We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like coming home!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reef Gateway Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Reef Gateway Apartments to your Saves list
Reef Gateway Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   239 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
“It's like coming home!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We've been to this Apartment complex now three times in the past three years, and it just seems to get better each time. The managers - Pam and Russ Elliott - take a professional, friendly and oh-so-helpful approach to their dealings with their clientele, which may explain why they have so many return guests. We had a two-bedroom apartment which was spotless, well-appointed, spacious and enjoying a large balcony overlooking the pool. The air-conditioning, even in winter, was welcome. But you go to this apartment complex mainly because of its great location and value-for-money. First, the location. It's not in the heart of the Cairns CBD but an easy 10-15 minute level-ground stroll away. It is directly opposite the huge, brand new, Cairns Hospital, so it's also in a quiet part of town, and, at the back, looking out over a giant green swathe of playing fields and trees. There's a convenience store and also a restaurant (Indonesian cuisine) on the right-hand corner diagonally opposite the main entrance and, at the rear entrance, the celebrated Cock & Bull Pub and great-value Restaurant on the next right hand corner diagonally up the road, and 50 metres distant. The local transport is 50 metres away in the next street and Russ or Pam will gladly arrange taxis and tours. We'd previously stayed in a number of hotels and other apartment buildings but would now not consider going anywhere else while in Cairns. The self-contained apartments at Reef Gateway have all the facilities and inclusions you'll need for a satisfying and supremenly comforatable stay in Cairns.

Room Tip: If you don't mind steep-ish stairs, #8 on the first floor is very good, as also #4 on the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    22
    10
    4
    8
See reviews for
39
24
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed at Reef Gateway for 3 nights. First of all the room size is enormous for the price we were charged. We were in their duplex. The room was very clean and filled with light and character. The only downside (minor) was that the shower and toilet is downstairs whilst the bedrooms are on the top floor. This may be a problem for those who need to use the toilet during the night, especially if you have older guests in your party. Of course for others it is no issue if you sleep though the night. The property owners, Russ and Pam are extremely friendly. Russ is also very knowledgeable with the tours and the operators so it is best to get his advice whilst booking for tours. (See my other review for Sunreef and Billy Tea). The only reason I did not give this a full 5 star is that internet is not included in the charges and secondly there are no decent breakfast places around (at least we could not find) if you had an early morning start (like 7 am). The main Esplanade area and the restaurants are a short 10 minute walk away so if you can walk it then it should be no problem. The washer and dryer in the apartment is an added bonus.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the toilet downstairs and the bedrooms upstairs, choose the duplex. They are r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jervis, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My wife and I have stayed in these apartments for 12 years because of excellent rates and very friendly staff. We find the rooms are of good size and comfortably furnished and convenient to grocery stores, clubs and restaurants, with the esplanade only 1 block away. Its also very close to Cairns Base Hospital and medical facilities.

I strongly recommend these apartments to anyone visiting Cairns.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berowra Heights
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Recently spent a few nights in Cairns. Good 2 bedroom apartment, clean, nice pool area. Room is slightly on the small size with no dining table which would be good in a self catering apartment. Good location near the esplanade, and a short 15 min walk to town. Staff were friendly and helpful but I found the advice given was limited and not very useful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed twice at the Reef Gateway Apts in June 2014. Great price for two bedroom / 1 bath units with a nicely equipped kitchen and washer/dryer. Clean and well maintained.
Staff was quite helpful and resolved a problem we encountered very quickly.
The price of internet access is too high. The city of Cairns has free WiFi blanketing the downtown area, so we used that.
The units appear to be individually owned so they are furnished differently. Unit 1 had comfy seating, Unit 2 was much less desirable with really uncomfortable seating.
A moderate walk from the Esplanade and downtown.

Room Tip: Skip Unit 2. Ask for Unit 1 if only those two are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My family of 5 recently spent 5 nights at this very affordable complex. Management placed us towards the back of the building facing the car park and it was the best option ever! Two of my young boys spent time each day when we returned to our room exploring around the quiet and enclosed car park. This venue is extremely child friendly and the rooms are very practical and have everything a family needs, especially the washing machine and dryer! Very close to yummy restaurants, taverns and grocery stores as well as the Esplanade! I would definitely refer friends and family to take advantage of the friendly and welcoming experience that Russ and his team have to offer at the Reef Gateway Apartments. Thanks again for all your local advise and help.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My family are seasoned travellers - we have two children and are always looking for great and affordable self-contained apartments close to amenities. We liked Reef Gateway because:

- Our 2-bed apartment was CLEAN (so important!) and renovated
- Russ the manager was always happy to help us when we needed.
- We were far enough from the hustle and bustle of the city but close enough to walk everywhere. Plus the esplanade is just a short stroll way as is Maddies, a cute playground for kids.
- It was a quiet block, our kids slept sound every night because we didn't hear a peep
- The apartment is stocked with everything you possibly need to begin with (but if you stay long term you might have to re-fill certain things like toilet paper etc)

I would definitely stay here again mostly because of the excellent service and cleanliness. Our family felt comfortable and welcome. It was cosy and home-like. PLUS we had foxtel!

We'll be back! Thanks Russ and co!

Room Tip: Our two bedroom apartment was excellent and it was ground level which was ideal for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reef Gateway Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Gateway Apartments

Address: 239 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Gateway Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We can offer you self-contained holiday accommodation in 1 or 2 bedroom apartments that contain everything that you want to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible. We are located an easy 15 minute walk from the centre of Cairns and the stunning Esplanade Lagoon, and just one block from the Esplanade. Your apartment can be a ground floor apartment with patio, a balcony apartment or a townhouse style apartment. For the person who likes to keep in contact with work and friends, we offer wireless internet in all apartments. All apartments are fully air-conditioned with ceiling fan in the lounge room. Included in each apartment is a full kitchen, laundry and a large lounge room with free Austar cable television. Relax by our floodlit salt water swimming pool complete with spa. The adjoining gas barbecue, surrounded by tropical plants, is in the pool area, and is set in the centre of the property far away from the sounds of traffic. We have an accredited Tour Desk, where we can assist you in the selection of the best tour for you. We do not have preferred operators, so our advice is unbiased and the service is free of charge. All major tour operators will pick you up from our front door and return you to your accommodation at the end of the day. Car hire can be arranged, and we will assist you with maps and advice to help you plan your self-drive excursions. Hire car pick up from the Airport can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Reef Gateway Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Gateway Apartments Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef Gateway Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.