooz Cajun Kitchen

Voodooz Cajun Kitchen
Mobile Food Vans, Cairns, Queensland QLD 4870, Australia
+61 404 380 006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 383 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Bar, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Authentic New Orleans cuisine right here in Cairns. Taste the sensation of Seafood Gumbo, Jambalaya, Creole Prawns or a Rack of mouthwatering Southern Style Ribs. Seek out our Mobile Food Vans on our Facebook page!
1 review
“Very average and over priced. Not a real Cajun restaurant but a generic food service establishment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Bad bad bad
Overpriced for something that promotes so much
Don't believe the reviews and don't come here

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    44
    18
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Called here after getting a whiff of the food. What can I say? Great food, (great to find something a bit different) exceptional service (staff were really helpful when making a choice and knowledgable about the food on the menu) all at a great price. If in Cairns I would highly recommend calling in here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The staff were very welcoming and attentive. The food is of an average standard and a little overpriced, particularly the desserts.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
524 reviews 524 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
“It's different! And great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It's great when someone does an uncommon cuisine in Australia and actually does it well (I'm looking at you, all the pathetic excuses for Mexican restaurants we have in Australia). This place is fantastic. We had a variety of dishes, all very rich and tasty (and different!), often loaded with seafood. Staff were great although food took a while to arrive. The only real problem is the high cost, but I think it compares well to similarly-priced restaurants, plus for many meals (like jambalaya), the entree size is very filling, so you might be better off trying a few smaller (cheaper) meals. I rarely give out 5-star ratings but even though this place wasn't perfect, it was such a rewarding experience that it deserves one.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willingboro, New Jersey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great staff and atmosphere with a taste of New Orleans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

While the food was nice, the staff and the atmosphere was really what made Voodooz memorable. Our sever was wonderful, and the music and decor (without being too hoaxy) were great. We would certainly recommend this restaurant to our friends visiting Cairns.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Voodooz Cajun Kitchen also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Voodooz Cajun Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voodooz Cajun Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.