We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW, need I say more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Aquarius

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns Aquarius to your Saves list
Cairns Aquarius
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE WI-FI IN APARTMENTS
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Warragul, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WOW, need I say more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

wow, this place was the best': extremely comfortable; location....brilliant: views amazing, we enjoyed the balcony sitting there and taking it all in, my girlfriend and I fell in love with the place, the rooms are large and comfortable , so close to all the amenities, we made the most of hitting the streets to the markets, the restaurants, the esplanade and the lagoon. Everything that you are looking for is here. A huge 'thank you' to Don & Annette you have an amazing hotel, your attention to detail is spot on,

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    31
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
94
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Many thanks to Don and Annette for their friendly and professional attentiveness and assistance during our stay at Cairns Aquarius.

Our accommodation was modern with all of the necessary requirements and appliances.

Our view were spectacular from every angle.

My partner and I had a great time and look forward to returning in the very near future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

We spent the school holidays here on the 6th floor in Unit 39 - we will return and request this unit again. The views were amazing looking directly over the Coral Sea, Esplanade and to the right the Lagoon and Pier.
The unit was very comfortable with modern appliances (including flat screen in lounge and master bedroom, DVD player and Austar) and felt clean, fresh and airy. Beautifully decorated.
Very comfortable for our family of 4 and close to everything in city so we could walk comfortably with young children.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakes Entrance
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stayed in Appartment 22 on the 3rd floor.
The Apartment was furnished lovely, very homely, welcoming feel.
The Apartment was sparkling clean, sheets, towels were spotless.
Highly Recommended, everything is walking distance, the view was fabulous, many breakfasts & coffees on balcany. Annette is the perfect host,warm welcome;Well done. We will see you again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Have returned from a wonderful three weeks staying in unit 39 on the 6th floor. The unit has recently been renovated, with new furniture, including comfy beds, dining suite and appliances in the kitchen. There’s also some lovely new artwork on the walls. Friends popped in for a visit while there and absolutely loved what they saw, both the unit and the view.

There is plenty of space in the unit, and the patio is huge, not postage-stamp sized like you might see elsewhere.

The unit has a magnificent 180 degree view, looking north towards Yorkies Knob, across the Trinity Inlet, down to the Pier and the Marina and across to False Cape, so there’s always something to see.

The Cairns Aquarius is located on the Esplanade close to lots of restaurants, and within a short walking distance of two supermarkets, major car rental company collection/drop-off offices, and the city bus route.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

I have just returned from a wonderful stay at Cairns Aquarius, where I was fortunate enough to stay in Unit 39...yes, the very same Unit that you will see mentioned below. Evidently, thanks to Trip Advisor, the owners took the advise and have just FULLY RENOVATED the apartment under the expertise of an interior designer. It is gorgeous, with all new top end furniture and appliances, a full repaint and TWO flat screen HD TVs. On top of that, it has fabuloius views to Green Island., walking distance to restraunts, shops etc and with underground parking, two pools and a tennis court all on site, what more could you ask for. I can't wait to go again and have rebooked that same Unit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

I booked the Cairns Aquarius based on the perception received from their web site of modern, beautifully appointed apartments. The reality upon arrival was a unit that more closely resembled a budget 1970’s beach flat. Not at all what we were expecting for the price, particularly when I had phoned to make the booking and specifically asked for a description of the unit and even stated that I had looked at the web site. This would have been the perfect opportunity for Annette to point out that not all units are up-to-date or as depicted on the site, but she was more interested in getting my credit card details pronto…
Based on their blatant misrepresentation I wouldn’t recommend the Cairns Aquarius to anyone, not until they either bring their units into the 21st century or at the very least make some attempt to differentiate them and charge accordingly. I’d suggest you’d find much better value elsewhere, even if you have to pay slightly more.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Your review seems a little harsh and does not at all reflect the ovewhelming sentiments conveyed in other reviews. However we certainly take your concerns very seriously and appologise for not having met your expectations.

What a pity that you did not pick up the phone or contact us at all during your stay. Had you done so we would most certainly have shown you other apartments which you may have prefered.

Don and Annette
Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairns Aquarius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Aquarius

Address: 107 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns Aquarius 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cairns Aquarius holiday apartment is the perfect holiday destinaton choice for your stay in tropical Cairns, Far North Queensland. Enjoy the accommodation convenience of a fully furnished, self-contained, waterfront holiday apartment in the heart of Cairns city. Stroll along the Cairns Esplanade, recline on a sun lounge by the pool or experience the breathtaking ocean views from your private balcony in Tropical Far North Queensland. All premium apartments have been fully refurbished to 5 star.Book direct with Cairns Aqarius through our Web Site or call us.Don and Annette ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Booking.com so you can book your Cairns Aquarius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Aquarius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.