We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Aquarius

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns Aquarius to your Saves list
Cairns Aquarius
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE WI-FI IN APARTMENTS
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here for several night in early June. location is superb - right on the Esplanade with loads of eateries nearby - short walk to Supermarkets, the Lagoon and the Marina.
Stayed in Apt 24 on the 4th floor - very well kept with two bedrooms, fully equipped kitchen, bathroom with a spa, ensuite, laundry, dining area and lounge room. Great view over the Esplanade - the only slight disappointment was the lack of a real balcony, but we knew this already - and really this is just a minor thing.
There are two pools (which do need a little TLC), a BBQ area and a tennis court also.
Bottom line, this is an excellent choice for families looking for a comfortable base when coming to Cairns.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your very positive review. It's always rewarding to learn that our visitors enjoyed their stay with us.
Hopefully we will one day see you back at Cairns Aquarius, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    30
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
93
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We (a party of 4, 1 couple and 2 friends) booked our stay here in early May. (Room 29)

It was everything we wanted - impeccable location, so much space inside the apartment, all the cooking utensils and equipment, a seaview balcony where we can enjoy our breakfast or just a glass of chilled wine.

We never met the owners in person, everything was done via emails.

The only complaint we have is that the wifi didn't really work in our rooms. We had to stay in the living room to go online.

Oh and one tip for booking cheaper alternative transport to the airport - head down to a counter (it should belong to the hostel upstairs where you can book all sorts of activities in Cairns) which is next to the pizza shop (the only one you can smell the pizza when you pass by). They have a shuttle service to the airport. It costs us AUD $22 for 4 people. This is so cheap compared the taxi fares we paid to get here. (Since we all had big luggages, we needed 2 separate taxis which costs AUD $25 per cab from the airport to Aquarius)

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Cairns. It's such a beautiful and energetic city. The convenient location and clean apartment just made our trip so much better!

If you can cook, strongly advise you to head down to woolworths a few blocks away and buy the steak back to cook! It saves us so much money and the steak is really yum!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Hi Cassie, Thank you for your lovely review photographs. We are always delighted when our guests take the time to share their Cairns Aquarius experience.

Hopefully we will one day see you return to Cairns Aquarius.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newman, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed at Aquarius the week that Cyclone Ita reared it's head.

Firstly we were very impressed with the customer service here, Annette and Don respond to emails so quickly and friendly.

We were in Apartment 3, not a new apartment, but my gosh the amount of room you have is amazing, we loved the balcony too.

Lots of free austar channels, has two tv's, one in lounge and one in 2nd bedroom.

Love having the washer and dryer in the apartment.

Found the 2nd bedroom had icy cold a/con and tall newish beds.

The master bedroom was so large, and had an extra room off the side between bed and bathroom for luggage to be kept. The master does have aircon, but we found we couldn't get much aircon due to it being on a cupboard, think the cool air was going down onto cupboard instead of out into the room. But that being said, the room was still fine as there was a large ceiling fan in there too.

I was a bit iffy about the master bed as it was very low and looked old (dressed nice - but pattern on mattress looked old fashioned), however I found that I had the best sleeps on this bed, as did hubby.

They also had a sandwich maker, toaster and all the pots and pans you could need.

Apartment was on garden level, would have loved a higher level to get the great view of the water.

The location was amazing, right over the road from the water, just one minute from restaurants, around the cnr from an IGA (don't go there very over priced).

We did hire a car, there is underground parking available, maybe go for a small car, some places are a bit hatder to get into with a largwr vehicle - we had a mid size 4wd.

On our first night in, we were later than planned due to flight delays, we rang and let them know, they were fine, left the keys etc in the safe (you get instructions when you book). After we got some dinner and returned to room, the tv was playing up, we rang to see what we were doing, and Don came down straight away to sort it out.

Look I can't say how much we enjoyed our stay in Cairns, disapppinted only as we left early due to Cyclone Ita.

We'd def return, try for a higher apartment for the view. Thank you Don and Annette for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you Seadaz and family for your excellent review. I remember you and your family well. As you so correctly state, if you're going to get caught in a cyclone, a Cairns Aquarius apartment is about the best option. Immensely secure and strong building with a very large apartment, masses of space and privacy and every facility you will need.

We look forward to seeing you back here one day to enjoy some of our better weather.

Regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We recently spent our weekend in cairns and stayed at the Aquarius apartments. We were very happy with location, the spacious size and cleanliness of the unit.. Lovely view from the balcony. Kitchen well equipped. Full size laundry,fridge and dishwasher.. Not brand new but well maintained. Full austar available and free wifi. Definitely be back here on our next trip to cairns

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your Cairns Aquarius holiday. It's always rewarding for us to learn that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. And even more so to know that you will be returning.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannonvale, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We recently spent Easter in cairns and stayed at the Aquarius apartments. We were very happy with location, the spacious size and cleanliness of the unit and would happily return. Lovely view from the balcony. Kitchen well equipped. Full size laundry,fridge and dishwasher.little touches like washing up detergent and clothes washing powder provided. Not brand new but well maintained. Full austar available and free wifi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you Gandalfv for your lovely review. It really is appreciated when guests take the time to share their Cairns Aquarius holiday experience with other Trip Advisor reviewers.

Delighted that you and your family enjoyed your holiday in apartment 3. A very popular choice for families. Hopefully we will see you back at Cairns Aquarius one day for another holiday.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband and I spent a week at Cairns Aquarius with his parents in a newly renovated 2 bedroom apartment. We were all very impressed with the quality of the apartment, very spacious and clean.

Centrally located, easy to walk to cafes/restaurants/supermarket/tour booking shops.

We had a swim almost each day, and were the always the only ones in there - felt like our own private pool!

Everyone in the complex was lovely, this is a great place to holiday with your family - very safe & secure.

Will we be back? For sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear "Saturdaisy",
Thank you so much for taking the time to send in your fantastic review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Cairns Aquarius.
It really is rewarding for Annette and I to hear that we have met our guests' expectations.
Hopefully we will see you return one day in the not too distant future.

Until then our best wishes to you and your family.
Don and Annette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our family booked Cairns Aquarius based on the Trip Advisor reviews which we read. Always a bit apprehensive when we travel such a long way for an infrequent holiday, but I have to say that this place exceeded our highest expectations.
Our apartment was ultra clean, very large and modern. Every facility, like kitchen, laundry, separate toilet and showers, huge lounge room and massive balcony with breathtaking views. I think that that sums it up.
For the eight days which we stayed we did just about every tour and reef trip that we could. Cairns is a great location and the tours are fantastic but coming back to our apartment was the icing on the cake. Best holiday ever!

Room Tip: Our apartment was in the middle of the building but it seems like there are excellent sea views from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairnsaquarius1, General Manager at Cairns Aquarius, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you very much Percy T for your outstanding review. Knowing that your holiday experience at Cairns Aquarius was all that your family could have wished for is really rewarding for us. We do try really hard to ensure that our guests have a good experience when they stay with us.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such a fantastic review and we look forward to your return visit; hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Don and Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairns Aquarius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Aquarius

Address: 107 The Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns Aquarius 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cairns Aquarius holiday apartment is the perfect holiday destinaton choice for your stay in tropical Cairns, Far North Queensland. Enjoy the accommodation convenience of a fully furnished, self-contained, waterfront holiday apartment in the heart of Cairns city. Stroll along the Cairns Esplanade, recline on a sun lounge by the pool or experience the breathtaking ocean views from your private balcony in Tropical Far North Queensland. All premium apartments have been fully refurbished to 5 star.Book direct with Cairns Aqarius through our Web Site or call us.Don and Annette ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Cairns Aquarius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Hotel Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairns Aquarius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.