We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reef Gateway Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Reef Gateway Apartments to your Saves list
Reef Gateway Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   239 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Cairns
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed at Reef Gateway for 3 nights. First of all the room size is enormous for the price we were charged. We were in their duplex. The room was very clean and filled with light and character. The only downside (minor) was that the shower and toilet is downstairs whilst the bedrooms are on the top floor. This may be a problem for those who need to use the toilet during the night, especially if you have older guests in your party. Of course for others it is no issue if you sleep though the night. The property owners, Russ and Pam are extremely friendly. Russ is also very knowledgeable with the tours and the operators so it is best to get his advice whilst booking for tours. (See my other review for Sunreef and Billy Tea). The only reason I did not give this a full 5 star is that internet is not included in the charges and secondly there are no decent breakfast places around (at least we could not find) if you had an early morning start (like 7 am). The main Esplanade area and the restaurants are a short 10 minute walk away so if you can walk it then it should be no problem. The washer and dryer in the apartment is an added bonus.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the toilet downstairs and the bedrooms upstairs, choose the duplex. They are r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    26
    12
    4
    8
See reviews for
43
25
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Jervis, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My wife and I have stayed in these apartments for 12 years because of excellent rates and very friendly staff. We find the rooms are of good size and comfortably furnished and convenient to grocery stores, clubs and restaurants, with the esplanade only 1 block away. Its also very close to Cairns Base Hospital and medical facilities.

I strongly recommend these apartments to anyone visiting Cairns.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berowra Heights
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Recently spent a few nights in Cairns. Good 2 bedroom apartment, clean, nice pool area. Room is slightly on the small size with no dining table which would be good in a self catering apartment. Good location near the esplanade, and a short 15 min walk to town. Staff were friendly and helpful but I found the advice given was limited and not very useful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed twice at the Reef Gateway Apts in June 2014. Great price for two bedroom / 1 bath units with a nicely equipped kitchen and washer/dryer. Clean and well maintained.
Staff was quite helpful and resolved a problem we encountered very quickly.
The price of internet access is too high. The city of Cairns has free WiFi blanketing the downtown area, so we used that.
The units appear to be individually owned so they are furnished differently. Unit 1 had comfy seating, Unit 2 was much less desirable with really uncomfortable seating.
A moderate walk from the Esplanade and downtown.

Room Tip: Skip Unit 2. Ask for Unit 1 if only those two are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My family of 5 recently spent 5 nights at this very affordable complex. Management placed us towards the back of the building facing the car park and it was the best option ever! Two of my young boys spent time each day when we returned to our room exploring around the quiet and enclosed car park. This venue is extremely child friendly and the rooms are very practical and have everything a family needs, especially the washing machine and dryer! Very close to yummy restaurants, taverns and grocery stores as well as the Esplanade! I would definitely refer friends and family to take advantage of the friendly and welcoming experience that Russ and his team have to offer at the Reef Gateway Apartments. Thanks again for all your local advise and help.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My family are seasoned travellers - we have two children and are always looking for great and affordable self-contained apartments close to amenities. We liked Reef Gateway because:

- Our 2-bed apartment was CLEAN (so important!) and renovated
- Russ the manager was always happy to help us when we needed.
- We were far enough from the hustle and bustle of the city but close enough to walk everywhere. Plus the esplanade is just a short stroll way as is Maddies, a cute playground for kids.
- It was a quiet block, our kids slept sound every night because we didn't hear a peep
- The apartment is stocked with everything you possibly need to begin with (but if you stay long term you might have to re-fill certain things like toilet paper etc)

I would definitely stay here again mostly because of the excellent service and cleanliness. Our family felt comfortable and welcome. It was cosy and home-like. PLUS we had foxtel!

We'll be back! Thanks Russ and co!

Room Tip: Our two bedroom apartment was excellent and it was ground level which was ideal for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in this place. When I booked I asked like always a place for 6 people. He told me that he has and so I booked. Even when we came he saw that our family has 6 members.
In the evening we realized we are 2 towels short. After calling we got it only next morning. Then we realized that we are 2 beds short. So 2 people had to sleep on the 2 two seater sofas.
When we complaint next day he played dumb and told he didn't know we are 6. At least at check in he could have mentioned that. So very dodgy, be carefull when you book and ask enough questions. The fellows name is Ross.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ E, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Rainer,
After reading your Review I must admit to being very saddened, as we tried to make your stay as comfortable and welcoming as possible. Your complaint is that you asked for and expected accommodation for 6 persons, and as you booked directly with us I can only assume that you took the time to look at our Website. We clearly state there that we only have 1 & 2 Bedroom apartments and that the MAXIMUM number of guests we can accommodate is 5. At no stage can I remember you mentioning that you were 6 persons. However, when your party checked in it was early afternoon and you really had ample time to see that there was only sleeping room for 4 persons. You however called me at 7.45 pm requesting 2 more towels. Unfortunately we were out at Dinner and we placed the towels outside the Door after our return. As it was rather late we did not knock. The next day around 11am you called and said you were 6 persons and that 2 persons slept on the Sofas. We were most upset at this misunderstanding and immediately offered 2 place 2 more beds in the Apartment at no extra cost to you. You accepted this immediately and we felt we had done what we could at that late stage to resolve this issue. It is our belief that this was a misunderstanding, and that had you spoken to us during business hours on the first day this problem could have been resolved immediately to the satisfaction of all.
My wife and I are most upset that this misunderstanding came to pass and sincerely regret any discomfort caused to you and your family.
Sincerely
Russ E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Waterfront Terraces
Waterfront Terraces
#31 of 67 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#19 of 67 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#15 of 67 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Towers Holiday Suites
0.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#7 of 67 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Gateway Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Gateway Apartments

Address: 239 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Gateway Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We can offer you self-contained holiday accommodation in 1 or 2 bedroom apartments that contain everything that you want to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible. We are located an easy 15 minute walk from the centre of Cairns and the stunning Esplanade Lagoon, and just one block from the Esplanade. Your apartment can be a ground floor apartment with patio, a balcony apartment or a townhouse style apartment. For the person who likes to keep in contact with work and friends, we offer wireless internet in all apartments. All apartments are fully air-conditioned with ceiling fan in the lounge room. Included in each apartment is a full kitchen, laundry and a large lounge room with free Austar cable television. Relax by our floodlit salt water swimming pool complete with spa. The adjoining gas barbecue, surrounded by tropical plants, is in the pool area, and is set in the centre of the property far away from the sounds of traffic. We have an accredited Tour Desk, where we can assist you in the selection of the best tour for you. We do not have preferred operators, so our advice is unbiased and the service is free of charge. All major tour operators will pick you up from our front door and return you to your accommodation at the end of the day. Car hire can be arranged, and we will assist you with maps and advice to help you plan your self-drive excursions. Hire car pick up from the Airport can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Reef Gateway Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Gateway Apartments Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef Gateway Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.