We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place a little far from city center.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reef Gateway Apartments

Save Saved
You added Reef Gateway Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reef Gateway Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   239 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
BOOK DIRECTLY
Ranked #17 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Kolbotn, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place a little far from city center.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Friendly welcome, nice 2 bedroom apt. A good choice to stay here when in Cairns if you're not conserned about walking 15-20 minutes to get to the center. The pool wasn't too inviting, but we didn't stay there to swim in a pool.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ E, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Kari,

Thank you so much for your Review of the Reef Gateway Apartments. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will tell your friends about us. The walk into Town is probably about 15 to 20 minutes if you take the route we suggest which is really a beautiful walk along the Esplanade with the Parklands on one side and Trinity Bay on the other. However, if one were to take the most direct route it is only 12 minutes at a reasonable pace to the Town Centre. At this time of year the Pool gets a bit warm up here, however, we have taken steps to improve the temperature by putting a cover over it, and we are advised by the Pool Company that the temperature has now dropped to around 26 degrees celsius. We would love the opportunity to greet you here again, and once again thank you for your review.
Russ E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    19
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
33
20
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights in July in one bedroom apartment on the first floor. It is in a good location, only a short walk to the esplanade. The apartment was clean and nicely decorated - the only problem we had was that a light wasn't working but it was fixed very quickly. The apartment had a full kitchen and a washing machine and dryer. Being in an apartment meant we could prepare our own meals and do our washing which was very useful. The staff were very friendly and Russ was very helpful in advising us which excursions to book and in helping us to book them. It was a bit chilly to use the pool but we did use the barbecue which is a really nice feature to be able to use. We loved Cairns and would defintely stay here again if we ever go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ E, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your Review of the Reef Gateway Apartments. We take great pride in our Apartments and always try to give the best possible service to all our Guests and it is always nice when we get good reviews. We sincerely hope that you will come and visit us again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Russ E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 4 nights from the 13 October 2013. After catching a late flight the keys were left for us so we could still get into our apartment after phoning ahead. Upon arrival and entering the apartment I discovered that Russ and his wife had decorated the apartment owing to it being my birthday upon arrival. This was a great touch and a very warm welcome. It's a 10 min walk to the centre which is a nice walk along the esplanade. Being just a little out of town so you can enjoy the party atmosphere if you wish but then escape back for some peace and quiet. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub at the end of the day and also made use of the communal BBQ. Russ is a great character and full of useful knowledge and helped us book some days trips. The apartment itself has everything you need and they supply you with those useful little things like some washing powder so you don't need to buy a load knowing you are not going to use all of it. Very clean and modern interior. As the name suggests this is a great gateway to the reef and into the town. I definitely hope to come back again. Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ E, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thankyou so much for your very complimentary review. We really loved having you here, and sincerely hope that you can realise your wish to come back and stay with us again.
Regards
RussE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

There are small ants everywhere. You have to throw garbage away to the back of the carpark everyday by yourself. I have visited many hotels, motels and service apartment in the Canada, U.S.A., Europe, China, Korea, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam etc.
But the Reef Gateway Apartment is the only place that don't provide bathroom tissue, shampoo etc except for the first day. When we ask for some more the next day (we are four persons staying for 4 nights), the only answer is that here is not hotel, so bathroom tissue is provided. It seems that we are begging for something. In supermarket, the bathroom tissue is sold in bags. We cannot buy 1 bathroom tissue. That means travellers have to buy many bathroom tissues. Surely you cannot use them all and you don't want to bring the tissue home. Then they are remained in the apartment for the owner of the apartment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ E, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thankyou for your review of The Reef Gateway Apartments. We are truly sorry that you do not understand the nature of Self Catering Apartments. All our Apartments are fully equipped as in as normal Unit, allowing the Guests to do their cooking, washing etc in the Apartment. We, (as most other Apartments of this type in Australia) provide a Starter Pack with the basic essentials in order to allow time for Guests to purchase the things they need for their time of stay. It is unfortunate that you were unaware of this and we hope that you will understand for future possible visits to Australia.
Russ E
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My daughters and I spent 5 days in a 2 bedroom apartment. It was spacious and spotless. I love the apartment concept with our own kitchen with a washer and dryer. The location was perfect to either walk or drive to the beach or CBD. Russ could not have been more helpful in finding just the right tours for us and our diverse interests and priorities. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ E, General Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks very much for your very kind review. We are genuinely pleased that you enjoyed yhour stay so much and trust that you will visit us again with your friends in the near future.
Regards
Russ E
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Arrived 5/10/13 for 4 nights. Arrived early at approximately 1130 am. Met by Russ the owner who could not do enough for us. Checked in and opened the door to our apartment (no 8) overlooking the pool. The apartment had everything we needed, very clean, spacious and comfortable. Russ recommended places to go and trips to book which we did and were not disappointed. Overall we could not have been happier about our trip to Cairns and where we stayed. The apartments are a lovely 10 minute walk along the esplanade to all the restaurants and bars and is ideal to get on the highway to explore this beautiful part of Australia.

Room Tip: Room 8, excellent apartment overlooking the pool up one flight of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ E, General Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thankyou so much for your review of our Apartments. It was greatly appreciated and we sincerely hope that you and your friends will visit us again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Russ E
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast Aus
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at The Reef Gateway Apartments the last week of August after spending a week in Port Douglas and attending my nephews wedding. We stayed in apartment 15 which was a 2 bedroom apartment as we had our 2 sons (23,21) with us. The apartment was on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool.Good pool and BBQ area. The apartment was very spacious and clean with a good sized kitchen with all the appliances you need. We caught taxis into the center of town,only cost $8.00 each way. Plenty to do around Cairns,Sky rail,reef,fishing,great restaurants and bars.Russ and Pam were great hosts and you can book all your tours at reception.We had a Great time in Cairns.

Room Tip: Apartment 15 2 bedroom overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ E, Manager at Reef Gateway Apartments, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for your review. It is always pleasing to get some nice positive comments. We sincerely hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Russ E
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Reef Gateway Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Gateway Apartments

Address: 239 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Gateway Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We can offer you self-contained holiday accommodation in 1 or 2 bedroom apartments that contain everything that you want to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible. We are located an easy 15 minute walk from the centre of Cairns and the stunning Esplanade Lagoon, and just one block from the Esplanade. Your apartment can be a ground floor apartment with patio, a balcony apartment or a townhouse style apartment. For the person who likes to keep in contact with work and friends, we offer wireless internet in all apartments. All apartments are fully air-conditioned with ceiling fan in the lounge room. Included in each apartment is a full kitchen, laundry and a large lounge room with free Austar cable television. Relax by our floodlit salt water swimming pool complete with spa. The adjoining gas barbecue, surrounded by tropical plants, is in the pool area, and is set in the centre of the property far away from the sounds of traffic. We have an accredited Tour Desk, where we can assist you in the selection of the best tour for you. We do not have preferred operators, so our advice is unbiased and the service is free of charge. All major tour operators will pick you up from our front door and return you to your accommodation at the end of the day. Car hire can be arranged, and we will assist you with maps and advice to help you plan your self-drive excursions. Hire car pick up from the Airport can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Reef Gateway Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Gateway Apartments Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef Gateway Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.