We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely apartment, very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lakes Cairns Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Lakes Cairns Resort to your Saves list
The Lakes Cairns Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2 Greenslopes Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Having read the mixed reviews on here we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The apartment was spacious and clean with a nice lanai for al fresco dining. It was in a good location, a short drive from Cairns - we did actually walk in along the sea front which was nice but took a while. The pools and grounds of the complex were very nice, we only used the pool once as we were out and about all day. We had undercover parking as well. It was quiet at night, no noisy parties. There were a couple of minor issues with the apartment, no curtains in one of the bedrooms but not enough to spoil our stay. There was no internet and no wi fi and the spa was closed - it appeared to have been relocated. Ideal spot for visiting the Kuranda rain forest and the wetlands and there's plenty to do in Cairns. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    150
    68
    29
    28
See reviews for
208
116
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We've just been staying at The Lakes Resort with our kids. Other reviews describe it as an apartment complex and that's exactly right. No restaurants and a bar only open for a few hours a week. However, the acommodation was comfortable and the tropical gardens really beautiful and extremely well maintained.We all really enjoyed the variety of pools which were a real hit with us all, and never busy as there were so many! Staff at reception were of mixed standard, some lovely but one in particular seemingly quite disinterested. It's location near the airport was good and only a short walk to the Botanical Gardens(great cafe for breakfast.) Cheap cab ride into town. Disappointed that there was absolutely no complimentary coffee/tea/ milk upon our arrival.Little touches like that make all the difference! Highlight definitely the gorgeous pools. We had an enjoyable 11 nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have Stayed At the Lakes Many times ver the last 3 years while visiting family in the area...& without a doubt the general standards of customer service has apparently fallen to the wayside. In the past I have braved the insects and horrendous mobile phone reception because of the delightful staff and convenience to the airport , But as I have tragically found out, the parent company of the resort has gone bankrupt and the replacement administration staff are not only rude but condescending and incompetent to boot!!!!! when they are not talking over the top of you in lecture fashion they are generally obstructive. If you would like pleasant staff and a stress free stay try one of the other resorts there are plenty of others closer to town!!!!!!!

Room Tip: there is no phone reception at the back of the complex due to mountain "shadow" and poolsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I recently stayed here for a week with my 2 children and husband in a 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the pool. The apartment was okay but is in need of refurbishment, and even some simple repairs (taps, etc. leaking). The furniture and decor is on the old side. The kitchen is well kitted out with all you need. The grounds are well cared for and the pools are lovely. We did get a car park included but did not use it as the spaces are so small in our complex you couldn't open the doors when parked next to another car - difficult with kids. The lakes appears to be mainly long term residents, the restaurants were all closed however there was a small shop and a bar open on the weekend evenings. The hairdresser/ day spa looked okay but did not use it- went to a Balinese spa in trinity beach instead. Location is okay if you don't mind being out of town. No coffee within 5 mins or so walk is annoying in the morning for those who like a good coffee first thing. The Botanic gardens and centenary lakes are lovely and close by. Also,good location to access the beaches up north

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here in July for the Cairns show to surprise friends. We are ex residents of Cairns so have a good idea of accommodation around town. The Lakes was always said locally to be very impressive. But cleanliness that management claim to be of high priority is not the case. The bathroom and toilet fans in our apartment were filthy so did not extract steam etc... appropriately. There was rubbish left under the table in the balcony and the bench in the balcony was filthy. One of the shutters on the balcony had a broken captains hook which was reported on the 1st day but ignored. We had late checkout as a bonus on our Internet booking but were harassed by housekeeping and reception on the day of checkout due the late checkout hadn't gone across to our record, on this day management might as well have called mea liar. But thankfully I had the paperwork on me to prove it was a part of the deal. While we were there we heard many complaints from both residents and tourists staying at The Lakes. Our complaint on checkout was supposed to be given to the duty manager but after putting a bad review on their website and Facebook page I have still not received any communication from them. So they obviously don't care about bad feed back or customer relations hence when we go back to Cairns in the not so distant future to visit friends and ex work buds we WILL NOT be staying at The Lakes again....... Shame for them we know so many people in Cairns on both a personal and professional basis. NOT GOOD FOR YOUR GOOD REPUTATION 'The Lakes' I'm sure Blue Lagoon will be better in November, you were given a very good chance to repair this wrong doing.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a two bedroom apartment which was quite spacious inside. The lounge furniture needs updating as its uncomfortable and the cushions slip off every time you try and get comfy!! The extra bed we requested was made up in the lounge so we moved it into the 2nd bedroom, although abit cramped it didn't matter. The air con units were effective but the clothes dryer was rubbish. We found chewing gum in the washing machine, the noise from upstairs banging and children thudding was annoying on two nights and the staff weren't that interested when we complained. The pools are amazing and plenty of space for everyone, was great on a hot day and were a hit with the kids. Not enough loungers or chairs though and only one barbecue was working when we went. The gym was closed and kids play room was up two flights of stairs (not suitable for young ones). Their is not really much in the way of groceries so be prepared to venture out but the shops aren't far away and there is plenty of choice. The grounds are nice and clean and it felt very safe. We loved our stay for the use of pools, safety for the kids and comfortable beds and other amenities. Was placed very near to the airport (you will see and hear them in the day) which was so easy for a family and a great base to enjoy many day trips.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithton, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We are a family of five and stayed recently for twelve nights in a three bedroom apartment. Having stayed at this resort a few years ago we were sad to see that it has not aged well. The apartments are in dire need of refurbishment and I am pleased to hear that this is exactly what is about to take place. Having said that, the pools and grounds are great, the staff are helpful and the location is very good. One suggestion for Management would be to escort guests to their rooms as when arriving at night trying to find apartments with inadeqate lighting does not make the best first impression.

Room Tip: When booking request a rennovated apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Lakes Cairns Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakes Cairns Resort

Address: 2 Greenslopes Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Lakes Cairns Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Lakes Cairns Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakes Cairns Hotel Cairns
The Lakes Cairns Resort And Spa
Lakes Resort Cairns
Lakes Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lakes Cairns Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.