We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, clean, safe place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Save Saved
You added Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   209-217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Locust Grove, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good value, clean, safe place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed here as part of our package deal. The location is on the Esplanade, but a bit further away from the lagoon area, so it is fairly quiet. There is a small convenience store next door. We had a mountain view - these cost less than the ocean view. Our fifth floor room was just above the palm trees so we had a pretty good view of the surrounding mountain/rainforest area. The room was clean and spacious, with a little balcony to sit out on. There is a fridge and nice bathroom area.

Parking is included. The spaces are a little tight but doable. Note that there are not many handicapped spots available if you need them.

Laundry was one floor down - you need to have exact change, a dollar extra for detergent packets.

You had to pay for wifi, and the price was fairly steep, so we just used our phone instead.

The pool area was not used very much, maybe due to the construction going on which closed off half of the pool area. We wound up visiting the lagoon for swimming instead.

There is a nice tennis club across the street with social tennis times, call ahead to find out the times and get a spot.

The restaurant has a special lunch on Fridays - pasta made to order with different meat and seafood toppings, and a small buffet as well. The price comes with a drink included. We enjoyed the lunch, although this was our only time we ate here as the prices otherwise seemed a bit expensive.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the fifth floor or so and up, to be above the line of palm trees.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hello JVA22,

Thank you for your extensive and postive review, I hope you enjoyed your Australian Adventure.

Due to feedback regarding the price of internet we have recently installed a new system, which is still in the teething stages, however it is free to our guests.

Again thank you for the great review, so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Shannon and the team @ Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    179
    99
    44
    17
See reviews for
101
143
39
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed 3 nights and it was ok, very helpful staff. Our room was on the 12 floor with great sea views virtually on the beach
It is a 10-15 minute walk to where all the bars etc are. Excellent breakfast available to suit all nationalities including Japanese tourists..
No complaints

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinmay P, Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Tom M,

Thanks you for your time to write a nice review about us.

We are glad to knwo you enjoyed our ocean view rooms and your stay with Rydges Esplanade Resort.

Look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,

Chinmay & the team @ Rydges Esplanade Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

From reading recent reports I thought that I might have been in a different hotel. My room on the 9th Floor looked towards the mountains (dearer if facing seawards) but with sufficiently pleasant landscape of surrounding suburbs and distant mountains.
My room was large, airy and quite modern with a small narrow balcony. Everything appeared to be recently new and fresh. The room was also furnished with a desk, sofa, good quality LCD TV and stocked bar fridge. The aircon was overly efficient with a set temperature, so if needed an overhead fan can be substituted for air flow as the room can become quite cold.
I booked a shuttle to the hotel through Rydges but it was subcontracted out to the normal airport shuttle. - cost is $10 per person, and perfectly adequate provided one is not in a hurry to get to the hotel. On departure I decided on a 15 min taxi ride to the airport - cost was $20 (note there is a $3.50 loading if inbound and leaving from the airport).
My check in was efficient and all staff that I dealt with during my stay were very pleasant and helpful.
It is about a 10 -15 min walk downtown and very easily accomplished on even/level footpaths. Should one want provisions for the room there is a Rydges convenience store at the back of the complex, but the main concentration of stores and restaurants require a walk into town proper. I do understand though there is a very good Bali restaurant just over from Rydges opposite the hospital which is adjacent to the hotel.
All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hello tastony2...........what a fantastic review from seasoned expert "Top Contributor" indeed.

A great read and very helpful for our future guests.

Thank you.

Shannon Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

A nice hotel, located a little way from the Esplanade, not a bad location. Our hotel room had a good view of the mountains,without a balcony. (If I were making reservations again, I would ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of the ocean.) The parking for our rental car was included in the price of the room. The selection of fruit and hot food at breakfast was very good- attractive and tasty. The service was good and the room was clean. The air conditioning worked well- an important factor because it can get hot and humid in Cairns.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors facing the Esplanade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Arrived late in the evening. Check in was ok. Arriving into the room was not impressed, compared to other hotels we have stayed at. Good location. Needs updating and upgrading. Towel quality not great. Pillow cases stained and had to be replaced. Unless you ask for full service you will not get your bed made for you. Staff helpful and friendly. Internet service in rooms slow. Couldn't connect on the iPad very easily. Had to go to lobby first and sign in then back upstairs. Stayed for two days. Shuttle service to airport is $30 each way. Again very expensive. Advise to take taxi. Same cost but you don't have the milky route back to airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Liked the views and the nice bathroom. Some minor complaints:
- The restaurant is too expensive
- Wifi is not free
- Some of the furniture is from the 70s and has stains
- Location is just a bit far (15mins walk) from the town center. There's a shuttle but it runs only 3x a day.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I was only here for one night but couldn't fault this hotel. It appears to be of some age from the outside, but inside it is modern and well maintained. The room we had was as clean as you'd expect with all the fittings expected in a modern up market hotel. The hotel facilities and location make this A great place for families. It's more than a little walk from the CBD though. So if you want to walk back to your hotel aft dinner, or a night clubbing, it is quite a walk. It took us about 25 minutes from the Casino. If that lengthy of walk is fine for you, it is a very nice place to walk along the water front.

The view from our room on the 10th floor was sensational. We could see the whole of Trinity Inlet and the balcony was a great place for a morning coffee. Our room also had a decent sized bath which is becoming a rarity these days and the water pressure was as good as any hotel I've stayed in.

All in all a very good choice for the visitor to Cairns

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms on the higher floors afford sensational views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Address: 209-217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story Hotel Towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.