We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
23-51 Anderson Road, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Cairns Coconut Caravan Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Kids Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We chose the Coconut Resort specifically as a place to keep our 20 month-old entertained. We figured a happy baby was a necessary basis for a happy holiday.
The CCHR has great facilities for kids from 18m to teenage, with great pool & spalsh park facilities, pedal carts, tennis, climbing equipment, a games room and more.
The park is well designed, with the family-friendly cabins/villas are close to all the kids amusements, while the grey nomads and their camp sites are on the other side where it's a bit quieter.
There are planned events every day, it reminded me a bit of a cruise liner.

We stayed in 2 bdr villa. The villa was of a good size, though we had to put the baby cot on top of a bunk bed. The one negative was the Queen bed in the main bedroom was soft and sagged awfully at the edges.

We requested and got a villa with an upright oven/cooktop. We were able to bake muffins & slices on our first couple of days that saw us through the week.

A/C was great, but as we were there in July, we didn't use it much. We had two TVs, but as our little one was either sleeping or keeping us busy, we didn't use the main bed TV.

The free WiFi wasn't very good. Even as an IT tech I found it painful to use and just stuck with using my own personal hotspot from my phone, as mobile reception was good in the area.

Service was friendly and quality.

The attached mini-mart was good. The nearest IGA was somewhere around 7 mins walk (though you may need 5 mins to walk to the front gate) so it was convenient. They had a fair range for the sort of stuff families and nomads wound need, open until 7.30pm most/all nights.

We only went to the café alongside the mini-mart once, on our first night. We ordered fishermans' baskets and it was awful and quite expensive. We didn't go back for the rest of the stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHRManagement, Manager at Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear BiglcePete,

Thank you for your honest and detailed review of the resort and for giving us the opportunity to address the issues that you raised. Your comments have really identified all of the reasons why people just keep coming back to stay with us, year on year. Our aim is to create a family holiday destination based on the number of facilities, inclusions and attractions and the fact that you never have to leave the resort.

Let me apologise for the comfort of your bed, this is something we are very particular about as we understand the need for a good sleep when you are away from home and your own bed. Part of our standard quality checks is to ensure the quality of the mattress and I am unable to explain how your mattress got missed. Since receiving your review we have replaced that mattress with a new one and are conducting a follow up check on all accommodation styles.

We too share your frustration with the Internet service. We have been lobbying all levels of government to try and get an upgrade to the infrastructure that services the park. On a positive note, it appears we are making headway and hope to have the issues resolved in the next month or so.

I have addressed your comments with the operator of the cafe, who will follow up with his staff.
While we don't operate the Coconut Cafe, I do understand that from a guest's perspective it seems part of the resort's operation and therefore must be up to the standard we set for ourselves.

Once again thank you for your review and I do hope we see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    53
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
236
47
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tumut, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We came to cairns for the first time to play golf in a week long competition . Coconut Cairns Holiday Park was our base. Efficient and friendly staff, clean amenities, we were in our own van but so many different forms of accommodation to suit every need !!!! School holidays and kids everywhere but noise was not an issue ...there is so much for the kids todo they are kept busy all day. Will definitely recommend this park to one and all and we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHRManagement, Manager at Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Janet W,

Thank you for your wonderful review. The items you identified really are the reasons why people just keep coming back to us year after year. An accommodation style to suit all budgets, the layout of the resort and the number of free activities and attractions make for a memorable holiday!
Once again, thank you for your comments and I do look forward to seeing you again on your next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay, lots people coming and going. Excellent service, amenities and camping sites. Great free bus in and out of town and shopping centres. Suggest cut back some trees and limit use of heated spa to adults only or persons over10 as an example. Young ones got plenty of things to do. Not nice in spa with babies and toddlers splashing about.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHRManagement, Manager at Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Gwenie30,

Thank for your great review of the resort and your suggestions and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our grounds team work amazingly hard to keep the 28 acres of park looking fabulous at all times and do a full prune and trim regularly throughout the year. One of the great things about living in the tropics is that everything grows so fast and is always lush. I understand your comments in relation to use of the heated spa, it is a difficult thing to be able to constantly manage and monitor.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I do hope we see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for about 10 days on a powered en suite site and it was very pleasant surroundings and very clean place all round. This place has almost everything for every body from two swimming pools, splash park, mini golf, tennis court plus more. It is great also for the access to the town, there is the local bus stop just outside the main entrance, or there is a courtesy bus from the village to town. There is a good cafe and little shop on site that covers most requirements. I can say first hand that the staff are fabulous. I had a fall on the tennis court and the staff were very helpful, paramedics were needed, thank you for all the action that was taken and I am very happy that staff went that extra mile in getting my washing out of the machine and dried and returned to our site. All round good clean site.

Room Tip: Try for accomadation away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHRManagement, Manager at Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Bothofus58,

Thank you for your terrific review of our lovely resort. I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the many attractions and facilities the resort has to offer. We really are a holiday destination as we have so much to offer, you never have to leave. I have passed your appreciation onto my staff that assisted your wife, they really are a great team!

Once again thank you for your review and I do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Great resort. Made welcome. Stayed in a camper trailer. Only downer was they didn't serve any gluten free food at the cafe. Nice camp kitchen. Toilets and showers were clean. Great activities for kids. Will be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHRManagement, Manager at Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Hanz33,

Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and will choose to stay with us again in the future. I have passed your comments onto the operator of the Coconut cafe and he will look at including a Gluten free option on the menu.

Once again, thanks for your review and I do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed for 8 days and I found the Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort an excellent place for my family. You don't even have to leave the park if you don't want to, they have a small shop with necessities. And if you do need to leave the park you can catch the courtesy bus into town. We will definitely be staying again the next time we are in Cairns.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the play equipment if you have kids so you can watch and enjoy a quiet drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHRManagement, Manager at Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear MonicaJW,

Thank you for your review. I am happy that we exceeded your expectations, the attractions and facilities of the resort really make us a family holiday destination so that you don't have to leave resort.

Once again, thank you for your review and I hope that next trip to Cairns isn't too far away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We booked a powered site for 3 nights - as grey nomads in a motorhome this park ticked all our boxes. We booked our day trips through their office and their mini bus took us into the city for shopping. Our stay was perfect, the staff friendly and helpful. It was the cleanest park we stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCHRManagement, Manager at Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear bobanddi4,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, our guests do tell us that the resort is perfectly suited to Grey Nomads, in fact we have had some Nomads visiting every year for the past 20 years. Also pleased to see that you used our Courtesy coach and tour desk, these services really take the hassle out of a holiday.

Once again, thank you for your review and I look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort

Address: 23-51 Anderson Road, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Cairns Coconut Caravan Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#2 Family Hotel in Cairns
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly self-contained accommodation with the most amazing range of free activities including SPLASH water park, mini golf, the NEOS interactive playground, two resort pools, the biggest Jumping Pillow in the Southern Hemisphere and much much more. Accommodation choices range from luxury three bedroom Condos, fully self contained with two bathrooms to Tropical Cabins for those on a budget.Multi award winning including the 2013 Australian Tourism Award for Best Tourist & Holiday Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Coconut Holiday Hotel Cairns
Cairns Caravan Coconut Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.