We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Save Saved
You added Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   209-217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Cuttack
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel is at a well located place.The room size is large add clean.The beach is very near to the hotel.The swimming pool is very nice,the staffs are very cordial.The breakfast is superb.The lobby space is very small.It should be well decorated which is a lack in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi mani - 1952, thanks for your great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have a bit of a lobby refresh on the cards this year so hopefully by the time you return you will notice some changes.

See you next stay.

Shannon Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    183
    106
    47
    17
See reviews for
106
146
42
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is located at a very good place.The sea beach is very near to the hotel.The room where we stayed are large in size.sevice staffs are very friendly.the amenities avaible in the room are nice.The swimming pool is very attractive .I enjoy my dinner by the pool side.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello Rabnidra M,

Thank you for your great review, glad to read you were well looked after during your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon at a Rydges Hotel or Resort.

Shannon Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Recently I went to Cairns for the first time. I book this hotel online and through the pictures and research I believed that this hotel would be nice. The stay began with no complaints, however, there were several inconsistancies with how the actual hotel looked. The breakfast was overpriced for the quality of food that we recieved. The menu consisted of runny eggs and the food seemed undercooked. The location is nice, with a small walk to go into the city center. I believe that if we go back that I will choose a better hotel for our next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hi fadetoblack19,

I apologise that you found breakfast offerings under cooked. Just for clarification purposes the Buffet consists of 20 or so different items with 2 styles of eggs, we do not offer a menu as such during the breakfast period.

We do have 3 Rydges Hotels here in Cairns perhaps that could explain the inconsistencies you mention in the hotel's appearance from research.

That said it is always disappointing to read a customer has not enjoyed their stay, and we hope you will reconsider staying with Rydges again.

Shannon Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

As locals we have dined at the Fire & Ice Buffet at the Rydges Hotel for the last 5 years - enjoying the discount offered by our Rydges Priority Guest Card. We arrived with friends tonight to be told the cardholder's discount no longer applied to the restaurant. The price of the buffet had increased by $5 and we were offered $10 "locals" discount rate - still making the meal more expensive than previously, with the Prority Card benefit. So with only 4 diners in the restaurant, we left and dined instead at Mondos. Go figure the logic, losing local patronage in an empty restaurant - locals who will never return! The Duty Manager who broke the news to us of the discontinued benefit just shrugged his shoulders with disinterest when we chose to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I booked into a studio room for a week when we arrived it was a very shabby part of the hotel you had to go pass the cars in the underground carpark pass the smelly bins through a dark alley way then up a lift it was discussing and it was dirty and very old it was nothing like it was advertised. I really believe this is false advertising in the ad it said it had a balcony which it did not after one night we booked out it was very disappointing as you believe what you read when you booking. I certainly will not be booking with Ridges again.

Room Tip: Do not book a Studio Room or an apartment
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Jill,
I apologise that the studio apartment was not as expected; I will review the description on our website. It is certainly not our intention to mislead.
It is unfortunate that the Hotel was fully booked and we were unable to relocate you on this occasion, please feel free to contact me directly to discuss.

Shannon Craig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked through their website and a studio executive apartment, and it was in this side
2* or less motel type building- pretty shabby building, they put us on 3rd floor, the elevator here is dated, very dated I must say, very slow, took more than a minute to go up 3 stories, it doesnt fit in the luggage cart. To get to this Motel like structure you have to walk through a long smelly car parking lot. The studio itself had no dishwasher and the cooking piece was a hot plate, which really is dangerous with kids. This is also not cleaned everyday, now the temperatures outside were 35C+ and we were not told that they will not clean the room everyday. There were little insects crawling on the dinning table even when we got there. We requested we get a better room and they said we would have to pay $139 per night extra, which was a bit ridiculous, when we could definitely see availablilities of better rooms available on hotels.com, we were willing to pay up to $50 per night extra..

We had booked for 2 adults 2 children, we got only three towels, calling to get extra towels, is painful, told they do not service these apartments every day-No where in our reservation through the rydges website they said they will not service our apartments everyday, I would not have booked with them if they were clear up front.

Location wise, this hotel is farthest from Cairns town, and therefore is very inconvinent, not walkable with two younger kids..

ADVICE: DO NOT STAY HERE..

Room Tip: "Executive Studio- Do not book"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello PZW2012,
I was disappointed to read you did not enjoy your stay with us and apologise that your room was not serviced daily as expected; I will investigate our collateral to ensure our services are clearer.

The studio rooms are located at the rear of the complex and while there are certainly more scenic ways to get there, loaded with luggage the car park is the quickest route, I agree it is certainly nothing to look at. These rooms are our best value offering and sometimes the jump to the next room is quite substantial, although that does sound like it may have been a misunderstanding.

I hope you and the family did take the opportunity to walk along the Esplanade there are lots of fantastic kid’s activities to keep them interested along the way.

Again I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay and apreciate the time taken to provide us with feedback.

Shannon Craig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We only had a 3 night stay over new years eve. Firstly, this hotel is NOT on the Esplanade, the Rydges Tradewinds is! Very confusing!
This was a pretty basic hotel, not what you'd expect from a well known brand. The lobby, hallways etc are in need of a refurb although the room was fine. If you wanted to use wifi it costs $23 AUD a day - what the! Time to step into the future (i.e post 2008) and include free wifi Mr.Rydges.
There were a few positives, the room was big and clean (huge bathroom) and the pool was lovely (with cheap pool furniture though). For the money and the fact that this is a international company, they really should give the place a bit of an update.
When we asked the reception for some recommendations they forgot to mention the number of nice restaurants along the pier....not the tacky tourist places on the Esplanade, so do you research before you go otherwise you may feel like you're in Benidorm!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Craig_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hi char_and_away, thanks for posting your thoughts on trip advisor, glade to read you enjoyed the room and beautiful pool area, I will pass on to the team your thoughts regards other places to dine, always great to have a guests perspective.

Thanks again
Shannon Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Address: 209-217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story Hotel Towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.