We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rydges Esplanade in Cairns excelled” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns to your Saves list
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   209-217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rydges Esplanade in Cairns excelled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

I live in Queensland and came up to Cairns with my family over the school holidays. We didn't know where in Cairns to stay but had heard of Rydges through a friend and got told that the hotel was quite family friendly, close enough to town but not right in centre and had the new council skate park out the front.
After arriving from a 4 hour 'road trip' we were greeted at reception be a very friendly man who was more than willing to assist with our luggage, in fact all the staff seemed more than willing to assist us. We checked in to our hotel room which was very spacious, had a nice balcony with an amazing view out to the ocean.
We found out that there was a little shuttle bus into the city but preferred the 10 minute walk (4 hours in a car was enough). We weren't going to eat in the restaurant but the 'Fire and Ice' buffet was fantastic - the chef cooks in front of you your main and you get your side dishes, pastas, antipasto, salads and desserts from the buffet. Quite well priced and have special childrens rates.
After 3 days in Cairns we headed up to Palm Cove - wish we'd stayed at Rydges Esplanade the whole time.

  • Liked — Everything - staff, location, rooms, pool with swim up bar
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERALESPLANADE, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, June 3, 2008
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I am delighted that you and the family enjoyed your vacation at the Resort and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Wayne Woods
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    231
    134
    56
    21
See reviews for
136
189
49
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Lancashire, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2007

Stayed here for 4 nights 6-10 Jan '07.
Good standard of hotel, reception staff very helpful and friendly.
Room spacious, clean and well air conditioned.
Paid a little extra for sea view and it was superb.
Easy walking distance to the central Cairns area.
The breakfast buffet could have been a lot better, food only just warm each morning, not a great hot food selection.
Also the hotel bar was very inconsistant with its closing times, it appeared to be the decision of the young girls working the bar when it was to shut-one night 10.45pm, the next night 11.35pm-not really ideal on your hols and worse still without proper warning!
Got a tip from a staff member on a particularly hot day when the main pool at the front of the hotel was crowded that there was a smaller pool at the back of the complex, through the health club area-went to it and it was our own private pool for the afternoon in the baking sun, sun beds galore!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — Poor breakfast
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERALESPLANADE, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, May 6, 2008
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and look forward to welcoming you back yo Cairns.

Kind Regards,

Wayne Woods
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

My wife and I visited Brisbane, the Gold Coast and Cairns for our honeymoon, and stayed at the Rydges Esplanade Resort for the final leg of our vacation.

Don't be fooled by the outlook of the hotel - granted it looks a little old and scruffy from the exterior, but inside the deco is modern, exotic and overall very clean and inviting. Of the three hotels we stayed in (Sebel Suites in Brisbane, Watermark in the Gold Coast) the staff at Rydges were by far the best - extremely sincere, very friendly and supremely helpful. They always smiled and chatted to you everytime they bumped into you and were never too busy to help. Of the 3 hotels, the Rydges Esplanade Resort were also the only ones to have addressed our honeymoon and provided us with a 'nice' bottle of champagne upon reaching our room. A very nice touch indeed.

The rooms themselves were very big and spacious. We had a lovely room with a panoramic view overlooking the Reef Pier on the left to Cairns Central shopping centre on the right. The deco was arguably a little 'old-skool' but was nonetheless very well kept and clean. The bathroom was huge with a separate bath tub and shower area. The room came with a small lounge with sofas and of course the essential were there (TV, minibar, wardrobes) etc.

The hotel also has a good business centre, a nice restaurant with a lovely breakfast buffet, and a large tourist information area where they have all the pamphlets for the various day tours which you can join. The hotel even have designated staff and desk to help with booking the day tours.

Location-wise it is hard to assess the Resort. Its a 20 or so minute walk into the town centre - granted, this is not overly far (relatively speaking) and the walk itself (either down the esplanade or through the town itself) is a very pleasant one, but when you see that there are similar looking resorts and hotels located closer to the town centre and when you consider that the town itself is pretty quiet all round - even when you're close to the town centre - you cannot help but think that maybe somewhere a little closer would be better.

The hotel does have a nice shuttle bus which stops at all the major attractions and landmarks in Cairns, but while this a nice feature, the bus only departs on an hourly basis and the service ends a little early.

I never got to use the pool, in fact I think it was being renovated, but it looked pretty good when I walked past it.

Overall, we had an excellent stay and the service, as well as the room itself, was virtually flawless. Distance and travel was a little bit of a disadvantage, but this all depends on the individual.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarthCairns, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, February 11, 2007
Thank you very much for your comments to yor recent stay with us, in particular to the positive comments regarding our Team at Rydges Esplanade. They are our greatest resorce. We all hope to see you again when you next visit Cairns.

Garth Simmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Address: 209-217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story Hotel Towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.