We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very lovely with helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Save Saved
You added Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   209-217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 66 hotels in Cairns
Thames, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“very lovely with helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

From the moment my Husband rang up to book a room he was met with very friendly staff wanting to assist us. I had broken a bone in my foot and was in Cairns to attend the hospital. The lady taking the bookings suggested a room for easy access that caters for the disabled and I am glad she did.
The room was one of their budget rooms but it didn't show in the décor. The only thing that was budget about it was no view but that was ok. The room was a good size with a fridge and good quality coffee on offer. The bathroom was excellent with a walk in shower with a bench to sit on and the personal care products were excellent.
The beds were very comfortable as well.
The Hotel had a wheelchair for our use during the stay and they even let us take it the hospital.
the staff were very friendly and were concerned for my well being. The parking was free and undercover and very accessible.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerEagleHawk, General Manager at Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hi ruralmum, great review from a local, we hope you are well on your way to being healed and back in action. I will pass on your warm words to our friendly team.

By the looks, you frequent a few of our Rydges hotels, thanks for the patronage and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    181
    100
    44
    17
See reviews for
101
144
40
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had an oceanview queen room on one of the upper floors and the view was really great. Private balcony overlooking the very large, originally-shaped swimming pool that is surrounded by palm trees and other tropical plants. Very pleasant walk along the esplanade to the beachfront restaurants and the centre of town. Considering the location, and the size and nature of the rooms, etc., we felt this to be reasonable value for money - AUD 456 for three nights room only (we paid almost the same price for a SINGLE night at a hotel at the Ayers Rock Resort - although we are pretty sure that we were ripped off there, but that is another matter).

The only issue we have, is that we feel it is unreasonable for such a high standard of hotel to expect guests to pay for internet access. In all but extremely budget hotels in Europe these days, one expects to have free and unlimited internet access.

Room Tip: Probably fairly obvious, but sea-facing rooms on the higher floors have great views - worth the extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

if u r visiting cairns n looking for the sea view room???? where is the sea... in cairns if u wish to stay take the rooms near CBD only like between Shields St. or Spence St. in between Abbott & Esplande St. otherwise nothing much more to do in cairns. Cairns it self so much beautiful but most happening is CBD or u can say City Center area near Casino. About Rydges Esplande it is ok ok hotel, staff is too good but I am a frequent traveler i didnt like the location as it is 20 minutes walk to City Center. if u dont find the choice near CBD n want to just stay in the room n don't wanna go anywhere then :-). CBD is the most happening place in cairns.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just had five nights here and as a vegetarian, I would have gone hungry if I had relied on the restaurant every evening. They did not cater for vegetarians and when I asked, I was told that there was soup and salad! In addition the wifi price I was quoted was 15 Aus dollars for 30 minutes. Alternatively there were computers to use at 2 Aus dollars for 20 minutes Internet connection.
The rooms were OK and if I you get a room with a sea view it's nice to sit on the balcony. All rooms seem to have balconies. The hotel also has 2 laundry rooms where you can do your own washing and drying for 3 Aus dollars each.
There was a tour booking desk and the staff there and at reception were very pleasant and helpful which was more than can be said for some of the restaurant staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was my second time to the Rydges in Cairns and it was just as wonderful as my first stay. The rooms are amazing - beautiful views. The location is great, the breakfasts are beautiful and the staff are friendly. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cairns.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

There’s nothing really wrong with this hotel if you get it for a cheap price, it’s just nothing special and needs a good scrub up – it’s old and weary.

Pros – The view (don’t stay lower than the 6th floor if you can help it, also for noise reasons), spacious rooms, comfortable beds, the staff are ok.

Cons – shabby, especially the pool area which is almost embarrassingly shabby, terrible food (don’t bother with room service breakfasts unless your desperate), and it’s not in the center of town – about a 10 minute walk to the main hub, which doesn’t sound that far, but in the heat, it can be uncomfortable (taxi costs less than $10 to get to the center though.) No free wifi in the rooms

If you get this hotel for about $100 a night then ok, but don’t pay any more than that. And don’t expect the staff to go out of their way for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Check in staff was lovely & gave us an upgrade to a Premium Harbour View room, clean, great view & punctual room service. Would stay more often if I had the money! Pity cloud covered the eclipse... hotel was thoughtful enough to provide eclipse glasses though - nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns

Address: 209-217 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Matson Resort Cairns)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront 12-story Hotel Towers, 3 blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Hotel Cairns
Rydges Esplanade Cairns
Rydges Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Esplanade Resort Cairns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.