We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Awesome holiday at the Lakes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lakes Cairns Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Lakes Cairns Resort to your Saves list
The Lakes Cairns Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2 Greenslopes Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Rowville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Awesome holiday at the Lakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Our stay of 7 nights at the Lakes Resort was a great experience with clean spacious rooms, comfy beds with kitchen and laundry facilities. When we arrived at the airport we were picked up and driven to the resort which is close by. Check-in took place quite quickly by the friendly and courteous staff who then took us by buggy to our apartment with our luggage. The closeness of the airport and the occasional plane flying over did not seem to bother us. Our apartment was opposite the beautiful and clean beach pool which provided us with easy access to the pool and BBQ area. We planned our day trips the next day with the help of the friendly tour organiser at the resort. We hired a car but still used the tour buses on a couple of days. We would highly recommend this resort to any family planning a holiday to Cairns.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    144
    68
    28
    26
See reviews for
197
114
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

The hotel is delightful to stay in, highlight being the swimming pools and the service apartments that are well equipped and extremely spacious.
Close to the shopping area and has good shuttle services to the main city.
The staff can be a little too money minded but still better than the normal aussie place.

Overall a great place to stay and a very enjoyable experience.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Excellent customer service. Very helpful and friendly staff. Beautiful pools. A lovely place to spend a holiday. The only bad aspect was the restaurant which was expensive and not good food. I ordered some chicken and it was half cooked. When I cut into it blood came out. So my tip would be to go into town for dinner!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

This was a flying visit after we returned from 3 days on a dive boat. The Resort is on the edge of Cairns itself but is close to the airport. We stayed in an apartment that had a kitchen, laundry facilities and a balcony all for £104 through Trailfinders.

The apartment was clean and functional throughout and well worth the money. The resort itself is clean and looks like an ideal place for staying if you have kids due to several swimming pools. The food in the restaurants was not Michelin Star standard but was nice enough and well priced. I would stay again if i was in Cairns.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

I stayed at this Resort from Oct 24th to the 28th. We arrived at 10 pm , they were courteous, and they showed us around in the dark that we could hardly see anything. The room was on the 2nd floor , no elevator, they gave me a very uncomfortable sleep away cot with a very thin mattress and I was able to feel the springs throught the mattress.My friends had a much more comfortable queens sized bed in the adjoining room,,, I had to use the sofa cushions to put beneath the thin mattress so I could sleep more comfortably. On the other hand, its a beautiful resort area, with lots of swimming pools..... but it's not close to the downtown city of Cairns. The receptionists were however, very helpful in helping arrangning tours for us.... and their hotel computers were mostly down and froze up many times...
It was a really nice place to stay .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

A fantastic stay in this oasis resort! Very nice lush tropical surroundings, and helpful reception staff. We were impressed by the large apartment, with good facilities (eg. washing machine, dryer, lounge area, balcony, spa in bathroom), having booked on a last minute website. 4 great pools, gym, sauna, the list goes on. The resort was very big, like a small village! Great access to public buses into the CBD at the end of the street, and very close to Cairns airport. Would stay again

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this cozy place. We were very pleased at the set up and the best part it was not far from the airport which was only 10 minutes away. You do need to rent a car to drive to Palm Cove, Skyrail, and many activities which require an hour away, but worth it. Requesting information for renting a car was great. If you didn't rent a car, then a tour bus/van will meet at the front of the hotel. The swimming pools were gorgeous and fun. For children, they had a shallow pool with a waterfall and for adults....laps.
A great place!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lakes Cairns Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakes Cairns Resort

Address: 2 Greenslopes Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Lakes Cairns Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Lakes Cairns Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakes Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Lakes Cairns Resort And Spa
Lakes Resort Cairns
Lakes Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lakes Cairns Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.