We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns to your Saves list
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   209-217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Lewisville, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Nice, large rooms with free wifi available throughout the hotel - apparently a rarity in Australia. I had a balcony with a nice view of the pool and the bay. The staff was nice and helpful. The breakfast was very good. It was about a 10-15 minute walk into the main part of town along the boardwalk.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinmay P, Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear slaventure,

Thanks you very much for a nice review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your vacation in Australia and we were part of it to make it memorable.

Regards,
Chinmay & the team @ Rydges Esplanade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    197
    111
    47
    19
See reviews for
116
152
45
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

What a beautiful hotel! It's quite a large hotel right on the Esplanade which is a perfect location for Cairns, short walking distance to all bars and restaurants. It has 3 pools, a gym, spa, tennis court, bar and restaurant. The rooms are very, very clean and spacious we had 2 double beds in our room which was lovely. Large balcony with an amazing sea view. I would upgrade to a sea view room it's worth that little bit extra. Free wifi and very helpful staff, can't fault it!!!

Room Tip: Sea View!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinmay P, Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Kello O,

Thanks you very much for a lovely review about us.

We are please to know that you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,

Chinmay & the team @ Rydges Esplanade Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerang
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stay with there with my mother recently and discovered the beds don't get maid. We were there for 4 nights and never had our beds made, we received new towels but never a made bed. Other then that the beds were comfortable, and the oven view was great!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights on a business trip.
They were hair on the bed when I got in the room. Linen had stains and holes in them.
A/C is on / off and can't be adjusted.
Had good view from my room facing water.
We stayed here cause we booked a conference room for our presentation. The conference room was very nice and practical. Great service. Pricing was very reasonable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed for 1 night over the weekend. I booked a mountain view queen, but we ended up in an ocean view double - better view but smaller bed so I wasn't sure which was better but we were happy and had a comfortable stay. The beds were very comfortable and the view was lovely. A couple of small suggestions, I think the pillows are in need of a revamp, the towels were a bit oldish and the shower curtain was more like an old sheet. These were minor things and didn't overly bother us but thought I'd mention. One thing that did disappoint me though is that before we travelled, I signed up to Priority Rewards, one of my main purposes was so we could benefit from a late check out after a wedding - the reception said that they could not offer this to us because there was a large number of check ins the next day - sorry but not my problem, I am the 'priority member'. It's advertised everywhere - so honour it. But glad check out time is at least 11am. Better than other hotels. Breakfast was expensive (full buffet $60 for 2 people), though the food was good. Overall a good stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ocean & Mountain views are nice. Level 12 is a bit high for children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Had a delayed flight and booked this hotel from their website on day itself at the airport. Nice place with free wifi with gorgeous view of the sea/ esplanade. Very convenient especially for the esplanade and the marina. Pool is cold though. buffet at hotel is great. If u r there with ur family they have family rooms. They also have rooms with 2 doubles that can fit 2+2kids. sign up for their free membership card online to get the members rate. also gets u discounts at the restaurants.

Room Tip: get a room that faces the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinmay P, Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear fairydust,

We always love to read such fantastic reviews about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns.

I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. With your new membership, we hope to welcome you back again soon to syat with us.

Regards,
Chinmay and the Rydges Esplanade team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My family stayed in the family room which offers a separate space for kids to hang out in which has bunk beds and their own tvs. It was perfect for my 10, 7 and 4 year old and we (mum and dad) had a small but nice space too. It was to cold to use the pool but it did look fun for the kids. The buffet breakfast is pretty basic. All the staff were helpful and pleasant and polite. Not that central to night markets etc but they do offer a free limited shuttle bus service.

Room Tip: we were on the 12th floor with great ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinmay P, Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Malincza,

Thanks you very much for the review.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I am sure your kids would have enjoyed their own TV & Xbox in our family rooms.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,

Chinmay & the team @ Rydges Esplanade Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Address: 209-217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story Hotel Towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.