We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rydges Hotel Cairns Australia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns to your Saves list
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   209-217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Cairns
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rydges Hotel Cairns Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I spent 4 nights in this Hotel in November 2012. A fabulous hotel, with high standards. Beautifully clean with rooms of a very high standard. The Hotel is very conventiently located a short walk from the main Esplanade and Marina. Approx 10 min walk into Centre. The Hotel has a lovely outdoor pool, and provides an excellent breakfast. We only had breakfast, but it was a full buffet style, with everything you can think of to eat, accounting for all palates. Staff most helpful/friendly and tours can be booked from the Hotel. Although recommend going to the Information centre at the Esplanade as it's probably cheaper to do that. The hotel provides a free shuttle bus into town at 3pm 6pm and 9pm, but you either have to walk back or get a taxi or pedicab (great fun on pedicab). A great hotel, thoroughly recommended.Beware Cairns is very very hot in November as it's their summer and burn time is 15 mins. You should apply at least factor 50-100 every 15 minutes.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (12th) with a lovely view. I think all rooms have a view of the ocean, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TissueViability3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerEagleHawk, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hi TissueViability3, what an awesome review, great to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that the team looked after you.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your Australian adventure as much as you enjoyed Cairns.

Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

From the moment my Husband rang up to book a room he was met with very friendly staff wanting to assist us. I had broken a bone in my foot and was in Cairns to attend the hospital. The lady taking the bookings suggested a room for easy access that caters for the disabled and I am glad she did.
The room was one of their budget rooms but it didn't show in the décor. The only thing that was budget about it was no view but that was ok. The room was a good size with a fridge and good quality coffee on offer. The bathroom was excellent with a walk in shower with a bench to sit on and the personal care products were excellent.
The beds were very comfortable as well.
The Hotel had a wheelchair for our use during the stay and they even let us take it the hospital.
the staff were very friendly and were concerned for my well being. The parking was free and undercover and very accessible.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruralmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerEagleHawk, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hi ruralmum, great review from a local, we hope you are well on your way to being healed and back in action. I will pass on your warm words to our friendly team.

By the looks, you frequent a few of our Rydges hotels, thanks for the patronage and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauvais, France
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had an oceanview queen room on one of the upper floors and the view was really great. Private balcony overlooking the very large, originally-shaped swimming pool that is surrounded by palm trees and other tropical plants. Very pleasant walk along the esplanade to the beachfront restaurants and the centre of town. Considering the location, and the size and nature of the rooms, etc., we felt this to be reasonable value for money - AUD 456 for three nights room only (we paid almost the same price for a SINGLE night at a hotel at the Ayers Rock Resort - although we are pretty sure that we were ripped off there, but that is another matter).

The only issue we have, is that we feel it is unreasonable for such a high standard of hotel to expect guests to pay for internet access. In all but extremely budget hotels in Europe these days, one expects to have free and unlimited internet access.

Room Tip: Probably fairly obvious, but sea-facing rooms on the higher floors have great views - worth the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

if u r visiting cairns n looking for the sea view room???? where is the sea... in cairns if u wish to stay take the rooms near CBD only like between Shields St. or Spence St. in between Abbott & Esplande St. otherwise nothing much more to do in cairns. Cairns it self so much beautiful but most happening is CBD or u can say City Center area near Casino. About Rydges Esplande it is ok ok hotel, staff is too good but I am a frequent traveler i didnt like the location as it is 20 minutes walk to City Center. if u dont find the choice near CBD n want to just stay in the room n don't wanna go anywhere then :-). CBD is the most happening place in cairns.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parthik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just had five nights here and as a vegetarian, I would have gone hungry if I had relied on the restaurant every evening. They did not cater for vegetarians and when I asked, I was told that there was soup and salad! In addition the wifi price I was quoted was 15 Aus dollars for 30 minutes. Alternatively there were computers to use at 2 Aus dollars for 20 minutes Internet connection.
The rooms were OK and if I you get a room with a sea view it's nice to sit on the balcony. All rooms seem to have balconies. The hotel also has 2 laundry rooms where you can do your own washing and drying for 3 Aus dollars each.
There was a tour booking desk and the staff there and at reception were very pleasant and helpful which was more than can be said for some of the restaurant staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JudeEB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was my second time to the Rydges in Cairns and it was just as wonderful as my first stay. The rooms are amazing - beautiful views. The location is great, the breakfasts are beautiful and the staff are friendly. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cairns.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bronkaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

There’s nothing really wrong with this hotel if you get it for a cheap price, it’s just nothing special and needs a good scrub up – it’s old and weary.

Pros – The view (don’t stay lower than the 6th floor if you can help it, also for noise reasons), spacious rooms, comfortable beds, the staff are ok.

Cons – shabby, especially the pool area which is almost embarrassingly shabby, terrible food (don’t bother with room service breakfasts unless your desperate), and it’s not in the center of town – about a 10 minute walk to the main hub, which doesn’t sound that far, but in the heat, it can be uncomfortable (taxi costs less than $10 to get to the center though.) No free wifi in the rooms

If you get this hotel for about $100 a night then ok, but don’t pay any more than that. And don’t expect the staff to go out of their way for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiff85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.3 mi away
Rydges Tradewinds Cairns
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#9 of 67 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 608 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Address: 209-217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story Hotel Towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Low Cost Holidays and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing