We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns to your Saves list
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   209-217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Overall a pleasant stay. We were overnighting in Cairns in order to catch an early morning flight. This property represents good value given its location close to the esplanade area. The property is probably showing its age, but has all you need and is clean and tidy. The rooms are very spacious , with a balcony allowing views of the sea. The bed was the best we had experienced in our travels. The check in was efficient and well organised as was the check out. All in all just what you want from a 4 star corporate city hotel, efficiency and value.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Hi Traveller19701,

Sounds like you had the pleasure of experiencing one of our fantastic dream beds; a good night’s sleep is definitely a requirement for a great stay. Hopefully next time you’re in town you will be able to spend a few more nights with us.

Thanks for your feedback

Shannon Craig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    197
    111
    48
    19
See reviews for
116
152
45
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights, hotel was booked by qantas. The first room had a filthy stained carpet, splatter on the wall and debris on the carpet, no bedside lamps, old scratched furniture. The desk staff was very courteous and provided another room with no hesitation. The second room was an improvement, however the carpet was frayed and coming apart at the seams. The bathroom was not clean(grime around the tile). The hall carpet did not appear to have been vacuumed. The laundry room was neglected - lint on the air vent and covering the fire sprinkler in the ceiling- fire hazard! Saw a roach in the bathroom when checking out and reported it to the desk staff who did not seem surprised.
The lobby was nice, and the staff courteous but book elsewhere if possible.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon_Rydges, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hi SF, thank you for taking the time to post your experiences on Trip Advisor.
I was disappointed to read your first room was not up to our usual standard and am glad the friendly front desk team sorted you out with a new room so swiftly.

Shannon Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I spent 4 nights in this Hotel in November 2012. A fabulous hotel, with high standards. Beautifully clean with rooms of a very high standard. The Hotel is very conventiently located a short walk from the main Esplanade and Marina. Approx 10 min walk into Centre. The Hotel has a lovely outdoor pool, and provides an excellent breakfast. We only had breakfast, but it was a full buffet style, with everything you can think of to eat, accounting for all palates. Staff most helpful/friendly and tours can be booked from the Hotel. Although recommend going to the Information centre at the Esplanade as it's probably cheaper to do that. The hotel provides a free shuttle bus into town at 3pm 6pm and 9pm, but you either have to walk back or get a taxi or pedicab (great fun on pedicab). A great hotel, thoroughly recommended.Beware Cairns is very very hot in November as it's their summer and burn time is 15 mins. You should apply at least factor 50-100 every 15 minutes.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (12th) with a lovely view. I think all rooms have a view of the ocean, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerEagleHawk, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hi TissueViability3, what an awesome review, great to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your Australian adventure as much as you enjoyed Cairns.

Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

From the moment my Husband rang up to book a room he was met with very friendly staff wanting to assist us. I had broken a bone in my foot and was in Cairns to attend the hospital. The lady taking the bookings suggested a room for easy access that caters for the disabled and I am glad she did.
The room was one of their budget rooms but it didn't show in the décor. The only thing that was budget about it was no view but that was ok. The room was a good size with a fridge and good quality coffee on offer. The bathroom was excellent with a walk in shower with a bench to sit on and the personal care products were excellent.
The beds were very comfortable as well.
The Hotel had a wheelchair for our use during the stay and they even let us take it the hospital.
the staff were very friendly and were concerned for my well being. The parking was free and undercover and very accessible.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerEagleHawk, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hi ruralmum, great review from a local, we hope you are well on your way to being healed and back in action. I will pass on your warm words to our friendly team.

By the looks, you frequent a few of our Rydges hotels, thanks for the patronage and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauvais, France
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had an oceanview queen room on one of the upper floors and the view was really great. Private balcony overlooking the very large, originally-shaped swimming pool that is surrounded by palm trees and other tropical plants. Very pleasant walk along the esplanade to the beachfront restaurants and the centre of town. Considering the location, and the size and nature of the rooms, etc., we felt this to be reasonable value for money - AUD 456 for three nights room only (we paid almost the same price for a SINGLE night at a hotel at the Ayers Rock Resort - although we are pretty sure that we were ripped off there, but that is another matter).

The only issue we have, is that we feel it is unreasonable for such a high standard of hotel to expect guests to pay for internet access. In all but extremely budget hotels in Europe these days, one expects to have free and unlimited internet access.

Room Tip: Probably fairly obvious, but sea-facing rooms on the higher floors have great views - worth the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

if u r visiting cairns n looking for the sea view room???? where is the sea... in cairns if u wish to stay take the rooms near CBD only like between Shields St. or Spence St. in between Abbott & Esplande St. otherwise nothing much more to do in cairns. Cairns it self so much beautiful but most happening is CBD or u can say City Center area near Casino. About Rydges Esplande it is ok ok hotel, staff is too good but I am a frequent traveler i didnt like the location as it is 20 minutes walk to City Center. if u dont find the choice near CBD n want to just stay in the room n don't wanna go anywhere then :-). CBD is the most happening place in cairns.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just had five nights here and as a vegetarian, I would have gone hungry if I had relied on the restaurant every evening. They did not cater for vegetarians and when I asked, I was told that there was soup and salad! In addition the wifi price I was quoted was 15 Aus dollars for 30 minutes. Alternatively there were computers to use at 2 Aus dollars for 20 minutes Internet connection.
The rooms were OK and if I you get a room with a sea view it's nice to sit on the balcony. All rooms seem to have balconies. The hotel also has 2 laundry rooms where you can do your own washing and drying for 3 Aus dollars each.
There was a tour booking desk and the staff there and at reception were very pleasant and helpful which was more than can be said for some of the restaurant staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Address: 209-217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story Hotel Towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.