We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Half Moon Bay Resort to your Saves list
Half Moon Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   101 - 103 Wattle St | Yorkeys Knob, Cairns, Queensland 4878, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 66 Hotels in Cairns
galway, ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2007

me and my wife stayed here for 5 nights. The apartment was basic looking at first glance but it's actually very homely and very clean. It has all the necessary amenites to get by (microwave, washer, dryer etc). we paid under $100aud per night which was outstanding value for money considering most motels charge around 120 so you won't find better for the price.
it was under new ownership when we arrived and they were very accomodating.
there's a small saltwater pool at the front of the apartments which is quite nice and plenty of sunchairs.
The golf club is practically next door also.
the area itself (yorkeys knob) is very quiet so a car is a necessity.
there's a couple of takeaways and restaurants in the area along with a shop, off licence and a car rental place.
we travelled into cairns city by bus on our first few days and this took around 35mins or 15 by car.
if it's a quiet break you're looking for then it doesn't get any quieter than this little resort.
if you want to go drinking then it's not the spot to be in and taxis from cairns to this resort will cost around 40 australian dollars.
its also very close to some of the local attractions such as kuranda skyrail, hartleys crocodile adventure and the night zoo.
there is a little aircraft noise around 5am but it doesnt last long and it never woke me up although it woke my wife up a couple of nights. Its not constant though.
overall id recommend it highly for those on a budget or those who want a nice peaceful break in a quiet location. we are in our mid thirties.

  • Liked — the cleanliness and spaciousness
  • Disliked — no access to internet
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

My wife and I stayed there for a week and enjoyed every minutes there. The resort is exceptional clean and quiet. It is worth all the money to spend there. Besides, the owner, Carol and terry, were exceptionlly friendly and helpfull to the guests.

Richard & Yow

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

Me and my husband stumbled acoss this wonderful resort online and were more than impressed with the whole experience. Carole and Terry the managers were very friendly and more than accommodating to all our needs. The resort itself was wonderfully located amongst all the attractions in Cairns. We were delighted at the natural flora and fauna that sourounded the resort and the golf course right next door proved very convenient for my husband. The cleanliness of the rooms and facilities was immaculate and I would recomend this place to anyone visiting the region.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

My wife and I have just returned from a fantastic 8 day holiday in Cairns. We did some research and looked at many hotels and resorts in the area. We finally choose the Half Moon Bay Resort after reading a few of the reviews on TripAdvisor and it was a central point for the trips we had planned to do. We arrived at the resort early evening and found the unit key plus introduction letter stuck to reception door. Our unit was clean and tidy and had all the basics such as soap, milk etc to get us started. The resort was just two minutues from the golf course and a short drive to the nearest shopping centre.
Some of the reviews we read and certainly Half Moon Bay Resorts own promotional material claim to be only 10 minutes or so from Cairns Domestic Airport, which it is, what it fails to tell you is that you are on the flight path for all incoming aircraft.
On our first night we eventually went to sleep around 11.30pm after the last flight came in, only to be woken up around 04.30am the next morning as the first flight of the day flew above the resort!!!! Not a good introduction to our first day.
The noise from the aircraft’s engines were that bad we had only one option. We packed our bags and approached the resort manager with our feedback, only to be told "No body else has complained about the noise".!! We left the resort disappointed with their response , minus some accommodation costs we were bound to pay for due to their cancellation policy.
We will not be returning to the Half Moon Bay Resort and would not recommend it.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHMBR, Owner/manager at Half Moon Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2007
It is always disappointing to receive unfavourable reviews from our guests. As noted by this response our guest was influenced by some great reviews of Half Moon Bay Resort on Tripadvisor. The resort is located close to facilities, is reasonably priced, the apartments are clean and well appointed. We are directly opposite the scenic Half Moon Bay golf course, a nature reserve and a haven for birdlife.

Many of the northern beaches of Cairns and even Cairns itself, is in the flight path of the airport (depending on wind direction). The airport is situated close to Cairns, approx 5 kms from the city and about 12 kms from Yorkeys Knob. Situated so close and convenient to the airport obviously brings associated noise.

This guest is the only guest that has complained and departed early due to the aircraft noise. He was not entitled to receive any refund, due to our cancellation policy that he was sent at the time of his booking (no refund for early departure). I was within my rights to charge the guest the full amount of his 8 night booking, but I only charged him 1-2 nights accommodation for his early departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Half Moon Bay Resort (Yorkey's Knob Beach, about 10-15 min drive from Cairns) in September this year (2006). This particular beach is probably the least commercialised (yet) and it's the most quiet and natural-looking of all the Northern Beaches. The resort itself is within 3-4 min drive from the beach, or within the walking distance. We booked the garden view room and were really happy with the choice (great value for money!).
Carole (the hotel manager) was fantastically helpful before (when booking and confirming the booking), during and after our stay. She recommended the great tours and advised on the best times to go, distances, booking recommendation, the price ranges and different arrangements without being biased or preferencial towards any particular tour provider. It was really really helpful. Carole also helped when we had some technical small problems (recharger for our camera). As a whole, the service was non-intrusive but warm, professional and greatly helpful. Carole really made our stay at the resort special, memorable and welcoming. Thank you Carole!

  • Liked — service, care and attention of the hotel managers
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Tips/Secrets — if you are after the quiet getaway, don't book the room with the pool view, kids are noisy everywhere, especially at the pool
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2006

My family and I stayed at Half Moon Bay for 9 nights and enjoyed every minute.
The rooms were very comfortable and clean and very well equipped, including all kitchen requirements. Even though it was full, we never did hear other guests.
The facilities were excellent with a great pool and spa, nice gardens, a locker room for golf clubs and an excellent BBQ area.
The hosts were fantastic and helped us to decide which tours were the best value for money for a family. The ones we chose were fantastic (Quicksilver reef trip to Low Isles, Kuranda train and skyrail, Hartley's crocodile and White Water Rafting on Barron River- in case you're wondering). They even added straight to my account!
I strongly recommend HAlf Moon Bay Resort and look forward to going there again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2005

John and Caolyn were the most gracious of hosts! Their insights and suggestions to travel excursions were spot on! The accommodations they manage were very clean, spacious and priced very nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Half Moon Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Resort

Address: 101 - 103 Wattle St | Yorkeys Knob, Cairns, Queensland 4878, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cairns
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Half Moon Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Half Moon Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Bay Hotel
Half Moon Bay Cairns

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.