We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has seen better days...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns to your Saves list
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   209-217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It has seen better days...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is nicely located at the seafront but it looks outdated. Staff are not whst you call friendly and wifi in the room doesnt work. The pool area is quite dead and looks a bit abandoned. Is a good hotel but calling it a resort is a bit too much. 3 star hotel maximum.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    210
    122
    51
    20
See reviews for
125
167
47
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paddock Wood
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having read the reviews below I can say I do not agree.

We were on the 12th floor our room was spacious with two queen size beds, plenty of storage space. Bathroom was big enough, but I do agree the shower curtain was not long enough. It just meant that water got onto the floor.

Breakfast catered for every taste, english breakfast, continental, asian, fruit, cereal all types of coffee and juices.

We don't normally like this type of hotel as we class it as "posh" but we both liked staying here.

Staff are extreemly helpful and friendly.

We fell in love with Cairns and we are not city people.

Not if you get a chance go down to Abbots Street around 7pm and see the mass of flying fruit bats, wonderful noisy sight.

Room Tip: 12th floor had an excellent veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had two nights accommodation here on our way overseas and on our return. We had stayed there many years ago when it was under a different brand. Being an older establishment the rooms including the bathroom are generous but the age is starting to show. We dined in the restaurant on a Friday night and opted for the buffet. On reflection ordering off the menu appeared to be a better option. On our return, being a Monday night and getting in about 9.00pm the restuarant was closed so we had room service which was nice. The hotel was clean and the rooms were comfortable. The staff were pleasent but not overly so. Did the job for what we needed

Room Tip: Get an ocean view but beware this means an early rise due to sun up and the limited effectiveness of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Googong NSW
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The pluses. We asked for a quiet room and got one. Staff were helpful, particularly the guys on the travel desk. Perhaps about a ten minute walk (easy) into the centre of Cairns. Free bus into the city centre. Minuses. Maintenance and cleaning could be better - the beer bottle tops on the balcony when we arrived were still there four days later when we left. Wardrobe door hanging off one hinge. Shower recess needed re-grouting. Towels felt more like nappies, small and thin. Breakfast a tad expensive ($30) and uninspiring. Maybe it's a case of you get what you pay for, but the hotel seems to be a haven for groups of international tourists who may have different expectations.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Esplanade have good views out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 3 nights in the apartment side.

Pros
- price. I consider it reasonable for its size
- considering its age, the toilets are considered clean.
- no daily house keeping, but you can ask for new towels at the reception every day.

Cons
- The place was really old and worn. Carpets and aircon really need major cleaning. It triggered my allergy big times
- one room had moulded bed sheets -- all moulded. But we appreciate house keeping's quick response at near mid night. New bed sheets were fine.


Overall, the place was acceptable. I believe hotels in cairns are old-age in general. Do pay more for better rooms to make your trip a better experience.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Brilliant service from kitchen with buffet breakfast, made gluten free toast and eggs especially for me each day. Makes it easier when they understand gluten contamination, would def recommend to coeliacs, made our stay so much easier and one less stress for me each day with breakfast sorted! Front desk always helpful. Good sized rooms, always cleaned well. Good gym, and car park easy to use and convinient also! Pool was beautiful and always clean.
Not sure if a shuttle service was available? If it was, need more advertising of it, if not, a frequent shuttle service into the pier would be extremely helpful!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinmay P, Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Jessie-girl37,

Thank you very much for such a nice review about your recent stay with Rydges Esplanade Resort.

We always try our best to ensure our guests are very well looked after. I am glad to know that our kitchen team catered to your dietary requirements. I will surely pass your nice comments to them.

Also, we do offer complimentary shuttle service to city 3 times a day. It's sad that you did not receive that information from us. However, I will consider your comments about it and will ensure our guests are well informed about the shuttle service.

We look forward to welcome you again soon.

Regards,
Chinmay & the Rydges Esplanade team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here recently in a 2 double bedded room.
The hotel is reasonably priced , however dusty out of date mini bar and a whole in the shower curtain is just poor.
The room was really lacking drawers for clothes.
Overall the average score based on location for Cairns - we weren't expecting luxury but improved cleaning and better maintenance could easily improve this.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Address: 209-217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story Hotel Towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.